We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Home in Mexico City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal B&B Dos Fridas y Diego
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We have stayed at Hostal B&B Dos Fridas y Diego twice now, and have absolutely loved it both times. The staff is welcoming and the hostel is stylish and spotless. Our favorite part are the tasty breakfasts served in the garden each morning. It is a B&B at a hostal price, and I am sure we will be back again!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank scthrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

93 - 99 of 296 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here 2 nights.

The room was lovely and clean, safe, secure, in a good location, nicely decorated with restored furniture and artsy pictures of Frida Kahlo and Diego Rivera. It is also located within easy reach of metro stops, restaurants and tourist areas.

The staff were really attentive and arrange a couple of excursions for us, unfortunately my girlfriend was ill, so stayed in while I went out sightseeing. I cannot fault the staff though who made sure she was looked after and helped to order some food for her which she was allowed to eat in our room.

Breakfast was included and basically you could have different items each day, we had eggs, bread, yogurt and fruit.

The Manager arrange a reasonable priced taxi to take us to the airport and we were very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomHPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I did stay at Dos Fridas y Diego for a period of 5 nights in two different rooms upstairs. Both were large and clean, wi-fi accessible. Shared bathrooms were clean and very spacious, hot water was almost always available, apart from one time, when there were quite a few guys having shower one after another. Complimentary breakfast was ok (no tea, only coffee served). On site kitchen facilities allow to make your own food, which is always good, if you like to cook for yourself. The best hostel feature, which was the most important for me, was location, plenty of restaurants, bars, shops, etc. All in all, I did enjoy Fridas y Diego and I can reccommend it to other travellers.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_Nobody_1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

I'm not sure why this is the number 1 hostel in Mexico City. The others must be pretty bad. Our room smelt damp and moldy and could've been cleaner. It's pretty noisy despite being on a quiet street. They don't provide a laundry service as advertised on the net. On the positive side, it's in a good location and the breakfast was tasty.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clarebelle_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Dos Fridas for a couple of days...the rooms and the bathrooms are clean. The staff is friendly and the building is located in a safe area (less than a block away from the US Embassy)
The olnly bad things I can say is that the price is a bit expensive...I saw the sign that was $450 in a private room for 2 persons...and I was charged $500 pesos...I think the have to change the sign or the price! And another thing is that the street where it's located is very small and hard to find by the taxi driver...and it is like the service street for the Sheraton Hotel! But we had a great overall experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YepRom-Fam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I stayed at Dos Fridas y Diego recently for my birthday during my first trip to Mexico. I spent 9 days in Mexico City, and Dos Fridas y Diego added a positive aspect to my trip. The staff were friendly and personable, and provided us tips about what to do and which buses to catch. Claudia and Julio were sweet, ensuring our rooms were clean, breakfast was ready by 9 a.m., and created a kind and safe atmosphere. Anna, one of the owners, was awesome, as she grew up in the area and was able to give some good ideas on what to do in her city.

As someone who does not enjoy staying in hotels (I never feel satisfied by the impersonal surroundings, and dislike air conditioning and stale air) I felt Dos Fridas y Diego was the perfect alternative. It has bright colorful walls, cute spacious rooms, and big windows that let in lots of light and air. It is in a safe area, right next to a taxi stop in front of the Embassy, and close to Reforma Street, where you can catch buses and taxis, and walk to Insurgentes. Even two weeks after my stay there, I have happy flashbacks of my adventures in Mexico City and waking up in my room with the cool Frida Kahlo painting on the walls watching over me :) I enjoyed being a part of the hostel for a week, and would like to go back there on my next trip to D.F.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Z415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

A family owned Hostel, very clean, warm and friendly. The homemade breakfast is really good. Located in a nice and safe area. Perfect place to stay in Mexico when travelling by your self!! They also have private rooms if you are a couple or a family.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eden G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Mexico City Hostel
Mexico City Hostel
#3 of 230 in Mexico City
412 reviews
Centro Historico
Casa San Ildefonso Hostal
Casa San Ildefonso Hostal
#5 of 230 in Mexico City
321 reviews
Hostel Suites DF
#4 of 230 in Mexico City
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Downtown Beds
Downtown Beds
#25 of 230 in Mexico City
102 reviews
Centro Historico
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
#12 of 230 in Mexico City
564 reviews
CDMX Hostel Art Gallery
#7 of 230 in Mexico City
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal B&B Dos Fridas y Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal B&B Dos Fridas y Diego

Address: Rio Tigris # 128 | Entre calle Río Lerma y Río Panuco,estamos justo detrás del la Embajada Americana en Paseo de la Reforma, Mexico City 06600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 230 Specialty Lodging in Mexico City
Price Range: $17 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy the great City staying with US!We are ideal for tourist, business and travelers.You will find a clean, safe and friendly atmosphere in a safe neighborhood.We are in the heart of Reforma just 10min. Walk to some of the most amaizing museum's in the City and Chapultepec park. We are surrounded by many Embassy es this males the era very safe to walk a round at night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal B&B Dos Fridas y Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal B&B Dos Fridas y Diego Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing