We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zocalo Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Zocalo Central to your Saves list
Zocalo Central
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Cinco De Mayo 61, Mexico City 06000, Mexico (Formerly Holiday Inn Mexico Zocalo) (Centro Historico)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 305 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Super!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel in a double room, as usual with Holiday inn's; the bed was awesome.
Location? Amazing, right in front the cathedral and the enormous México city zócalo (main square)
Great service.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Cafebambu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zócalo Central ... H, General Manager at Zocalo Central, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for being our guest and taking the time to write this review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and had a great time in Mexico City and truly appreciate your positive feedback. Let us take this chance to inform you, that the management of the hotel has changed recently and we will soon be the new Zócalo Central Hotel with improvements in the quality and service we offer to our guests. We are looking forward to welcoming you to the hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    406
    95
    37
    13
See reviews for
200
368
121
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I am very picky about hotels but this one was a winner.

The service here was very good, with the hospitality starting via email before we even got there. The rooms were small but very clean and quiet - important to us after travelling from Australia. Location fantastic - rooftop restaurant had a great view. There was ample food, of a reasonable standard, on offer for our included breakfast.

My only major complaint was the free internet and computers in the lobby. Some did not work and no staff seemed very concerned about helping out.

I felt very safe here and would certainly recommend it to other travellers.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissKrislovesLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zócalo Central ... H, General Manager at Zocalo Central, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and writing this review about your stay, Kris! It is great to know that after travelling such long way, you had a lovely time and felt comfortable here. I have personally reviewed the Internet service and carried out the necessary changes to improve its functionality. I have also trained (and continue to do so) our staff in order to avoid further situations like the one you faced. We would like to take this chance to inform you, that the management of the hotel has changed recently and the hotel will soon be the new Zócalo Central Hotel with some important improvements in the quality and service we offer to our guests. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you to Mexico City again in the future.
Vladimir Mayllen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The location is wonderful. I love the Zocalo and this hotel is steps away. Lots of restaurant and public transportation nearby.

I was disappointed that my Platinum Rewards status was not acknowledged AT ALL when I checked in. This was the first hotel that I've been to where my status was not acknowledged in any way. I have stayed at IHG hotels in Europe, Africa, Latin America and the US.

I was given a very small room. I kept requesting a better room and finally was moved to a more spacious room on my second night.

I became very ill and met one of the managers. I think he is either the guest manager or general manager. He is Mexican but he has a Russian first name (Vladimir, maybe?). I am so sorry to have forgotten his name. Anyway, I mention him because he was absolutely outstanding. He exhibited top-notch customer service. I was very impressed. He is an asset to the IHG brand.

Rooms are okay. Rooftop restaurant is cool. The food is okay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zócalo Central ... H, Social Media Manager at Zocalo Central, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review about your stay with us. We are very glad to hear that your overall experience has been a good one and you were satisfied especially with our personalized service and the rooftop restaurant we have in our hotel. There must have been a misunderstanding regarding your Platinum Status and we will be sure to follow-up on this issue. It would be a great pleasure for our team to welcome you to Mexico City again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Stayed here over a 4 day weekend last month. I've always enjoyed the scene around the Zocalo, which was my main reason for choosing this hotel. I had a spotless and well-appointed suite with a comfortable King-sized bed and enormous bathroom (Roman tub included), and very reliable WiFi. The staff was very helpful and responsive. Enjoyed watching the daily flag ceremony from the roof-top terrace. Just steps from many restaurants, cultural sites and the Metro.

Room Tip: Great views from rooms on the Zocalo side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianROakland_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hizocalomex, Guest Relations Manager at Zocalo Central, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you very much for your nice comment, we feel proud of your stay with us has been fulfilled, expectations and the attention that received on behalf of our collaborators has been of your total pleasure. We can assure you that in Holiday inn Zocalo we are compromised in offering to each of our guests personalized attention and unique experiences for each of our collaborators will have always to provide the best attention.

We would be happy to see you on your next visit to Mexico City.

Vania Cabal
Social Media Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I didn't expect this of the Holiday Inn.... the room was very small and bathroom incredibly small, thankfully we are tiny people not too sure how the obese people would get on here.
The location is great, and the rooftop restaurant overlooking the Square amazing and we did eat there each night. The breakfast was average compared to other Holiday Inns, but the staff were friendly enough.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anzactravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hizocalomex, Guest Relations Manager at Zocalo Central, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you very much for you review, it is very important to us know the experience of our guests, because we can to identify opportunities of improvement. , we really sorry about the issue you had during your stay. Is very important to us that our clients feel satisfied, we hope you can give us a second chance to show or quality service.
Best Regards
Vania Cabal
Social Media Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This hotel was decent... not what I expected from a Holiday Inn (in a negative way). It was still clean and the rooftop restaurant is its claim to fame (DEFINITELY check it out) but the rooms were very small. As for the beds, my dad and I each slept on a Twin mattress, which were about half the size of a normal twin. Very short, very narrow, and VERY firm. I can honestly say it was the worst sleep I think I've ever had in my life.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hizocalomex, General Manager at Zocalo Central, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you very much for you review, it is very important to us know the experience of our guests, because we can to identify opportunities of improvement. , we really sorry about the issue you had during your stay. is very important to us that our clients feel satisfied, we hope you can give us a second chance to show or quality service.
Best Regards

Julian Cotera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chihuahua, Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I spend a wonderful weekend a this hotel it have nice bed, no nose, great hot tube, the restaurant on the 6th floor is really great and they view is fantastic beside the location is awesome you can go to many places just waking or go the "metro" and move almost everywhere in just minutes.

Room Tip: the best room have view to the Zocalo
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alberto P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hizocalomex, Guest Relations Manager at Zocalo Central, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you very much for you review, it is very important to us know the experience of our guests, because we can to identify opportunities of improvement. The hotel is in a privileged location that allows our guests to cross the streets and to admire the beauty of our historical center; in addition from our terrace of the restaurant at the 6th floor is possible to admire a wonderful view of the zocalo.
We would be happy to see you on your next visit to Mexico City.

Best Regards
Vania Cabal
Social Media Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#5 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 312 reviews
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#2 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,953 reviews
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Plaza Revolucion
#25 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 stars 442 reviews
Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
#27 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 stars 711 reviews
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
#17 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zocalo Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zocalo Central

Property: Zocalo Central
Address: Avenida Cinco De Mayo 61, Mexico City 06000, Mexico (Formerly Holiday Inn Mexico Zocalo)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#15 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#34 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Zocalo Central 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a peaceful oasis in the heart of Mexico City's celebrated Plaza de la Constitucion (or the Zocalo, as it's often called).Zocalo Central Hotel expertly blends traditional splendor with modern comfort and unforgettable city vistas, creating a hotel experience that will delight and inspire both business and leisure travelers. Housed within a charming1890's-era building, our hotel offers 105 lovingly refurbished rooms and suites, some of which provide wonderful views of the plaza. Allow our caring hotel staff to pamper you with a range of fabulous services, and take advantage of excellent amenities. Of course, no visit to our hotel is complete without a trip to ourroof top restaurant, Restaurante Balcon del Zocalo. Our elegant restaurant terrace overlooks the world-famous Zocalo; it's a popular spot for both hotel visitors and city residents. Last but not least, our central location in the heart of MexicoCity's most important square makes it easy for you to discover all of the wonderful attractions that the city has to offer. Our hotel is eight miles to the Mexico City International Airport, and we're within walking distance of many shops and restaurants such as The "Casa Churra". Our hotel Concierge is available any time, day or night, to answer your questions or to provide suggestions for things to do and see. Treat yourself to a hotel stay that you won't soon forget, in a city that will capture your imagination. We look forward to welcoming you to Zocalo Central Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Otel, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Zocalo Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Mexico City Zocalo Hotel Mexico City
Mexico City Holiday Inn
Zocalo Central Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing