We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Mexico City
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,075)
Filter reviews
2,076 results
Traveler rating
1,273
603
126
51
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,273
603
126
51
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop restaurant el balcon the main square free apples free water perfect location national palace holiday inn top floor welcome drink templo mayor historic center guacamole wonderful hotel rooms are small concierge staff i highly recommend this hotel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 2,076 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I had high expectations because of the great reviews, happy to say they delivered!!! Location is great, zocalo area has some beautiful buildings to visit, the suite was very comfortable, and the complimentary water was a plus!!! Breakfast at the rooftop terrace was very good, aside from the buffet you can order eggs made to order or french toast, breads are amazing!!! I would like to thank our waiter Jose Rivera who was professional and took great care of us!!! The hotel lobby is small but beautiful, and they have a free cafe that offer coffees and teas, paninis but ALL servers had an attitude ( management needs to retrain them) aside from them most employees were professional and eagered to please... special thanks to concierge Valeria who was excellent, overall a great stay!!!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank pepas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHoteles, Director General at Zocalo Central, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear pepas.
We would like to thank you for choosing Zócalo Central Hotel for your stay in Mexico City. It is an honor to know that your stay was just as you expected thanks to our great location, comfortable suite, breakfast and amenities, such as complimentary water on every floor and Café Central. However, we are deeply concerned about the inconveniences you experienced at our hotel. We will review these issues with our team to implement the appropriate corrective measures. We will send your assessment to José Rivera and Valeria whom, we are sure, will receive it with pleasure. Our main aim is to offer to our guests a service centered on you!
We really hope to see you again on your next trip to Mexico City.
Best regards,
Vladimir Mayllen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We lodged here with a small group, and it was perfect for our needs. Our reception was friendly, and handled expeditiously. Our room, while small, was quite comfortable, and equipped with everything we needed. The bathroom was large and well laid out. Our room was exceptionally quiet, perhaps because our window opened only to an interior lounge that no one occupied during our visit. I particularly liked the free coffee drinks and other refreshments, including light snacks, available throughout the day in the Cafe Central just off the lobby. This was a very good hotel, well worth considering for a CDMX stay.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Leslie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHoteles, Director General at Zocalo Central, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Leslie.
Thank you so much for your preference and for sharing with us your review about Zócalo Central. It is an honor to read that your stay with us was better than you expected thanks to our attentive service, accommodations, quietness and amenities, such as Café Central. At Central Hoteles, we are “Centered on you”, and we believe in the small details that contribute to create unforgettable experiences.
We really hope to see you again on your next trip to Mexico City.
Best regards,
Vladimir Mayllen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed 5 nights in a quiet, clean, comfortable room. Front desk staff were very efficient, professional and helpful. Dinner & drinks at the rooftop El Balcon were great. I highly recommend this hotel & would stay here again.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Retirada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHoteles, Director General at Zocalo Central, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Retirada.
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your opinion about our hotel, Zócalo Central. It is a true honor to know that, thanks to our great location, accommodations, attentive service and restautrant Balcón del Zócalo, you enjoyed a wonderful stay in Mexico City. As you may have noticed, we take care of every detail to turn your stay into something unforgettable.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back again in your next trip.
Best regards,
Vladimir Mayllen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2020

The hotel is superbly located right on the main square - Zocalo - of vibrant Mexico City and the Cathedral.
The hotel top floor restaurant, open for breakfast, has an incredible view on the volcanos surrounding the city. Unfortunately hotel guests do not have any priority at other times like evenings.
Room was incredibly small with hardly any window and incredibly noisy between the building ventilation and the above restaurant.

Room tip: Avoid back rooms and too close to restaurant floor
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fromBucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHoteles, Director General at Zocalo Central, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2020

Dear fromBucharest.
Thank you for submitting your feedback. We are pleased to know that our location, restaurant Balcón del Zócalo and incredible view, were to your liking. Nevertheless, we apologize for the inconveniences that you had with our service. Your feedback is of utmost importance for us. Rest assured that we will take your comments into consideration to make your future visits more enjoyable.
Our hotel is in a 3-Century-old building, this feature gives its architectural charm, but also entails certain details regarding the size and view of some of our rooms. However, we have different accommodation options to guarantee your rest. You can ask for them to our reservations department.
Would you be so kind to share with us more about your experience at info@centralhoteles.com?
We hope to serve you soon.
Best regards,
Vladimir Mayllen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2020

I spent four very enjoyable nights at the Zocalo Central. It is extremely well located right off the Zocalo close to many restaurants and activities. Several local bus tours are available right across the street as are day trips to Taxco and other nearby cities. A pedestrian walkway a block away leads to the Latinamerican Tower and Alameda area. I had a single room and although it was a bit small I found it very cozy. The air conditioner worked well and the room was clean, quiet, and comfortable. There was great water pressure in the shower but be careful adjusting the temp as it starts with hot, the reverse of most plumbing, and you could be burned adjusting the temp while in the shower stall. Since the door to the shower opens inward it is hard to adjust the water temp without getting water all over the floor. There was a nice lounge right outside my door, great for reading and catching up with Netflix and Amazon Prime TV on my iPad using the free internet, which worked well. The included buffet breakfast was excellent and was in a room on the 6th floor with an amazing view overlooking the Zocalo. I had a very good dinner with my your group in the hotel restaurant, also in a room with a view. There is a small cafe with free sandwiches, chips, and non-alcoholic drinks right off the lobby, and alcoholic beverages are available for purchase. The staff was very friendly and accommodating and provided excellent service. This was a truly wonderful hotel and I recommend it highly.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCH47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHoteles, Director General at Zocalo Central, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2020

Dear DCH47.
Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your detailed review. It is a true honor to know that, thanks to our great location, attentive staff, Tours by Central, accommodations, wi-fi, breakfast, Balcón del Zócalo, amazing view and amenities such as Café Central and cold bottled waters on every floor, you enjoyed a wonderful stay in Mexico City. We will take your comments about the temp in the shower into consideration. Our main objective is to offer memorable experiences.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back again in your next trip.
Best regards,
Vladimir Mayllen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews