We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
JimNYC
New York City, New York

Unhelpful Concierge Service Ruins the Star Rating

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Oct 23, 2019via mobile
I’ve stayed at this hotel many times over the years. The concierge staff here is always unknowledgeable about simple things to do in the immediate neighborhood, such as where is a pharmacy or a grocery store. They just don’t seem interested in being helpful to guests at the concierge station. Today I asked help in doing touristy things in specific DF neighborhoods and I was simply given a detailed list of tours on a piece of paper and no more information than this. The concierge was not interested in assisting me with my questions & he ignored my questions, while he looked blankly into space & away from me. I got the idea, I was not to get any help from him whatsoever, other than this list of tours available to anyone off the street. The concierge here is rude and ill mannered. For the price I’m paying to stay at this hotel, I’ll probably look elsewhere in the future and would not recommend a tourist in need of concierge service to stay here because there are many, many options in Mexico City with a professional staff. Regarding the hotel building and rooms, the hotel can be a little dated and the rooms are not modern Decour. However, the hotel is comfortable, with nice linens, a comfortable bed, where I always get a great nights sleep, and an excellent shower. I always pay extra for the premium level of service here, which can be quite a nice welcome for guests. The premium level includes daily happy hour with hors d’oeuvres, your choice of two locations within the hotel for breakfast and a few other amenities too. There’s always an iron and ironing board in the closet, with a couple of Barceló robes and slippers. There’s a refrigerator and a safety box for your valuables. The electrical outlets are conveniently located at the bed’s nightstand. There’s an excellent gym in this hotel with plenty of workout equipment. The pool area is nice, but in an atrium and not outdoors. You cannot open your windows from these hotel rooms. So, no fresh air. There’s a nice Japanese restaurant in the hotel called Daikoku and also an Italian restaurant called La Fontana. I’ve enjoyed meals at both of these restaurants. The popular upscale chain restaurant throughout Mexico city is also here & it’s called Sonora Grill. I prefer the Sonora Grill in the neighborhood of Condesa. But this one is so convenient that I’ve eaten here many times and I’ve always enjoyed the convenience to my room after a late dinner. The lobby bar area in this hotel often has live music & it’s popular. There’s also a Starbucks in the hotel lobby. Starbucks usually supplies coffee beans from whichever country you are visiting. So, you’re not ripping yourself off from enjoying the local culture, while having a refreshing Starbucks coffee here. Again, this is a very nice hotel and if you’re inviting someone here for a romantic excursion, they would definitely be impressed with this hotel. It’s unfortunate that the concierge service each time at this hotel does not match the other details that are so welcoming at the Barceló Mexico Reforma. There’s even a nice shoeshine stand just inside the hotel lobby entrance and they always do a great job!
Date of stay: October 2019
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PoteroHBMR, Gerente at Barceló México Reforma, responded to this review
Responded Oct 24, 2019
Dear JimH_nyc, Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent holiday experience among us, our main goal being to ensure we keep on delivering unforgettable holiday experiences to our guests, your comments are crucial in this process therefore we highly value your time and constructive critics We will be reviewing your coment with the corrisponding area so we are able to improve and offer a better service. Once more we thank you for sharing your experience with us and look forward to serving you again soon.
Ena Navarro
Quality and Service
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
$152
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $127
  • travelup.com
    $123
  • Expedia.com
    $151
0.8 miles from Barceló México Reforma
Free Wifi
Room service
$239
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $169
  • Expedia.com
    $239
  • Hotels.com
    $239
1.1 miles from Barceló México Reforma
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$71
  • Expedia.com
    $96
  • Skyscanner.com
    $64
  • Priceline
    $97
0.5 miles from Barceló México Reforma
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$93
Fully refundable
  • Hampton
    $93
  • Skyscanner.com
    $74
  • Priceline
    $93
1.1 miles from Barceló México Reforma
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$102
  • Priceline
    $94
  • Vio.com
    $89
  • Expedia.com
    $125
1.3 miles from Barceló México Reforma
Free Wifi
Pool
$151
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
    $146
  • StayForLong
    $141
  • Expedia.com
    $146
2.2 miles from Barceló México Reforma
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$156
  • Expedia.com
    $137
  • Priceline
    $118
  • Algotels
    $126
4.3 miles from Barceló México Reforma
Pool
Restaurant
$47
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $97
  • Vio.com
    $36
  • Priceline
    $47
1.2 miles from Barceló México Reforma
Free Wifi
$63
  • Priceline
    $63
  • Vio.com
    $49
  • Expedia.com
    $63
1.6 miles from Barceló México Reforma
Free Wifi
$399
Fully refundable
  • Sofitel
    $399
  • Algotels
    $316
  • Expedia.com
    $399
1.1 miles from Barceló México Reforma
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Mexico City
Reviews (3,182)
Filter reviews
3,183 results
Traveler rating
1,885
720
257
143
178
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,885
720
257
143
178
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sonora grill premium level barcelo hotel nice hotel room service bellas artes walking distance excellent location breakfast buffet lobby bar stay in mexico city krystal floor reforma uno gym uber
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
289 - 294 of 3,183 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2019

This is the second stay.
Hospitality 5/5
Staff has great hospitality as usual.
Restaurant 4/5:
All the restaurants here are wonderful. (Include Japanese food)
Room 1/5:
Depending on the room you stay, you can hear the voice next door...
Gym 6/5!:
The manager has a complete understanding of what the gym user wants. It is more perfect if we can buy some protein at the 9-floor reception.

Comment:
I will use this hotel again because of the gym was great.
Of course, I know another more high price hotel has some great gym. However, I can easy accept this hotel because this quality at this affordable price.

Date of stay: October 2019
1  Thank yoshi-suzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PoteroHBMR, Gerente at Barcelo Mexico Reforma, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2019

Dear yoshi-suzu, Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Barceló hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations. Again we thank you for this very kind review of our hotel and we look forward to serving you again in the future.
Ena Navarro
Quality and Servicio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2019

I stayed 12 days in October for business because my work build building is directly across the street. The overall experience was Fair (3 stars). The rooms were a good size but the room service was horrible. If I dont leave the lady a message to vacuum she would have not done anything the entire time. Also the process to check in and to pay for breakfast was like 1920. They still check people in with little pieces of papers and if you order coffee get ready to wait 15 mins for it and to drink cold coffee. Hated that!! To pay for breakfast was another line and another mission! Also the Wi Fi service is horrible! It only worked inside the room and everytime I went to log in I HAD to log in everytime and passeords everytime. The elevators take SOO long to arrive, at least 10 minutes and 2 of the elevators were broken during the entire stay. I was very mislead and not impressed at all.

Date of stay: October 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank liset b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PoteroHBMR, Gerente at Barcelo Mexico Reforma, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2019

Dear liset b, We are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the experience in our hotel to the fullest as we strive to make each stay with us an unforgettable one. Discussions involving the respective team members and management have taken place to review your comments, and we would like to assure you that all of your concerns will be addressed and attended to. Again, we genuinely appreciate the time you took out of your day to inform us of the inadequacies you experienced during your stay and we sincerely hope that you will allow us another opportunity to demonstrate our true level of hospitality and interest in serving you properly in the future.
Ena Navarro
Quality and Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2019

overall my stay was Ok ,we liked the area the city .
Overall personnel were good ,friendly and professional
The elevator were so so slow we had to wait long time to catch one.That needs to be improved
Quality of the food can be improved also and more authentic mexican dishes .

Date of stay: October 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank melchormaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PoteroHBMR, Gerente at Barcelo Mexico Reforma, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2019

Dear melchormaya, We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your recent experience in our hotel, at Barceló we always strive to exceed guests' expectations and your comments will help our teams reaching that goal. Once more we thank you for sharing your experience with us and look forward to serving you again soon.
Ena Navarro
Quality and Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2019

We had Wonderful experience at hotel, from restaurants at the property, staff, love the breakfast buffet,the staff was always willing to help and suggest in options for us to do.
4 blacks Away from bellas Artes, 2 blacks away from Revolution Monument, many things to around area. For sure we will come back to Barceló!

Date of stay: October 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank maribel199
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PoteroHBMR, Gerente at Barcelo Mexico Reforma, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2019

Dear maribel199, We thank you for choosing Barceló México Reforma and for shearing your wonderful comments.We pleased that you had a fantastic stay with us. It is wonderful to hear that you appreciated all the facilities of the hotel. Looking forward to welcoming you back at our address very soon!
Ena Navarro
Quality and Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2019

In good location to stroll down to the Historic centre or pick up a taxi from outside if you're not a great walker. Close to shops and amenities. Rooms are large but a little dated. We suffered a number of issues which were all resolved eventually. First room had clearly had a smoker in it. Second room had no working safe. Shower didn't work properly. Room maintenance was slow to respond but otherwise its OK. Nice large open spaces to work in. we has business lounge use which was excellent for working and provided drinks and snacks throughout the day. Breakfast in main dining area was excellent. Several on site restaurants so you have a choice if you dont want to go out. But if you dine in the attached Steak restaurant - the music is VERY loud so not suitable for a business meeting as we found to our cost. The external tables are nice but smoking is allowed as we found in many restaurants in Mexico

Date of stay: July 2019
2  Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PoteroHBMR, Gerente at Barcelo Mexico Reforma, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2019

Dear Caroline B, Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent holiday experience among us, our main goal being to ensure we keep on delivering unforgettable holiday experiences to our guests, your comments are crucial in this process therefore we highly value your time and constructive critics. We will be reviewing the coments you mentioned with the corrisponding areas so we are able to improve and offer a better stay. Once more we thank you for sharing your experience with us and look forward to serving you again soon.
Ena Navarro
Quality and Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews