We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good quality Mexican local food. Inexpensive”

La casa de Tono Zona Rosa
Ranked #15 of 4,236 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Reforma / Zona Rosa
Veigne, France
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good quality Mexican local food. Inexpensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

La Casa de Tono is not a typical tourist restaurant (I was the only one!). The place was packed and the service very efficient. If you want to sample typical Mexican style dishes in a local environment, this is a good place to go. I tried the "Pozole", a very traditional dish - it was very tasty.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    416
    244
    50
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very popular!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

We watched as a stream of locals queued to get in - must be pretty good, we thought. The door attendant checked via radio, and yes, we were good for a table!
Well it's OK I suppose, nothing particularly outstanding. We tried the Pozole and found it fairly bland. Kids had flautas (OK, bit dry, again uninspiring) and tacos de cochinita (bit more to my taste). It's a safe and good value option, but the decor and service made it feel like a fast food chain.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EalingBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Pozole, Fast Service, Polite Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

I have to recommend this restaurant for anyone looking to eat authentic Mexican food and experience a local atmosphere. The place was packed and so we waited around 30 minutes for a table, but once we ordered, our food was on our table in no time. We never felt rush, we ate our food and the staff always asked if we needed anything. I had a pozole chico and decided to try their flautas. The pozole was really good, you get your sides of tostadas, lemons and choice of 3 types of hot sauces. The flautas were massive. The order came with 3 and we had chicken, potato and meat. They were really good, but I liked my pozole better which I highly recommend.
The place is clean, food is delicious, very inexpensive and I definitely will go back there next time we stay in the area.
I highly recommend it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dandelion_mx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

Fast service, friendly staff great food quality. Love their Chicken Posole and their Requeson Quesadilla MUST try. Their Arroz con leche super good! Visited twice in a week so good!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ssanchez72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It's fine, but don't believe the hype...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

I'm not sure why this place is so well reviewed. It is fine, but not particularly memorable. The food was average. The service was fast, but not terribly friendly or accurate. I ordered the famous pozole with beef, but was served chicken instead. Maybe the beef would have been better, but the chicken was rather underwhelming. The quesadilla de queso was tasty, but was swimming in a pool of grease.

On a positive note, the location is convenient and it is nice that it is open very late. The prices are very good, as well.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob_Daniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La casa de Tono Zona Rosa also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to La casa de Tono Zona Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing