We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's Free” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parque Zoologico de Chapultepec

Parque Zoologico de Chapultepec
Book In Advance
More Info
$48.00*
and up
Mexico City Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #59 of 482 things to do in Mexico City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The site of a former Aztec zoo, its present incarnation, open since the 1920s, is best known for its Russian pandas.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“It's Free”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

We went to see the Pandas, they were great, then again so were all the rest of the animals. Be prepared to leave your bag at the front entrance but only being allowed to leave by the exit which is quite a stomp away

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank figsteruk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    162
    104
    42
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Fl
Level Contributor
165 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Leave Food. Bring Change.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

The zoo is Free to Enter. They will not allow outside food and yes you will need change to use the bathrooms here. For an American that is quite a surprise but willing to oblige since it was only 4 pesos. The zoo is so precious to visit on a Sunday. Which here in Mexico is a Family Day so many are here enjoying the park together. Couples are not shy here openly affectionate and young ones often making out on benches. But its all good here. Bring closed toe comfy shoes because some areas are muddy. Spend a few pesos and take a paddleboat out on the lake. Its a fun way to spend an hour. They have row boats, paddleboats for 2 or 4 people. The Butterfly exhibit is a separate fee and we did not have a chance to do that but would have liked to. The zoo has a food court with everything from McDonalds, Chinese, Mexican and Dominos Pizza. Look for seats on the covered upstairs area if the bottom is full. We enjoyed the animals and its best to go in the morning when they are most active and the heat is not an issue.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank TravLin93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
430 reviews
208 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Excellent..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

This zoo is great as there is no entry fee! Some exhibits have to be paid for, but lots to see for free. Nice to just stroll around too. Definitely recommended as we had a great time!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Coconuts_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Animals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Being a native of and having grown up in Mexico City, I have wonderful memories of the park and zoo. The variety of animals and exhibits is excellent. I only wish that they would at least charge 1 peso or something to keep the exhibits in better condition. We were highly impressed by the Osopatoperogato, but not as much as we were by the prairie dogs.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Animals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

The zoo was amazing, especially for the price (FREE!). It was very large and had a lot of animals to find and see (only missing the elephant on my trip as it was apparently loaned to a different zoo). You are not able to enter the zoo with any FOOD of any kind (water is ok). So you can either throw it away or place your bag/purse/backpack in a locker for 8 pesos at the Entrance. My only complaint, although it is a big one, is the location of the Exit. This is very important information if you plan to visit the zoo. Once you enter, they split the zoo into 3 parts/directions - Right, Straight, Left. Apparently you need to do it in that order, because if you try go Left before you are done, you will end up leaving the Zoo (their one and only exit). Of course there is no problem re-entering as it's free, but it's a bit of a walk to get back around to the entrance. But the reason this really annoyed me was the fact that we had our packages left in the lockers at the Entrance, so we were forced to walk all the way back around (of course our second time since we went Left too early) just to grab my purse. But other than this inconvenience, the Zoo was really a great experience with a lot of animals!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank StephanieV_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parque Zoologico de Chapultepec also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Parque Zoologico de Chapultepec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing