We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique museum” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Museo Soumaya

Museo Soumaya
Book In Advance
More Info
$280.00*
and up
Contemporary Architecture Tour in Mexico City Including Soumaya Museum
Ranked #19 of 482 things to do in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum explores the role of art and culture in human life and includes art by such luminaries as the French sculptor Rodin.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Unique museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

This silver blob of a museum is probably one of the most architecturally interesting buildings I've been in. Very deceiving from the outside, the inside is a virtual spiral over 6 floors, each one with an eclectic collection from indigenous art to Rodin. Beautifully laid out and a wonderful venue for receptions. Open 7 days a week and free to the public.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank BeccaT2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,465
    579
    207
    47
    31
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
640 reviews
204 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Amazing building”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

The building is worth the detour for itself, so no risk to be disappointed. Then everybody should find something interesting in the exhibitions. As far as I am concerned I found them more and more interesting as I reached the higher levels. Unless you're fond of rows of bills and coins you can safely skip the first one ... then it becomes better and better until you reach the spectacular sculpture garden on the top floor.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JMGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
94 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Totally Enjoed the Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

The building itself is a total delight! We started at the top and worked our way down. The most heralded attractions are the collections of Dali, Rodin and pre-Columbian pieces but I personally enjoyed the Mexican pieces the most. I particularly loved the mosaic by Diego Rivera which is from the Suarez home and which is located on the ground floor near the shop.

The museum is free and is sited in a lovely location near several shopping centres, the aquarium and the Jumex museum. There are also two living walls which are beautiful and a VIP cinema which was also a great experience.

It is an area in which you can enjoy a full day.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sabre44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Well Worth A Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

First off, the building itself is of a fabulous design. We've never seen a bulding exterior anything close to this. It is sensual and shimmering and sits on a small hillock so you are forced to look up at it. The inside is also sensual with rounded walls of bright white. There are 6 floors of exhibits and they advise that you go to the top first and wind your way down through the lower floors. There is a modicum of similarity to the NY Guggenheim in the interior. Carlos Slim's sculpture collection is the basis of the 6th floor and highlights the pieces of Rodin and Dali. Other floors feature pre-Colombian artifacts, Mexican & European landscape paintings, an Asian exhibit floor, and a smattering of other kinds of art pieces. Now I've read here of some reviewers grumbling that the place is "jumbled" and "disorganized" compared with traditional museum display practices. While I can see how someone could arrive at that opinion, both of us thought that these are very constrained opinions. The "free form" yet unified displaying was actually fun for us and sparked a desire to examine the art in our own way, not the curator's. Anyway the collections and the building itself should please just about any serious museum goer. It definitely is a new highlight of a trip to Mexico City.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Burney A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Free 365 days a year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

This museum houses the collection of Carlos Slim. The building itself is a work of art and worth a visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DerrickTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo Soumaya also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Museo Soumaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing