We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal B&B Dos Fridas y Diego
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Room Tip: Consider spending a bit more for the in-bath suite. It has a lovely reading area that looks out on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
1  Thank Ellen C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 59 of 297 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay in Mexico City. We loved our stay here so much that we stayed for an extra three nights. Anna and her family were absolutely lovely and very helpful. The place was always clean and the homemade traditional breakfasts were delicious. The hostel is in a lovely leafy suburb also and it felt very safe. Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Annabel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

This is our second review since April 2012 (at their previous location), and we still ADORE DFyD! We stay here every time we come to Mex City. Ana, family, and staff are FABULOUS! Always helpful, friendly. The ambiance is lovely; rooms are comfy-cozy! Breakfast is simple, fresh, yummy, and perfect! Great location too! Be sure to hit El Caminero for tacos, Mi Cielito for a chocolate con chile, and El Pendulo for a panquecito con rompope - We always do! :)

Room Tip: We most recently stayed in 'el cuarto amarrilo' - and it might just be our favorite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieUmmLucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Hostal B&B Dos Fridas y Diego is a great value in Mexico City. The location is perfect, a few blocks away from Paseo de la Reforma, the restaurants and bars of the Roma area, and the metro. Also close to Polanco and museums.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Jmpope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Amazing accommodations, staff was very kind and helpful for recommendations of what tours to take around the city. Provided maps and restaurant recommendations around town. Affordable price -- great breakfast. The room was beautiful -- private room with three beds. No complaints whatsoever.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bentvail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed at this one-of-a-kind B&B over spring break for two nights. Our overnight flight into DF found us very early for check-in; nonetheless, we were warmly greeted and welcomed with coffee and breakfast in the courtyard. After the breakfast rush, Anna sat down with us and helped us decided on the day's activities as well as tips for getting around the city. These tips were so helpful- mainly how to use the subway and the men/women segregated subway trains durning peak hours. She also secured our bags for us so we could explore the city unencumbered until our room was ready. We were lucky enough to get the room I was dreaming of after seeing pictures online… GIANT Frida mural over the bed, I loved it! Room was large with wood floors, clean, plenty of natural light, beds were comfy, and the bathroom had lots of great old Mexico details. We had a small patio off our room that overlooked the courtyard. And a word about breakfast- we're vegetarian/vegan and she prepared delicious food for us each morning. Overall: safe, clean, unique, quiet, yummy food, great host- what a find!

Room Tip: Go for the rooms with patios- totally worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mandyearthling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We always stay at Dos Fridas y Diego whenever we fly out of Mexico City. We know the family well, and they have become friends to us. Ana is the owner, and her family-run operation is always hospitable and welcoming. The hostel itself is a great place to stay at for many reasons. The hostel is well furnished with great style and décor, the bedrooms and bathrooms are clean and functional. The amenities serve us well. We can cook the food we choose from the market across the road, and there is a complementary breakfast. The variety of room choices always accommodate us. The WiFi, computer and TV are there for our use. The location is quiet, yet it is as central as can be, literally seconds from the American embassy, and a few minutes from the Angel of Independence, the Zona Rosa and it’s many restaurants, taquerias and canteens, and the metro stop Insurgentes. We always look forward to our stay with Ana and her family.
Written by Tim and Sebastian Williams.

Room Tip: If there are 2 or more in your family group, try to get one of the rooms. There are always 2 beds, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank surfcasts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Mexico City Hostel
Mexico City Hostel
#3 of 231 in Mexico City
414 reviews
Centro Historico
Casa San Ildefonso Hostal
Casa San Ildefonso Hostal
#4 of 231 in Mexico City
322 reviews
Hostel Suites DF
#5 of 231 in Mexico City
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
#12 of 231 in Mexico City
564 reviews
Centro Historico
Downtown Beds
Downtown Beds
#26 of 231 in Mexico City
102 reviews
CDMX Hostel Art Gallery
#7 of 231 in Mexico City
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal B&B Dos Fridas y Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal B&B Dos Fridas y Diego

Address: Rio Tigris # 128 | Entre calle Río Lerma y Río Panuco,estamos justo detrás del la Embajada Americana en Paseo de la Reforma, Mexico City 06600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 231 Specialty Lodging in Mexico City
Price Range: $17 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy the great City staying with US!We are ideal for tourist, business and travelers.You will find a clean, safe and friendly atmosphere in a safe neighborhood.We are in the heart of Reforma just 10min. Walk to some of the most amaizing museum's in the City and Chapultepec park. We are surrounded by many Embassy es this males the era very safe to walk a round at night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal B&B Dos Fridas y Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal B&B Dos Fridas y Diego Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing