We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location good rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Galeria Plaza Reforma
Ranked #33 of 309 Hotels in Mexico City
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“good location good rooms”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed in a regular room and i was pleasantly surprised. I thought it would have been much worse given the price but it was large, had comfortable beds, nicely air conditioned, spacious bathroom and very clean. The rooms (and hotel) wasn't flash but it was comfortable and fine for a few nights stay.
The service was efficient and good, however i wasn't too keen on the concierge. They constantly pushed us to take tours and it felt too much like a sales job rather than just providing us information. The restaurant in the hotel is quite expensive, much better to eat outside.
The location in Zona Rosa is great, it's on a quiet street but it's very close to restaurants, shops, money exchange etc..the area generally doesn't get moving till around 10am. Despite being close to shops we still didn't venture out too much after dinner cause the area does get dark and quiet and isn't that well lit.
The hotel is pretty much in the middle of two stations - insurgentes and sevilla. I found the walk to Sevilla much more pleasant and the station isn't as seedy.
Laundry in the hotel is pretty expensive, there is a laundromat close by on the corner of Londres and Av Chapultepec - cost about 100pesos for 2kgs of clothes. Drop off and pick up about 2-3hours later.
Overall if you are looking to stay in Zona Rosa and don't want to spend too much then i would recommend Galeria Plaza.

Room Tip: we stayed in the basic standard rooms and found it was still pretty good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piggy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    522
    177
    58
    39
See reviews for
164
282
90
473
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is very well located. In a walking distance to many museums in Chapultepec Park including Museo Nacional de Antropología. Also near very good restaurants in Colonia Roma and Condesa. You get a very well product for the rates that are not expensive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I stayed in the Galeria Plaza during the last week of July 2012 and the experience was beyond expected. The hotel is perfectly located near the Zona Rosa, Angel de la Independencia monument and Parque y Castillo de Chapultepec. The area is very secure and with lot of places to eat or to shop. The hotel itself was excellent, very clean, with a very friendly and helpful staff and it has it's own restaurant where you can have typical mexican food. The room was clean , with the most comfortable beds you can ever imagine, with a lot of space (double) and with a very large bathroom. In my opinion, they were so organized that you did not even see the cleaning staff and when we arrived at the room it was perfectly clean, organized and with even a chocolate in our pillows. That is what I call service, simple details will make costumers to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view to the Angel of Independence Monument
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luisoluiso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
779 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 592 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed in Mexico City for three nights. We wanted to stay in the Zona Rosa and this place had pretty good feedback and we got it for a very good rate.

We booked the Junior Suite, because it did only cost a few bucks a night more than a regular room. But we didn't expect much though.
When we checked in we were told to get to the Executive floor for the check-in. That one is located on the top floor. So we got, because of the Jr. Suite, a special check-in with its own Manager for the Executive floor. Check-In was super-friendly and came with free sparkling wine.
The Junior Suite we got was really great. Spotless clean, spacious and had everything. Desk, table, couch, Minibar, Flatscreen etc.
It's a big and bright room with huge windows (but good curtains, so it stays dark when you want it to). The bed was very comfortable and we slept great these three nights.

The concierge service here was awesome. These guys took really good care of us and were extremely helpful. They booked the next Bus for us (to Acapulco), organized a Bus-Tour to Teotihuacan and got us a driver to the Anthropology Museum and back. Great service, top-class!

If you get a Suite/Jr. Suite on the Ex. Floor there's a special room for your free b'fast. So you don't have to eat it downstairs. There's also a section with tables and couches to relax and have a drink (from the Executive Lounge Bar). Every evening there's a glass of free wine (mexican) offered to Ex. floor residents. Of course you can drink more...but not for free, but prices are fair.

There's a small, but nice pool on the rooftop with nice views. But it was quite chilly when we visited Mexico City, so we didn't jump in.

The Hotel also has a bar and restaurants on the ground floor, but we didn't try them out (we had some fast food at the Circus Burger and Mexican food at the Barro Negro - both close to the Hotel and both good).

There were some little problems though. Both financially. Firstly we got the deposit charged triple. It took us two visits to the front desk to clear that. In the end it wasn't a big deal, but just wasted our time a little.
Then on the last night we had some wine (first glass free) and some food on the Ex. Floor Lounge. In the end we were charged for every glass of wine, even the first was supposed to be free. In the end we didn't have to pay for the wine, but still...shouldn't happen.

Overall of course this Hotel is a great option. Nice rooms, great concierge-service and a great value. Location was, for our needs, fine. There's some small shops close to, in case you need some snacks or booze. The streets here get deserted quite early in the evening, what might be a little uncomforting.

Wanna know more about my trips? Check my profile (where you'll also find my website with more info about my travels).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bandit-One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

It was overall a great experience. Excellent location. For the amount of money, rooms, and length if stay they should offer complimentary wifi. Did not like that we had to pay an additional fee for wifi. Also, DO NOT take taxis from hotel. Walk 2 blocks any direction and taxis will be 50% (at least) cheaper.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlackLotus801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed here for three nights and we had a great time! The room was very clean and modern!
We ate breakfast here once and it was brilliant! it was a great spot we walked and saw alot of amazing areas and markets! We felt safe here even at night!
The staff were really good to us and very helpful!
Also the pool on the roof was a bonus, spent and entire day there enjoying the great views!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DenaHindess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This hotel is very bad. I'm an American, and I was here for business. I'm very easy going, and I have never felt inclined to write a review about a hotel until now. If anything goes wrong, you may as well deal with it. The front desk (including the manager) is unable to fix any problem that occurs.
For example, if you accidentally charge internet to your room and you contact the manager immediately, he is unable to remove the charge. He claims that a 3rd party has control over it.
Here's another example, if your room rate includes breakfast but there was an issue with your reservation. and you end up getting charged for the continental breakfast, the manager is "unable to resolve the issue." Instead, he will tell you that you need to contact the reservations department for this matter. Naturally, this goes nowhere...
This hotel is very good if you don't go anywhere or do anything but sleep in your room. But like most places in Mexico, they will try to take your money and take advantage of you at every chance they get. And even if you are in the right, they "will not have any control over the issue."
...corruption at it's best...
Furthermore, they don't speak English very well - not good for American travelers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wallace T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Reforma / Zona Rosa
NH Collection Mexico City Reforma
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Sheraton Mexico City Maria Isabel Hotel
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa
Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa
#18 of 309 in Mexico City
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
#32 of 309 in Mexico City
918 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Room Mate Valentina
Room Mate Valentina
#46 of 309 in Mexico City
835 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
City Express Plus Reforma El Angel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galeria Plaza Reforma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galeria Plaza Reforma

Property: Galeria Plaza Reforma
Address: Hamburgo 195 | Col. Juarez, Mexico City 06600, Mexico (Formerly Galeria Plaza)
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Reforma / Zona Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#35 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#62 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Galeria Plaza Reforma 4*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galeria Plaza Reforma offers a variety of 433 rooms and suites. For our corporate travelers we provide three Executive Floors with direct access to our exclusive Executive lounge. The hotel's central location in the Reforma Avenue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Galeria Plaza Reforma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galeria Plaza Hotel Mexico City
Galeria Plaza Reforma Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing