We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice Value in the Historic District” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zocalo Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Zocalo Central
Ranked #11 of 307 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Batavia, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Value in the Historic District”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

The Holiday Inn-Zocalo was a very nice experience for me in March, 2013. This hotel thought about the little things. Some examples include...1.) the "desk chair" was more like a tall ottoman but very functional as both and nice looking; 2.) the air conditioning worked!!; 3.) the Internet was adequate enough that I could make voice calls on Skype; 4.) very stylishly designed and in very good repair.

Around the restaurant are many things to see including The Cathedral which was a stone's throw away. Many eating place in easy walking distance includine coffee places.

I am returning to this hotel by choice in 2 weeks because of the great value and the relaxing stay it gives me.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CSVerdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    440
    96
    40
    13
See reviews for
218
426
132
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

This hotel is located just half a block from Mexico's Centro Historico Zocalo. The hotel is clean and it combines a modern style in the lobby with a traditional decor in the bedrooms. The staff goes out of their way to help guests although that is something you find in most touristic destinations in Mexico. You get free wi-fi throughout the hotel and in the bedrooms and it is surprisingly fast enough, considering wifi at most HIExpress Hotels leaves a little to be desired. The lobby has a "business center" consisting of about five pc's connected to a very basic printer. The PC's are slow and freeze constantly, making it imposible to rely on them for business. The rooms are very small but hey you're not going to Mexico City to stay in your room so if you can make do with the limited space, you'll be fine.

My key was also an issue as it got deactivated about 4 times on a 4 day stay!!! The receptionist apologized, fixed it but the key would stop working after a few hours. The cleaning staff missed my room the last day I was there, undid the bed, left everything on the floor, opened the windows of the room on an 85 weather day and believed I was gone, despite that my belongings were still in the room.

However, if you can overlook the operational failures of this hotel, you will be very satisfied at being right in the center of the Mexican Capital. The Turibus (Hop-On and Off bus) stops just one block from the hotel. Also, the subway station Zocalo is just a block away. It is noisy during the day as you can hear the "shamanes" at the Zocalo square dancing to perform soul cleansing rites. But during the night, this hotel is very peaceful. There is so much vigilance from Mexico's police around the Zocalo area that I felt perfectly safe walking alone either during the day or at night. There are several places to eat around the hotel including street taco stands and restaurants. I would recommend Sanborn's which is a Mexican diner located just three blocks from the hotel towards the Museo de las Bellas Artes. For breakfast, walk 2 blocks to Avenida Madero and eat at VIP's which is another Mexican diner known for their breakfast options. Their food is good and most importantly, clean.

The hotel has a terrace restaurant whose food is ok. The plus of this restaurant is its terrace as it has a perfect view of the entire zocalo square. Don't miss every morning at 8 am the raising of the flag and then at 6 pm the lowering of the flag by the Mexican Army at the Zocalo square. As you probably know by now the Palacio Nacional which is the Executive office of the president of Mexico is next to El Zocalo. Every day at the times described above, the army will perform a very pompous ceremony to raise and lower the flag involving about 200 soldiers. Tourists and Mexicans alike stand around the flagstaff to watch the ceremony take place. Moreover, you as a guest at the Holiday Inn Zocalo can watch the entire ceremony from the restaurant balcony.

This is a nice and clean hotel that is perfectly located. They have to work on some operational issues that definitely would not detract me from returning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grahame7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a few nights.

Top marks for location, the rooftop restaurant overlooks the Zocola. The zocola is a hive of activity, sounds and colour.

WiFi is free, but, the reliability and speed was poor.

Buffet breakfast is served on the rooftop restaurant where it has an indoor and a beautiful outdoor area overlooking the Zocola. Breakfasts were a disappointment. Quality of food does not match the star of this hotel. Food service was inconsistent. Guests were made to queue 30mins or more while there were empty tables outside as well as available space inside to move tables inside.

Room was small but clean and comfortable. Nothing really to praise or negatively comment on.

Staff were OK. No outstanding service or major concerns to comment on.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mahiwahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Zocalo Central, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear mahiwahoo,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate that you find our location to be convenient.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding service, food selection and internet access. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
109 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Mexico City is a huge place of many facets. One of those is the political center of the city; the Zocalo, cathedral, the atmosphere of late 19th century. To experience all of this the Holiday Inn Zocalo is a great place to stay. From the rooftop terrace restaurant you can see not only the views of one the largest city squares in the world, but we were lucky to have good weather and enjoy the amazing experience of the sunrise over the volcanoes; unforgettable!

The hotel itself is housed in a beautiful old building. The rooms are a bit small but nicely appointed and comfortable. Note- You will only get a front facing view if you stay in a suite. Still the terrace bar at night and early morning was a wonderful option. Staff is really nice and professional. They arranged our private transportation to and from the airport; safe, punctual, courteous and reasonable priced. Everything is clean and well maintained.

The only negative is that although the restaurant opens for breakfast at 07:00, they don't open the terrace until later. We had to enjoy the sunset without breakfast as we had a plane to catch.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Connector_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millbrook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed 3 nights on the start of our organised tour of Mexico. Brilliant view of the Zocalo and the Cathederal. Restaurant has fantastic views of the city and beyond. Rooms adequate for our needs. Staff very helpful, restaurant menu was very good and varied. Plenty to see and do in the area. Restaurants around the hotel plentiful and varied. Also reasonably priced. Our room was on the street side, was a bit noisy though.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
215 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is on the corner and the restaurant /bar overlooks the square. Breakfast buffet - good, other moaned about coffee but never drank it myself. Nice rooms, clean hotel, good supply of toiletries. For convenient location it's perfect.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gail1842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
79 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We spent one night here before Cuba. The room was very small and so was the double bed. Other than that very very central clean and welcoming. The staff at the desk were helpful and there are ATMs in the foyer coffee machine in the room was welcoming first thing in the morning. Doubt I would stay more than two nights due to the size of the room. Don't get a room facing the street as you will be up all night with traffic of cars and people.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbieperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Zocalo Central, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Debbieperth,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. I was delighted to read your review and your very kind comments regarding the staff and I am happy that you found our hotel to be clean and welcoming.

However, I am sorry to hear that you didn't find your room to your liking. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the dissatisfaction this has caused you. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable accommodations.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future and make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#4 of 307 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#2 of 307 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,206 reviews
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
#19 of 307 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Alameda
Fiesta Inn Centro Historico
Fiesta Inn Centro Historico
#20 of 307 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
#33 of 307 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zocalo Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zocalo Central

Property: Zocalo Central
Address: Avenida Cinco De Mayo 61, Mexico City 06000, Mexico (Formerly Holiday Inn Mexico Zocalo)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#15 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#33 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Zocalo Central 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a peaceful oasis in the heart of Mexico City's celebrated Plaza de la Constitucion (or the Zocalo, as it's often called).Zocalo Central Hotel expertly blends traditional splendor with modern comfort and unforgettable city vistas, creating a hotel experience that will delight and inspire both business and leisure travelers. Housed within a charming1890's-era building, our hotel offers 105 lovingly refurbished rooms and suites, some of which provide wonderful views of the plaza. Allow our caring hotel staff to pamper you with a range of fabulous services, and take advantage of excellent amenities. Of course, no visit to our hotel is complete without a trip to ourroof top restaurant, Restaurante Balcon del Zocalo. Our elegant restaurant terrace overlooks the world-famous Zocalo; it's a popular spot for both hotel visitors and city residents. Last but not least, our central location in the heart of MexicoCity's most important square makes it easy for you to discover all of the wonderful attractions that the city has to offer. Our hotel is eight miles to the Mexico City International Airport, and we're within walking distance of many shops and restaurants such as The "Casa Churra". Our hotel Concierge is available any time, day or night, to answer your questions or to provide suggestions for things to do and see. Treat yourself to a hotel stay that you won't soon forget, in a city that will capture your imagination. We look forward to welcoming you to Zocalo Central Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Zocalo Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Mexico City Zocalo Hotel Mexico City
Mexico City Holiday Inn
Zocalo Central Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing