We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, with a wonderful wiew”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
Ranked #8 of 309 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, with a wonderful wiew”
Reviewed May 26, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for a meeting just for a couple of days.
It is in a good location, close to the park and Museo Nacional de Antropologia.
The hotel is perfect, but the staff from the front desk is a little bit slow and confuse to solve simple problems.
Except for this, everything was perfect

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudio-1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    776
    247
    45
    12
    11
See reviews for
167
209
57
492
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

I stayed here on a business trip where I used the hotel facilities for a two day seminar, which I was the speaker. The hotel is beautifully maintained. The bed, as usual for Marriott Hotels, was I-don't-want-to-get-up comfortable. The breakfast in the Executive Lounge was delicious and had a nice variety of dishes to choose from. The meeting rooms were above a restaurant across from the lobby on the second floor and there seemed to be no handicapped access. We didn't need it, but you'd better check on this if you book a meeting. Otherwise the service was impeccable. The refreshments served during breaks and for lunch (once poolside) were all top notch. Internet was fast and reliable. This Marriott performed perfectly for me and we had a very successful seminar and I had a great stay. Thanks to everyone there!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Limulus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Loved staying here. This is my second stay there. True to a full service Marriott they have a fantastic pool, nice work out facilities and restaurants. I had to bring customers in for breakfast and also for cocktails in the evening. The service rise to occasion every time. With my copany rate the value was great. I felt very secure - important in Mexico for a US business traveller. Another great thing is the location - great for walks outside and a lot of restaurant choices within walking distance.

Only complaint I had was I had the egg whites and spinach for breakfast and it did not sit well - I think the egg whites was from a package and was probably overage, I suffered a bit next couple of days.

Room Tip: High floors are nice - try for the upgrade if you have elite status.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MenonR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Beautiful rooms and lobby befitting a JW Marriott. The whole experience reminds your constantly that you're in a luxury hotel.

In Mexico City, I've also stayed at the Sheraton Maria Isabel and W Hotel. The JW is the best of the three.

The only room for improvement would be with the gym equipment. The treadmills are old and weight training equipment nonexistent.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timmy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexico
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

I don’t know if you have tried to be a visitor in your own city, but I enjoy it every time. This means to actually book a hotel, pack things and become a tourist for a couple of days.

I live in Mexico City and had done this before several times, staying at the Four Seasons. I even book a guide to visit places that you actually never visit, regardless of living in your city.
If you have not done it, give it a try, you will actually feel like you are on vacations. It’s a whole new perspective. It might feel awkward at first, but by the time you get back home, you realize your city can also be enjoyed as a tourist.

This weekend I decided to do it again. As we come to the end of the Easter week and all highways would be absolutely crowded, so there was no interest in spending the whole Sunday watching the snails go pass right next to you, as you wait in line at the paytoll.

I planned to watch the Traviata from the New York Opera as they broadcast it live from the Metropolitan into a local theatre; have a peaceful afternoon and a good dinner. Next day, enjoy a Sunday brunch and back home.
Ok, so much for the plans. The question was where.

Of course the first choice would be the Four Seasons. You can’t beat one of the 2 or 3 rooms that have a large terrace where you can drink your glass of wine and enjoy the inside patio and evening music. It’s not even a suite, but it’s one of the only terraces in the building. If you do come to the Four Seasons please book it.

However….I had just been to Cancun into the JW Marriot and really thought that it was closer to their sibling Ritz Carlton, so I gave it a chance, since there is no Ritz Carlton in Mexico City (and after you end up the review, you will probably think we don’t need it).

I had book their meeting rooms in the past and I liked the ambience and service, so I had high expectations.

Surprise number 1: The cost for a weekend rate, in an executive level is only 208 usd. We are talking a 500 sq feet room with one of the BEST views in Mexico.

Surprise number 2: It includes an actual breakfast buffet (great fruit and juices), daily snacks, wine, beers, all sort of natural juices, all types of teas, pastries and…. dinner too!

It is the first time I heard of an executive lounge serving “dinner”. Ok, it’s not a la carte but they had great options. We had booked at 9pm at their Lipps Brasserie, but we could not withhold our hands off their cheese selection, pasta, Cordon Bleu Chicken, red wine, salads, desserts, and so on.
Sorry Lipps, these were high class meals and did not missed your French accent.

Surprise number 3: If you think having a great room, daily breakfast buffet, all day snacks AND dinner is not enough, let me tell you they will even take 5 cloths to the dry cleaner, give you free internet and your choice of newspaper.

Honestly, I am considering to rent my home and move here 3 months to save some money for the family winter vacations! What a treat.

The service was great, the girl at the executive lounge, Indira (as in Indira Gandhi) was always helpful. Everybody is really concerned in the well being of the guests. Good training and it shows.

The hotel style is not magnificent as the FS but still in the top ratings. It’s a mixture between European and Contemporary Mexican; elegant, but not overdone. I read the rooms were remodeled in 2006. They are still in very good shape.

Again, our brunch plans were killed by the mastermind of the executive lounge manager. We just came to take a look, but we could not say no. To their benefit, the brunch really looked good and for $32 USD it is also a bargain. Everything you find in a breakfast buffet plus a grill, seafood and al sorts of desserts.

So, in a nutshell, do I recommend this hotel? It’s life on a Ritz and a very happy wallet…Congrats to the Manager. And Four Seasons, you should better keep your eyes open.

Room Tip: The Master executive room is definitively the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PegasoMex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

The hotel is what you expect from a Marriott one. What i found exceptional is the swimming pool. You can enter inside the hotel, and then swim through the outside (a sort of roof), so you can swim in open pool, heated water..super! Hotel is expensive as the other locations in Polanco

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Agree with a lot of other reviewers on certain things the bottom line is you can do MUCH better on the same street.
The prices are ridiculously high usually over $420 USD during the week. Ver snobby check in and from desk staff.
Location is great if you work in or around Polanco but on the same street is a wonderful Nikko for 1/2 the price, a W which is usually 60-70% the price and a decent Intercontinental also much cheaper. Same street. Same safety. Same restaurants, same shopping.
I am Platinum Premier and stay at Marriott's exclusively but this hotel just is not worth it. Not at all

Room Tip: Regular rooms are run of mill size wise. Especially value wise. Try for an upgrade. It will not be e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mark s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Hotel Mexico City
Four Seasons Hotel Mexico City
#10 of 309 in Mexico City
1,327 reviews
Polanco
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
#13 of 309 in Mexico City
1,976 reviews
The St. Regis Mexico City
#7 of 309 in Mexico City
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Polanco
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
#2 of 309 in Mexico City
637 reviews
Polanco
W Mexico City
W Mexico City
#28 of 309 in Mexico City
923 reviews
Polanco
InterContinental Presidente Mexico City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
Address: Calle Andres Bello 29 | Polanco Mexico City Distrito Federal 11560 Mexico, Mexico City 11550, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Polanco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#3 Spa Hotel in Mexico City
#5 Business Hotel in Mexico City
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City 5*
Number of rooms: 312
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Mexico City Hotel Mexico City
Mexico City Jw Marriott
Marriott Mexico City
Mexico City Marriott
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing