We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lost flight” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camino Real Aeropuerto

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Camino Real Aeropuerto
Ranked #100 of 305 Hotels in Mexico City
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“lost flight”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We lost our flight back home and we had to stay at this hotel. The worst! We waited 1 hr on line so we can change our cupon aand get our room.
The restaurant very poor quality and bad service.
Bad view and looking old.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    326
    292
    148
    93
See reviews for
167
191
109
391
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Level Contributor
121 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Camino Real brand was usually a guarantee of top notch quality and service. I was sadly disappointed to confirm that this is no longer true. The hotel is quite close to the airport and it has a walkway that connects it to the Terminal 1 National departures zone. Pretty much that's the only asset the hotel has.

All the carpets are old and stained, those in the hallways are also dirty, the service from the staff is dismal, the room is very small vs. price paid (a room at the W or at any Hilton of the same rate will be 50% larger).

It's a hotel that stayed in the 1980's even in maintenance but with prices updated to 2013. Also be aware that if you book online, you'll get a "discounted rate", but there is a no cancellation policy, so if you book online and try to cancel or get out of it once you see the hotel, they'll still charge you the full price of the reservation.

Room Tip: I'd say that pick one that doesn't face the runways... but my only true advice would be to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zorzidad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

This hotel is showing its age, and needs a face-lift: hallway carpets are worn and dirty, doors are in need of sprucing up. The gym on the penthouse level is well equipped, but could use some replacement equipment, and the pool in the spa is too short for lap swimming , but not made for relaxation, so its really just a cement pond. Had to ask to find the gym, which illustrates the fact that not a lot of information is given at check-in, and nothing is available in the room. You have to go find it.
Breakfast is, by hotel standards, pretty spectacular. Made to order omelets, and a full compliment buffet.
Caution: internet is sold by the hour and by the day, but seems to work in the room without any log-in. Try before you buy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
94 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed here for a single night as part of a layover. The hotel is ok, but try to find somewhere else. The service is acceptable, and there's a free shuttle from Terminal 2. The rooms are extremely small, basically a bed and a desk. And the bed wasn't comfortable, the linens felt old.
The worst part were the additional fees. I booked the hotel through Expedia at $100 the night. Internet is not free, and costs around $25 a day, which is outrageous. The room service is also extremely expensive, around $70 for a simple dinner.
Overall, I would not stay here again. If you are using Terminal 2, better check out the NH hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank E_Panama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

The only plus of the hotel is the airport convenience. It's a crosswalk away from the terminal so you don't depend on shuttles.
The check-in is the slowest I have ever encountered. Even with a prepaid voucher it takes staff almost 10 mins per customer. There seems to be only on printer and one person able to issue cards. We waited for almost an hour and were lucky. The rooms are renovated and modern, very basic as far as amenities go. Even though I had asked for a non-smoking room, I got a smoking room which reeked like an Easter European train station. Not even a basic attempt to use a deodorizer. Fearing another 1 hour wait I stayed. The hallway is completely run down and rooms facing the open lobby atrium have to deal with lobby bar dance music...

Room Tip: You'll be happy you get a room after an hours wait..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Staff was polite and friendly, however when we tried to check in using our Aeromexico voucher, we were ok, but our service dog was not. It was 10p, we had nowhere else to go and were forced to pay $85 for our "pet". He was welcomed to stay for free in a room behind the desk, but then how could he provide his necessary medical service? The hotel permits wheelchairs, but not other types of service needs. (What would they have done if we would have had a service monkey?!)

We were also provided with meal vouchers which were usable ONLY in the coffee-shop type of restaurant. We wanted to eat in the very nice Italian restaurant and asked whether we could apply the value of the voucher, but not possible (no explanation). There were no customers in it. The coffee-shop restaurant had decent food, nothing special for dinner, but breakfast was a very nice buffet

I did appreciate purified drinking water in the bathroom, good hot water and comfortable, clean beds.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

The cons seem to outweigh the pros as I contemplate more than two dozen times that I have stayed at the Camino Real Aeropuerto over the past two years. This is disappointing, because I absolutely adore Mexico City as a destination. If you have no other alternative but to stay here, then I hope my experiences may be helpful to you.

PROs:

- The convenience! This hotel is attached to the airport with an indoor bridge linking it to the second terminal.

- There are three spots for dining in on the main floor -- most of them still serve food until 11pm or a bit beyond. There are also plenty of meal options in the airport terminal itself; several of which remain open for 24 hours.

- Occasionally there is live music played in the lobby which can be very inviting.

- Complimentary Bath & Body Works toiletry products are offered in each guest washroom.

- Each washroom is also equipped with a radio, which I find interesting. Though, it is strictly tuned to a Mexican talk-radio station, "Imagen Radio" -- a brand that, I believe, is owned by the same proprietors of the Camino Real chain.

CONs:

- When flight cancellations occur, many passengers are accommodated in this hotel, making the Check-In lines outrageously long.

- Every floor of the hotel circles the open lobby area. If there is live music or commotion in the lobby, you'll be able to hear it from your room if it faces this open area. I would suggest a room away from the lobby, as well as the hotel's main elevator to avoid hearing its chiming between floors at all hours of the night.

- There is no way to control the heating in the bedroom -- in fact, there is no heating at all; only air conditioning. Mexico City can get a bit damp at night. I have learned to bring extra layers for my layovers here.

- The WiFi is not free -- nor is it reliable. I do not recommend spending your money on this if it is not absolutely necessary. There is a Business Centre on the main floor.

- The airport is located next to a sewage treatment plant, creating a very pungent smell that is most noticeable in the morning hours.

- Only request a wake-up call if you don't mind answering it more than once. It has happened that after answering the first call, the phone will ring two more times in 5 minute intervals. I now just rely on my cell phone as my alarm clock.

- Double-check that you have a functioning hair dryer, if needed. Most of the time, it will be attached to the wall in the bathroom. I've had an inoperative hair dryer on more than one occasion. The first time, a portable one was brought to my room. The second time, I was told to go to the Fitness Centre and use one of the hair dryers there. Cripes.

Room Tip: - Rooms away from the lobby and main elevator are quieter. - No heat in the room. Bring extra layer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flying_None_is_a_Pun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Mexico City Airport
Courtyard Mexico City Airport
#3 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fiesta Inn Aeropuerto Ciudad de Mexico
0.3 mi away
Ramada Aeropuerto Mexico
Ramada Aeropuerto Mexico
#133 of 305 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Mexico City Airport
Hilton Mexico City Airport
#45 of 305 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
1.2 mi away
NH Collection Mexico City Airport T2
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mexico Aeropuerto
Holiday Inn Express Mexico Aerop...
#122 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Real Aeropuerto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real Aeropuerto

Property: Camino Real Aeropuerto
Address: Calle Puerto Mexico 80 | Col Penon de los Banos, Mexico City 15520, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 305 Hotels in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camino Real Aeropuerto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 600
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Reservation Counter so you can book your Camino Real Aeropuerto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Aeropuerto Hotel Mexico City
Camino Real Aeropuerto Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing