We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Amigo Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hostel Amigo Suites to your Saves list
Hostel Amigo Suites
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Luis Gonzalez Obregon 14 | Col. Centro Del. Cuauhtemoc, Mexico City 06010, Mexico (Centro Historico)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I enjoyed my stay here, there is a free breakfast and dinner. If you are vegetarian there aren't many options but if you speak to the kitchen (en espanol) they may be able to make you whatever minus the meat. If you are vegan there is pretty much nothing. The fruit is excellent though. Victor would bring up the breakfasts and dinners most days with a huge smile and lots of energy which always made my day. The beds were the most uncomfortable that I have slept in yet. The hostel front desk staff speak excellent english and are usually happy to help you with your questions. The hostel was really quiet when I stayed so I didnt meet a lot of people but that is not the fault of the hostel. I would probably stay here again. The location is excellent.

Room Tip: Choose a room as far from the stairwell as possible, the echo is quite noticeable if you are a light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zee_bbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
138 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

The hostel was great, the buffet breakfast and dinner were always amazing and varied every day! The atmosphere was very chilled, not very party, but you can definitely meet people. The rooms weren't great, no windows, prison mattresses, hundreds of mosquitoes, super hot, but you can get a fan. Very clean, WiFi only really on the roof area or the 3rd floor. Plugs only by the door of the room and the lockers were really small. I would stay here again though as the location and food were very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Den367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC area
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

My sister and I stayed here in May for a week, in a private apartment with free breakfast (decent), free dinner (no frills, but vegetarian-friendly), and free common area wifi. Booked through AmEx travel, it was under $30/day! The location is unbeatable--4 blocks from the Zocalo, and short walking distance to everything else except Chapultepec. Luckily the metro is also nearby, so "problem" solved! Shout out to Ivan and Jasmine for being particularly awesome.
Note: this IS a hostel, so expect the usual quirks and imperfections. However, you cannot beat the location and price.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SecularBeaglist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I had a private double room and it was comfy, good size, nice private bathroom, tv, safe, clean. Staff were all really friendly and helpfull, especially Victor (he made me write that, but it's still true). Breakfast was included and was good.
Unfortunately I only had one day in Mexico City but the hostel looked like it offered so many different day tours. I wish I could have done one (or ten).
Located a couple of blocks from the Zocalo.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MegSCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Maybe a new rubric for grading hotels should be how well they treat you when you are (or your girlfriend is) sick and grumpy. We arrived late, but the desk clerk was quick and friendly, understanding our rush to our room (Thanks a lot, Montezuma!) We ended up having to stay several days as my girlfriend recuperated, and each day the staff were very, very friendly and accomodating despite our haggard grumpiness. Even the custodian was full of sweetly encouraging advice about nearby pharmacies and nearby activities to keep my occupied while I wasn't playing nurse.
While breakfast and dinner (BOTH included in the room rate) were not spectacular, they were decent and the rooftop view is great. There are three computers available to guests, and they all worked 90% of the time. There is even a vending machine for drinks and condoms.
Location is great--just a few blocks from El Zocalo, and close to several great restaurants.

Room Tip: Many rooms have street-facing windows and very small balconies. Just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarnivoreOnTheRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

My bf and I stayed here for three nights. Great location, close to city centre! Couldn't believe it when they said breakfast and dinner included in the price (surely thought I'd would be rubbish if so) but surely enough it was true and not a complaint whatsoever! The food was great and fulfilling! The staff were all very helpful and
friendly. Victor in particular went out of his way to make our stay as enjoyable as possible and had a very friendly and humorous mannerism! Only down fall was the location of our room, very noisy street and we were located on the first level facing the road! Staff handed out ear plugs which helped! But I would recommend asking to be placed facing the courtyard or a higher level! Many thanks hostel amigo suites!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Monique Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Cristobal de las Casas, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Very cool hostel and also hostel amigo very good vibes and great staff and parties. If you need to organise anything regarding flights and busses the travel agent Aida will sort you out no worries....

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davebarry2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#15 of 297 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 stars 851 reviews
Centro Historico
Hotel Principal
Hotel Principal
#140 of 297 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 stars 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#3 of 297 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,664 reviews
Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
#34 of 297 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 stars 625 reviews
Centro Historico
Hostel Amigo
Hostel Amigo
#23 of 164 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 stars 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Amigo Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Amigo Suites

Address: Luis Gonzalez Obregon 14 | Col. Centro Del. Cuauhtemoc, Mexico City 06010, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 164 Specialty Lodging in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Amigo Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Services included: Breakfast Buffet, Dinnet Buffet, Internet, Wifi, 2 City Tours. All rooms ensuited and cable TV in all Private Rooms.Hostel Amigo Suites, sister hostel to the original and famous Hostel Amigo opens its doors in 2011 with the best facilities in Mexico City. The place was designed with private rooms and small dormitories, all with private bathroom inside the room. They were planned with travelers like you in mind, so that you can find the comfort and privacy you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hostel Amigo Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Amigo Suites Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#