We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent affordable choice for exploring historic downtown”
Review of Zocalo Central

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Zocalo Central
Ranked #14 of 313 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2010

Located on the northwest corner of the Zocalo (Monte de Piedad and 5 de Mayo streets), this hotel is a historic monument, with its interior completely improved. Its foundations were part of the palace of Moctezuma, and later of the residence of Hernan Cortez. The views from our corner room were wonderful. With very refined Mexican furniture and decoration, walk-in closet, vanity, toilet room, and shower room, big plasma TV, living room, AC controls on the wall with registers near the ceiling, wooden floors and ceiling with big vigas, the room was very comfortable and beautiful. Just be aware that, like the great majority of toilets anywhere in Mexico, you cannot throw toilet paper inside the toilet, because you will block it. This happened to my 7-year-old daughter, and the toilet room was flooded in no time. The hotel's staff attended our cry for help immediately, and they fixed up the toilet and cleaned the whole mess right away and with good attitude. The price of the room included a wonderful breakfast buffet, with fresh tropical fruit and juices, eggs made per your request, cereals, etc. The restaurant is located on the covered roof of the hotel, so you can enjoy the wonderful views and weather. The hallways are beautifully decorated with Mexican talavera ceramics and historic pictures and artifacts. We never made it to the exercise room. There is no pool. We felt very safe walking late at night in the Zocalo, because there is plenty of activity and policemen continuously patrolling by foot and car. There is a 24-hour 7-Eleven on the first floor of the hotel, facing the Zocalo. We had no problem with noise. If you think you may be sensitive to the noises of a big city, bring your earplugs and you'll be OK.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria-Tucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,541)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

783 - 789 of 1,541 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2010

The location was fantastic, just 2 mins walk from the Metropolitan Cathedral and Zocalo square. Other benefits included free internet access in the lobby, helpful staff who spoke English and were happy to set-up tours and give advise.
The hotel has a restaurant on the 6th floor which I ate the breakfast buffet which was nice but limited on selection. It costs 120 MXN - 150 MXN depending on weekend or midweek. The roof terrace from the restaurant gives a great view of the Zocalo square.
The room was small but new and clean so as a base for site seeing it was perfect. And the location can't be beaten. By the way even though being so central, noise was not a problem as the rooms seemed quite well sound proofed. For the price I would highy recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnP72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2010

Just around Zocalo. Excellent location. Nice bedroom and hotel. Staff is friendrly especially if you speak spanish with them. Breakfast on terrace on the roof is really great. We arrived one day later and they even didn't ask us to pay for the night we didn't spend. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stefparis11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2010

Great location in the centre of mexico city for sight seeing. Rooms are tiny, beds are tiny too but overall decent value for money.
The restaurants nearby are dinghy, didnt feel like going in, bad location for vegetarians.
The hotel has a restaurant but its rather average.
A better idea is to stay in one of the better locations (zona rosa, condesa etc) and take a metro to Zocalo for sight seeing and it would take only 10-15 mins to travel there.
If food or room size is not your concern, I'd recommend this place.

NOTE: The tours booked by this hotel are with a tour company that I wouldnt recommend. Try to book your own tours if possible, better yet, take a bus or metro on your own. We took a tour to Teotihucan through this hotel and did not like it at all (no fault of the hotel though). I think the company was called 'Estour' The tour was too expensive compared to other tour companies and the guide made us spend more time at the obsidian shop than at the pyramids!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globetrotsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2009

Let's be honnest, I have been living in Mexico ... I love the country and travel very often to this country to visit my friends.

Everytime I have to stay in Mexico City, I go to this hotel: it is centrally located, it's not too big, it's afordable and last but not least.... it has a magnificiant terrace over looking the Zocalo ... the best place in town to have breakfast !!!!

Staff is ok ... nothing exceptional .. as usual in Mexico a lot of people ... some will be helpfull... some will do the minimum ... I don't blame them considereing their salary !
I work for hotels so my expectations are very high. I think that the restaurant staff is always nicer than the reception as they receive 10-15% of the bill in tips.

The rooms are fine, had a small refurbishement (LCD TVs). COmplimentary Internet in all the hotel (wifi: GREAT !)

The lobby has also been refurbished lately, quite nice, but nothing ipressive.

The only issue that I had with this hotel is that the access might not be easy some days when the Zocalo is closed... I even had a taxi who refused to go there as the traffic was getting crazy and as he did not know which road to take to arrive to the hotel ... not a good experience but not the hotel's fault !!! Just use the right taxi company at the airport ! (never use "Nueva Imagen" ).

What elese can I say... once again the breakfast is fantastic !!!!!

Definitely will continue to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ameweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2009

rooms are not large but the place immaculate, the beds are nice, bathroom nice, water pressur good, the place is clean clean clean, prompt service, very helpful staff, good breakfast, great view from terrace of the palace and the military service at around 8 am, i would stay here again, price was perfect and would recommend to everybody on a budget

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrooklynJarhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2009

Very good, clean, loved the breakfast overlooking the church. Very close to out part of the city.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
1  Thank paulofrann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#2 of 313 in Mexico City
2,977 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#3 of 313 in Mexico City
932 reviews
Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
#36 of 313 in Mexico City
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Juárez
Emporio Reforma
Emporio Reforma
#26 of 313 in Mexico City
1,010 reviews
Centro Historico
Hotel Catedral
Hotel Catedral
#16 of 313 in Mexico City
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zocalo Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zocalo Central

Address: Avenida Cinco De Mayo 61, Mexico City 06000, Mexico (Formerly Holiday Inn Mexico Zocalo)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#13 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#32 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: $109 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Zocalo Central 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a peaceful oasis in the heart of Mexico City's celebrated Plaza de la Constitucion (or the Zocalo, as it's often called).Zocalo Central Hotel expertly blends traditional splendor with modern comfort and unforgettable city vistas, creating a hotel experience that will delight and inspire both business and leisure travelers. Housed within a charming1890's-era building, our hotel offers 105 lovingly refurbished rooms and suites, some of which provide wonderful views of the plaza. Allow our caring hotel staff to pamper you with a range of fabulous services, and take advantage of excellent amenities. Of course, no visit to our hotel is complete without a trip to ourroof top restaurant, Restaurante Balcon del Zocalo. Our elegant restaurant terrace overlooks the world-famous Zocalo; it's a popular spot for both hotel visitors and city residents. Last but not least, our central location in the heart of MexicoCity's most important square makes it easy for you to discover all of the wonderful attractions that the city has to offer. Our hotel is eight miles to the Mexico City International Airport, and we're within walking distance of many shops and restaurants such as The "Casa Churra". Our hotel Concierge is available any time, day or night, to answer your questions or to provide suggestions for things to do and see. Treat yourself to a hotel stay that you won't soon forget, in a city that will capture your imagination. We look forward to welcoming you to Zocalo Central Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Zocalo Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Mexico City Zocalo Hotel Mexico City
Mexico City Holiday Inn
Zocalo Central Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing