We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Metropolitan Cathedral (Catedral Metropolitana)
Book In Advance
More Info
$100.00*
and up
The Colors of Mexico Private Walking Tour: Zocalo, National Palace and Art
More Info
$35.00*
and up
Mexico City Half-Day Tour with Museum of Anthropology
More Info
$88.00*
and up
Private Tour of Mexico City, Teotihuacan Pyramids and Lady of Guadalupe...
Ranked #9 of 512 things to do in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: One of the largest churches in Latin America, this famous cathedral dominates the Zócalo.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
402 reviews
112 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Wow yet sad”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I have never seen such a big church in all my life( have not been to Europe yet). It is very impressing and takes a good hour at least to see the parts that are free.

I find it sad that in the times where people lived in misery, such opulance was put into places to worship!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,723 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,346
    1,107
    243
    18
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
977 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Interesting and majestic”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

This is a large church with lots to see. It was a Sunday, so we had the place full of people, particularly because mass was celebrated by the cardinal (the noon mass every Sunday, as far as I can tell). The organ is powerful and the singing was beautiful. I recommend it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MauricioBabilonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L.A.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Enormous and Magnificent”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Its a massive structure built from the materials belonging to Aztec temples, it is tragic but impressive. The cathedral is hauntingly beautiful, simple yet grand, and above all symbolic.

To appreciate every single aspect of the edifice, I'd recommend ascending buildings with terraces.


I'd also make an effort and take a guided tour the bell tower, the views of the zocalo and surrounding area are stunning.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank AE09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riihimaki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Worth visiting”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

This Cathedral is said to be the largest religious building on the continent. It is a masterpiece of Mexican colonial art It is a mixture of different styles during a very long period. You can spend hours inside and find out new details. Highly recommended !!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank PerttiHar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, On
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

The Cathedral is huge and so impressive. We were lucky enough to be there for a Mass on a Sunday - wonderful experience.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rosita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Metropolitan Cathedral (Catedral Metropolitana) also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Metropolitan Cathedral (Catedral Metropolitana)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing