We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deal for couples”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal Centro Historico Regina
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed in a private room for 3 nights and enjoyed our stay here. The location is golden with lots of bars and restaurants around the area. The bathroom was across from our room and it always had hot water. Rooms were clean but no daily housekeeping, which we didn't mind for our short stay. If you are a light sleeper, however, beware as the noise is coming in from the street but we were so tired by the end of our stay that we just passed out. For the price, you cannot beat it and the staff we're friendly, and a good place to meet other travelers.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

51 - 57 of 245 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the "family room" (2 king size beds, 2 ensuites and a mezzanine), which was lovely, but not typical of the dorm experience.

The room was very comfortable, with a micro balcony overlooking the pedestrianised Regina St. Breakfast was nice for a bread + coffee hostel breakfast: a pastry and cinnamon brewed coffee from the cafe downstairs.

The vibe of the hostel was nice, though quiet (we arrived Xmas day). The location is central and a short walk to the Zocalo. Street noise wasn't a problem for us, as we weren't overlooking 5 de Febrero, the busy street.

There is a nice kitchen, though no drinking water provided - which should be a given for any accommodation in mexico. Also, the security door on the ground level could definitely do with upgrading. There seems to be an occasional security guard on duty late at night in the absence of a stronger door.

The roof bar is nice and finished, though not operating during our Xmas stay.

Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Zachazacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Overall, I thought hostel regina was good. Was relatively clean, and staff were nice to deal with. A lot of travellers on trip advisor seem to complain about the noise. I did not find this to be a problem, also the hostel is in the middle of centro historico, so of course there is going to be some noise. The dorms were very large, but thought this was cool, lots of people to meet. Breakfast was free, although small. Location was great.

The areas where I thought they could improve was the wireless (it really only worked down in the foyer), there was no rooftop bar, although I understand this was being renovated at the time, security was ok, not a priority though, and there was a lack of help for your ongoing travels. A lot of travellers use Mex City as their strating point for Mex and Central America. It would have been good if Hostel Regina offered help to travellers for booking buses, tours etc. We did this all through Hostel Amigos, which also looks to be a good hostel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I stayed with 3 friends in a private room, in November. The room was pretty cool - a massive bed, then a walk-up some stairs to another massive bed. Bathrooms both up- and downstairs, but the shower is upstairs only.

LOCATION: Good, easy to walk to the center. Felt safe. Can be loud at night, though, since the street beside it has bars and sometimes musicians playing at night.

CLEANLINESS: Beds were clean, towels also provided.

BATHROOM: We had a private bathroom. It wasn't bad, though be careful that too much water can result in leaking through to the bottom floor.

BREAKFAST: Get a slip from reception and have a cup of coffee (it tasted vaguely of cinnamon) and a bread at the cafe downstairs. I think breakfast started at 8, except for on the weekend.

WIFI: No reception in the room, and worked extremely slowly on our last day there.

RECEPTION: Very friendly and helpful staff. Had a nice chat with Crista (hope I spelled that right), who helped us book our tour to Taxco, and gave us information about other stuff.

ADDITIONAL: As with the rest of Mexico, it helps to know a bit of Spanish. Just a brief reminder also to check out the tours at the counter, and you can ask reception to call you a taxi, since it's apparently not safe to hail one on the streets.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fleagah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Centrally located, near metro. Really nice bathrooms. Problem we had was the bedroom doors were glass so we had to shut blankets in the door to be able to sleep. Breakfast was included in the price, but they never bothered to open early enough for us to have (we waited till 8.45 and still nothing). Nice terrace upstairs. Would recommend, just not the adjoining restaurant!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justiney88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

This Hostel is perfectly located in the Centro Historico, within walking distance of all the attractions, 3 metro stations to take you further afield and on Regina street which is a pedestrianised street full of bars and restaurants. The hostal itself it's lovely, the building is stunning and has an army of cleaners day and night maintaining the hostel, the shared bathrooms are very clean and very new, the staff are friendly and helpful. It would be an amazing stay if it wasn't for the level of noise, don't get me wrong, we are NOT light sleepers, but the unavoidable noise from the street below, specially at the weekends it's like sleeping in a very noisy bar, we stayed on the first floor so perhaps further up would be better, if it wasn't for the rooftop bar also blearing music downwards. The wifi only worked 2 days out of 5 that we were there, but they have 3 free computers that you can use, the breakfast is standard Mexican pastry and a coffee, and the kitchen is very well equipped to cook simple meals. So if the noise doesn't put you off and you can sleep through anything then definitely stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corinne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

A good place to stay in centro historico. Hostel was clean and safe, bathrooms are modern and clean. There are 2 cafes in the hostel lobby. Kitchen was clean, although I didn't use it. Breakfast didn't happen until 9 am and was very basic- not worth the wait.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alextheaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Hotel Principal
Hotel Principal
#138 of 312 in Mexico City
265 reviews
Centro Historico
Mexico City Hostel
Mexico City Hostel
#3 of 231 in Mexico City
413 reviews
Centro Historico
Downtown Beds
Downtown Beds
#26 of 231 in Mexico City
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Casa San Ildefonso Hostal
Casa San Ildefonso Hostal
#5 of 231 in Mexico City
321 reviews
Centro Historico
Hostel Amigo
Hostel Amigo
#45 of 231 in Mexico City
196 reviews
Centro Historico
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
#12 of 231 in Mexico City
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Centro Historico Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Centro Historico Regina

Address: Calle 5 de Febrero # 53 esquina con Regina 58 | Del. Cuauhtemoc, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 231 Specialty Lodging in Mexico City
Price Range: $14 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hostal Centro Historico Regina 1.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Regina is projected to be the only retro art-kitsch youth hostel in Mexico City. We have shared and private rooms, where local and foreign cultures and fused along with experiences and environments. The place is brand new, counts with 121 comfortable beds, private rooms, parquet floors, high ceilings and huge windows with balcony. We manage to make every room special, spacious and bright. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hostal Centro Historico Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Centro Historico Regina Hotel Mexico City
Hostal Centro Historico Regina Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing