We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best food we had in Mexico” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dulce Patria en Las Alcobas

Dulce Patria en Las Alcobas
Reserve with OpenTable
Dulce Patria en Las Alcobas is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 3,531 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $500 - $500
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Polanco
Cross street: Presidente Masarik y Emilio Castelar
Hoboken
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best food we had in Mexico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is one of the best restaurants I've ever eaten at and I live in New York City. We had a group of 22 (!) people and the service was flawless. We started with delicious drinks - very unique and beautiful looking. We got 4 different salsas, and guacamole for the table. Then we had 4 appetizers served to each of us individually - elote, ceviche, seared ahi, pork egg roll. I had the pozole soup with seafood for my main entree - delicious! The deserts were also fantastic. Including drinks, tip, everything, it was $75 US per person. Steep for Mexico City, but compared to NYC, an absolute steal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Danielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    519
    166
    70
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
176 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Mexican cuisine at a high level”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

A beautifully modern interior is a great setting for modern interpretations of classic Mexican dishers. Service was good, and we sat upstairs, with a view of the neighborhood. Excellent cocktails, and food was good in flavor, and unusually artistic presentations.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FranknDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Over rated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We didn’t like the decor. The restaurant overall disappointed us. For us, the food was plain. Maybe we went there with high expectations after reading Chef Ortiz bio and some of the reviews. The place is market as a culinary Mexican restaurant and while the dishes are server quite graciously, the food lacks of flavor. We shared the ceviche and I had the duck in mole sauce. This last one was extremely dry while the ceviche was unremarkable. Dessert was the only thing memorable from the menu. Overall, place is average and forgettable; except for the bill. For the prices you should get spectacular.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ale_ErikaChina2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emiliano Zapata, Mexico
Level Contributor
149 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Dulce Patria..A must for anybody who want to taste the top Mexican food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Knowing Martha Ortiz since the 90' .She finally set the restaurant which speak for itself..
The kitchen runs pretty well and the well trained staff moves very smoth..
Excelent Menu.very good wine list ( all the best Mexican Wines are there / expensive but they have all the good one's)
Details play an important role../ Salsas a very good variety..
Located in the best area in Polanco.A must..

Mannu V (2013)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MannuVilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Doesnt worth it at all...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Fancy restaurent with cheap food and stressed services. The price are high and they seems to give you fancy mexicain food but it's not. It's tottaly over price and it's really not an honnest restaurent. Trust me, there is many better restaurents in Mexico city than this one.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Maxboiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dulce Patria en Las Alcobas also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Dulce Patria en Las Alcobas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing