We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Location location location is not enough” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Zocalo Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Zocalo Central
Ranked #14 of 304 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Location location location is not enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a few nights.

Top marks for location, the rooftop restaurant overlooks the Zocola. The zocola is a hive of activity, sounds and colour.

WiFi is free, but, the reliability and speed was poor.

Buffet breakfast is served on the rooftop restaurant where it has an indoor and a beautiful outdoor area overlooking the Zocola. Breakfasts were a disappointment. Quality of food does not match the star of this hotel. Food service was inconsistent. Guests were made to queue 30mins or more while there were empty tables outside as well as available space inside to move tables inside.

Room was small but clean and comfortable. Nothing really to praise or negatively comment on.

Staff were OK. No outstanding service or major concerns to comment on.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mahiwahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Zocalo Central, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear mahiwahoo,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate that you find our location to be convenient.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding service, food selection and internet access. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    425
    95
    37
    13
See reviews for
207
399
127
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Mexico City is a huge place of many facets. One of those is the political center of the city; the Zocalo, cathedral, the atmosphere of late 19th century. To experience all of this the Holiday Inn Zocalo is a great place to stay. From the rooftop terrace restaurant you can see not only the views of one the largest city squares in the world, but we were lucky to have good weather and enjoy the amazing experience of the sunrise over the volcanoes; unforgettable!

The hotel itself is housed in a beautiful old building. The rooms are a bit small but nicely appointed and comfortable. Note- You will only get a front facing view if you stay in a suite. Still the terrace bar at night and early morning was a wonderful option. Staff is really nice and professional. They arranged our private transportation to and from the airport; safe, punctual, courteous and reasonable priced. Everything is clean and well maintained.

The only negative is that although the restaurant opens for breakfast at 07:00, they don't open the terrace until later. We had to enjoy the sunset without breakfast as we had a plane to catch.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Connector_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millbrook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed 3 nights on the start of our organised tour of Mexico. Brilliant view of the Zocalo and the Cathederal. Restaurant has fantastic views of the city and beyond. Rooms adequate for our needs. Staff very helpful, restaurant menu was very good and varied. Plenty to see and do in the area. Restaurants around the hotel plentiful and varied. Also reasonably priced. Our room was on the street side, was a bit noisy though.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
210 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is on the corner and the restaurant /bar overlooks the square. Breakfast buffet - good, other moaned about coffee but never drank it myself. Nice rooms, clean hotel, good supply of toiletries. For convenient location it's perfect.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gail1842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
80 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We spent one night here before Cuba. The room was very small and so was the double bed. Other than that very very central clean and welcoming. The staff at the desk were helpful and there are ATMs in the foyer coffee machine in the room was welcoming first thing in the morning. Doubt I would stay more than two nights due to the size of the room. Don't get a room facing the street as you will be up all night with traffic of cars and people.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbieperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Zocalo Central, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Debbieperth,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. I was delighted to read your review and your very kind comments regarding the staff and I am happy that you found our hotel to be clean and welcoming.

However, I am sorry to hear that you didn't find your room to your liking. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the dissatisfaction this has caused you. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable accommodations.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future and make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
244 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I had a brief stay in the Zocalo HI and I was really happy with it.
Pros:
Outstanding location alongside the world's 3rd largest public square
Friendly service
Free Wi-Fi
Free computers with printer in the lobby
Reasonably priced snack bar in the lobby
Comfortable Beds

I really don't have a con other that it takes a little long to get to the hotel from the airport during rush hours.

Some other notes: The taxi to the airport is M$195 and the return is M$165. Both were reliable and fine. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TechMarauder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

If it weren't for the incredible view from their restaurant balcony, we would have left after we checked-in and walked into our room. The rooms are the smallest I've been in for years, and the beds being the worst part of that. They are smaller than a double bed, and the mattress was horrible.
We had a lot of luggage, as have been traveling for a month now, and there was no where to put it... Our stuff was everywhere!!

The service staff were relatively friendly, but dissappinting that they didn't offer any suggestions for activities or sightseeing.
Instead we went to the Best Western around the corner and booked our day tours there as they have a tour desk on site.

As mentioned the view from the terrace if this hotel is amazing! It makes it worth putting up with the bed. As we know no Spanish, we are most of our meals there for 3 days, and the food was great... Reasonable prices too,

You won't help yourself from spending most of the time there hanging over the balcony and looking over the Zocalo.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lithogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#5 of 304 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 387 reviews
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#2 of 304 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
#17 of 304 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 607 reviews
Alameda
Fiesta Inn Centro Historico
Fiesta Inn Centro Historico
#20 of 304 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 stars 480 reviews
Hotel Plaza Revolucion
#26 of 304 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 stars 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zocalo Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zocalo Central

Property: Zocalo Central
Address: Avenida Cinco De Mayo 61, Mexico City 06000, Mexico (Formerly Holiday Inn Mexico Zocalo)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#15 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#32 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Zocalo Central 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a peaceful oasis in the heart of Mexico City's celebrated Plaza de la Constitucion (or the Zocalo, as it's often called).Zocalo Central Hotel expertly blends traditional splendor with modern comfort and unforgettable city vistas, creating a hotel experience that will delight and inspire both business and leisure travelers. Housed within a charming1890's-era building, our hotel offers 105 lovingly refurbished rooms and suites, some of which provide wonderful views of the plaza. Allow our caring hotel staff to pamper you with a range of fabulous services, and take advantage of excellent amenities. Of course, no visit to our hotel is complete without a trip to ourroof top restaurant, Restaurante Balcon del Zocalo. Our elegant restaurant terrace overlooks the world-famous Zocalo; it's a popular spot for both hotel visitors and city residents. Last but not least, our central location in the heart of MexicoCity's most important square makes it easy for you to discover all of the wonderful attractions that the city has to offer. Our hotel is eight miles to the Mexico City International Airport, and we're within walking distance of many shops and restaurants such as The "Casa Churra". Our hotel Concierge is available any time, day or night, to answer your questions or to provide suggestions for things to do and see. Treat yourself to a hotel stay that you won't soon forget, in a city that will capture your imagination. We look forward to welcoming you to Zocalo Central Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Zocalo Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Mexico City Zocalo Hotel Mexico City
Mexico City Holiday Inn
Zocalo Central Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing