We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Exceptional, traditional and authentic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nicos Mexico

Nicos Mexico
Reserve with OpenTable
Nicos Mexico is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #78 of 3,818 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Azcapotzalco
Cross street: Nilo & Av. Claveria
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Exceptional, traditional and authentic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Fantastic food, cooked in very traditional manner and served by friendly and attentive staff. A great value and a fantastic meal in central Mexico City.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Lyon225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    50
    14
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Avant Garde Mexican Restauranteur”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

Not only the food is outstanding but the the entire operation is admirable. First and foremost, Nico's makes an effort to keep the food locally sourced, evidenced by his little store next door with sustainable producers of everything you may think. Also, Nico's embraces the slow food movement. And to top it off, Nico's has been a longstanding purveyor of great wines. With Mexican wines on the horizon now, the pairings are adventuresome gourmet experiences. In Mexico one knows the goodness of the place not by trip advisor but by the number of comensals at one particular time and Nico's once again demonstrates that it is a great place. the Restaurant is full of locals!!

  • Visited November 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank rarco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food, not expensive.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

As a local let me tell you that this restaurant is one of the less know gems in the city. The location is pretty central but there isn´t many things to do arround. They just did a renovation but I didn´t like it very much.

Now to the good stuff, the food. I recomend going for breakfast (sundays are closed) for starters try a cup of hot chocolate with a selection recent made bakery. And for main course you can´t go wrong everything is great. They also make some great combinations of fresh juices, try de "mandarina juice" but is seasonal during the end of the year.

And for the quality of the food it is a great deal just go and try it!!!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler_Mx_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Tasty Food, Exceptional Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

We visit this restaurant every time we are in Mexico City (one or twice a year). They have exceptional service (particularly compared to American standards). They hot chocolate and bread are tasty but if you want a fun little show order a lechero. The lechero is a coffee with milk, they pour coffee in a cup and then top it off with milk by pouring with the steaming milk pot held at arms length over their head.

I recommend the huveos divorciados or egg white omelette (filled with cottage cheese).

We tip very generously and when we are in the area we use the restroom here, even when we are not having a meal, because they are so clean. If you tip well and are polite to the waiters they will remember you and wont have a problem with you stopping by to use the facility.

  • Visited December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Greyhound661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nicos Mexico also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Nicos Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing