We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good, but....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Camino Real Aeropuerto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Camino Real Aeropuerto
Ranked #122 of 303 Hotels in Mexico City
Barranquilla, Colombia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good, but....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

PROS:
Good hotel for a plane delay or short stay since it's right next to Benito Juarez airport; you don't even need to take a taxi. Nice restaurants and a very well equipped gym. Nice and helpful staff.
CONS:
A bit expensive for what's included in the rate. If you want breakfast and internet connection, be ready to pay around US$225. Internet is given with a 24hr code so every day you must ask for a new one. Rides taken from the hotel change rates daily (same destination)...its like they charge just what comes to their mind. There are no malls or tourist areas nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    264
    260
    140
    83
See reviews for
134
163
91
338
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

I missed a connection from the US to South America due to bad weather in Mexico City (we were about to land during windy, haily thunderstorm and the pilot aborted!) and Aeroméxico was nice enough to put us up here for the night. I arrived at about 4am, but was able to sleep in late (2pm checkout was much appreciated!). The room and hotel in general seemed a bit dated but on the whole was alright.

The hotel is literally connected to terminal 1, so it is very convenient for anyone who is flying out after their stay.

I have never seen security like this in a hotel; there were two guards at the entrance with assault rifles and the hotel was full of federal police. I live in Brazil and have never seen anything like it. Makes you wonder what they are protecting against...

I give extra marks for the breakfast buffet which was huge and varied, with many delicious Mexican options.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DOTWC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

The hotel is located right across the street from the airport. You can even cross the bridge and don't have to wait for transportation.
The rooms are slightly small but a comfortable size for an overnight stay. Room service was fast and service was great.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaytePrida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
129 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We got 14 hour layover on our way from Peru back to US so we decided to book hotel overnight and stay here. The hotel grounds are very nice and rooms are clean and spacious. The hotel is conveniently located right at the airport so you don't have to even go outside if you don't want to. Great service.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moss, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

It is super convenient - I walked from the immigration to the check-in within 10 minutes. The room could be a candidate for refurbishing but was clean, quiet and the bed was comfortable. I got in late and left by 5 AM so did not check out other details of the hotel. I would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sven J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonao, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Truly a disappointment. I spend over 250 days in hotels around the world for business and every business travel expects the basic from a hotel when the reservation is made. In my opinion the hotel is not even in the class of a Super 8. The hotel was very poorly maintained, the price of the room was truly not correct for the services provided and the environment was not open. During my one stay I noticed over 100 or Mexican Federal police trainees running up and down the halls. Bringing away the attention of the hotel guests and the elevators were full which meant long wait times if you needed a ride to the upper floors. Overall I will make plans to stay in another hotel becuase this hotel in my opinion owes me a refund for services not provided.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank troy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie A, Director Comercial at Camino Real Aeropuerto, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Google Translation
Buenos días de antemano me apena saber que no la paso bien, efectivamente como operativo de vacaciones el gobierno reforzó la seguridad del AICM, y nosotros fuimos hotel sede, lo que si le puedo comentar es que siempre se comportaron bajo las reglas establecidas, y de una manera educada en todo momento. Gracias.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mexico City hotels

Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
195 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Camino Real, means the “Royal Path". If this is royalty… I prefer to be a peasant. The time of royalty in this hotel is LONG gone.

Having stayed in other “Camino Real” hotels, I am honestly surprised as to the terrible state this hotel finds itself in. In lack of a better word, and not to sound too rude… this was a huge disappointment.

So, let’s look at it:

POSITIVE POINTS:
Best of all, it is inside the international airport. Very convenient for a ONE night stay – maximum, and get to your flight on time, avoiding the hectic Mexico City traffic.

Lobby area is great, with a nice relaxing bar. After a long trip, it is a nice place to unwind.

The hotel staff is friendly, and tries to help as much as they can. The area outside the hotel is not the best, but they give you good advice on where to go, and what to do.

In the hotel, there is a good choice of restaurants. Yes, the prices are steep, but you are in the airport, so it is to be expected. Having said that, the food in the Italian Restaurant was pleasant.

Gym is very well equipped and modern machines, giving you a decent full workout.

NEGATIVE POINTS:
Prices are not cheap.
I stayed on the first floor of the North Wing. DON’T DO IT!!!

The room is very small and felt cluttered. The décor was OK, but tiny. Bathroom was a matching set – really tight, with everything on top of the other.

Internet – Can you believe this??? You have to pay for internet… and it is not cheap. 20 dollars for 24 hours. Honestly speaking, I think that it is pathetic that hotels in this 21st century that we live in – still do things like this. Cheap hotels all over the world give this away for free. NO… not here.

Sleep quality in this room I stayed in was a disaster. I arrived in the room at about midnight, and turned in for the night. Outside my room seemed to be something like the air-conditioning system for the whole hotel. NOISY at night… made it difficult to sleep. Hotel has the responsibility to soundproof the room decently, but was not the case in this room. First NO VIEW... then the noise, when trying to sleep.

It is usual to have a coffee machine in all hotels in Mexico. Well… sorry to disappoint you, this one doesn’t.

REALLY POOR carpets, and cleaning staff must not be the strong point of this hotel. Honestly speaking, did not feel comfortable in the room… and it is smelly.

Besides the lobby area, and the gym… EVERYTHING else seemed old – REALLY OLD.

SUMMING UP:
Sorry to say that I will not return to this Camino Real. I would suggest accepting to fork out the extra 10 to 15 dollars, and stay in the Courtyard Marriott hotel in the airport as well. You will thank me for this advice… MUCH BETTER.
“REAL” = ROYAL – more like the “JESTER’s” quarters.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trave1Bandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie A, Director Comercial at Camino Real Aeropuerto, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Google Translation
Muchas Gracias por sus comentarios, tomaremos acción al respecto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
0.2 mi away
Fiesta Inn Aeropuerto Ciudad de Mexico
0.3 mi away
Ramada Aeropuerto Mexico
Ramada Aeropuerto Mexico
#119 of 303 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 stars 433 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Mexico City Airport
Courtyard Mexico City Airport
#3 of 303 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Mexico City Airport
Hilton Mexico City Airport
#54 of 303 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 stars 875 reviews
1.2 mi away
NH Collection Mexico City Airport T2
3.6 mi away
Krystal Urban Aeropuerto Cd de Mexico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Real Aeropuerto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real Aeropuerto

Property: Camino Real Aeropuerto
Address: Calle Puerto Mexico 80 | Col Penon de los Banos, Mexico City 15520, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 303 Hotels in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camino Real Aeropuerto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 600
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Camino Real Aeropuerto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Aeropuerto Hotel Mexico City
Camino Real Aeropuerto Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing