We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Delicious Mexican food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La casa de Tono Zona Rosa

La casa de Tono Zona Rosa
Ranked #15 of 4,095 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Reforma / Zona Rosa
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Delicious Mexican food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Visited this restaurant after seeing good reviews on TA. The entrance was a little sketchy with security guards but the food was fantastico! Atmosphere is 'fast food' but don't let that deter you. Music was not Mexican which was a disappointment. Try the flan for dessert - yummy! Excellent value for money in the Zona Rosa.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    403
    240
    46
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
100 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good quesadillas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We sampled every quesadillas on the menu, all where good.
Very efficient service, precise and fast. Clean.
Neighbourhood is busy and safe. Open 24 hours.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tohtem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Province of San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Best Mexican restaurant ever. In my opinion at least...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

I love this place. As a foreigner in Mexico I always wanted to try real Mexican food without ending with stomach problems. This place was the answer. I love their food. It is out of this world. They have it all. Spicy. Not spicy. Everything. Don't think it is an upscale place, it is not. It's a simple place. Menus printed on the table, cash only, standing in line most of the time to get in. But boy!, it is worth it. A must in Mexico. There are a lot of restaurants of this chain all over Mexico. All of them excellent. You have got to try it. By far, my favorite restaurant in Mexico. My personal favorite: cheese quesadilla and potato flautas. And for dessert "flan de la abuela". To die for...

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank drpjgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dereham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very good quality, excellent value genuine Mexican food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Really delicious, genuine, great value but not fine dining. You're eating with the locals. It was packed full and rightly so. We're going back 2 nights in a row.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank motorhomelifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampico
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Veggie Pozole & more!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Great place to have Mexican food. The vegetarian Pozole is excellent and all other dishes have at least one meatless option. Don't miss flor de calabaza (zucchini flower) in your choices. Few dishes but numerous ingredients to choose from. Great flavor, good service and very decent prices. You won't be disappointed. I will visit again for sure.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank guilloguzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La casa de Tono Zona Rosa also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to La casa de Tono Zona Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing