We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as it gets”
Review of Las Alcobas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Las Alcobas
Ranked #4 of 313 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2013

In general we prefer small up scale hotels. We found Las Alobaas via a search on the internet. It is located in Polanco which is an area that is describe as the Beverly Hills of Mexico City (or DF as the locals call it) and judging by the prices in the local stores, it is a good description. We wanted stay in Polanco because it was our first time in Mexico City and we had some concerns about safety. We felt totally secure and safe but frankly, we felt that way in many areas of the city.

The Hotel has only 35 rooms. We were upgraded to a Penthouse which was very spacious, modern and comfortable. There was an outside deck and we had amazing views. Our room was number 72. We were there five nights and could have stayed longer.

The staff were wonderful. They were warm, friendly and most importantly very competent. Our consigere, Leo, was so helpful before and during our trip. He arranged reservation at some wonderful restaurants. He arranged a guide and driver for us for four of our five days. The guide was excellent and really made a difference with respect to the quality of our over all experience. The guide's name Caesar. The driver was also excellent and his name is Sergio.

We had breakfast in the hotel every morning. The head water was very helpful and in addition to wonderful service, he also provide some sight seeing tips. His name is Louis. My wife discovered a special kind of mexican coffee called Cafe Olla which is a blend of Mexican Coffee, Cinnamon and special sugar. When we told him about her discovery, he was able to get the chief to make it for her every day.

Room Tip: Room 72 was wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank avrammiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasAlcobasDF, Director of Sales at Las Alcobas, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your wonderful comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review.

We will pass on your kind comments to our staff.
We look forward to welcoming you again at Las Alcobas in the near future hoping you consider us as your “home away from home” when you are traveling to Mexico City.
Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (667)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

418 - 424 of 667 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

We have stayed at Las Alcobas several times over the last few years, and it is gets better every visit! Quiet, beautifully appointed, exceptional staff, a general manager who makes a point of greeting you personally, this hotel excels in all areas! Our very favorite in Mexico City!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amaliebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasAlcobasDF, Director of Sales at Las Alcobas, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for considering us your “home away from home” when you are traveling to Mexico City.
We truly appreciate your comments.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed at Las Alcobas for one night only but we will definitely return for a longer visit. It was our second time in Mexico City but first time in Polanco, which is an unbelievably charming area, with great shops and restaurants. The hotel is wonderful and the friendly and attentive service is probably the best we've experienced. The room was extremely comfortable, with all the amenities you could ask for and more (no iron? no problem! someone picks up your shirt and returns it perfectly pressed in no time). And for those of you who (like us) are known to pick a hotel based on the bathroom/shower situation, there are 8 showerheads here. Enough said.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mljc68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasAlcobasDF, Director of Sales at Las Alcobas, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for recently staying with us and also for having taken the time to share your comments.
Thank you for considering us the place to stay, we will keep the good work !
We look forward to welcoming you again at Las Alcobas in the near future hoping you consider us as your “home away from home” when you are traveling to Mexico City.
Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Excellent experience in this wonderful small hotel in a great part of town. Staff attentive
To every need. Great room, wonderful breakfast. We'll definitely be back
And spread the word. Special treats awaited us in the room upon arrival. Loved free mini bar (excluded alcohol)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maggie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasAlcobasDF, Director of Sales at Las Alcobas, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear Guest, we thank you for your recent stay with us.
I hope your journey back home was pleasant and smooth.
We appreciate your comments and we look forward to welcoming you again at Las Alcobas in the near future hoping you consider us as your “home away from home” when you are traveling to Mexico City.
Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I have been to Mexico City quite a few times now but was never as happy as when I stayed here. Fantastic location, great breakfast, amazing rooms and even better service. Because it's a smaller boutique hotel, there are not a huge amount of rooms per floors so it was nice and quiet. People at the reception even remember our names. They had a service where they came to your room to wake you up with tea/coffee instead of your regular computer wake up call. The hotel is in a great area. Shops, restaurants and nightlife. But still quiet. I stayed at the Four Seasons in Mexico City and the Marriott and neither can compare to this place. The ONLY place I would ever stay in Mexico City.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fclassworldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasAlcobasDF, Director of Sales at Las Alcobas, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

We trully appreciate your great comments.
We are glad you had a nice stay.
We look forward to welcoming you again at Las Alcobas in the near future hoping you consider us as your “home away from home” when you are traveling to Mexico City.
Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We spend 5 fabulous nights in this classy, charming, and cool hotel. The manager, Michel,
upgraded us b/c of our first visit to Mx.City, had champagne and chocolate strawberries waiting, and greeted us upon arrival. The architecture and design details of the rooms and decor are second to none: marble, well coordinated pleasing colors, beds that surround you with comfort, and a shower with 6 shower heads as just one of many examples.

The service is first class-coffee is delivered at exactly the time specified, conceriege service promptly got us ballet tickets, medicine, and arranged everything requested in an efficient manner. The breakfasts were special-a chef recruited from Conneticut, a waiter from the Four Seasons with 18 years experience, and the front desk staff waiting for your call and beckon.

Fresh flowers are every where. The lobby is beautiful and looks like a 5 star hotel that competes with the best of the best. I only wish there was a Las Alcobas in our home town which makes me want to return to Mx.City just for the hotel experience. i highly recommend Las Alcobas for a memorable experience you will not want to miss.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room. If one is not available, the manager will probably upgrade you to a deluxe ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasAlcobasDF, Director of Sales at Las Alcobas, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

We trully appreciate your wonderful comments.
Our team will be very proud to know that you felt very warmly welcome and that you found their service to be helpful and efficient since your arrival.
We look forward to welcoming you again at Las Alcobas in the near future hoping you consider us as your “home away from home” when you are traveling to Mexico City.
Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Las Alcobas is a discreet, neatly run boutique hotel in a safe part of Mexico City. The staff were very helpful, getting the best tickets to the Folklore Ballet on that day. The rooms are very well designed, modern and bedding deliciously comfortable. Buckets of hot water (always top need for me) peaceful, i.e. no sound of the traffic and city outside the window. All decorations up to the minute in style and efficiency.
The restaurant round the corner is the hotel restaurant and gives you a truly smart Mexican experience, our day was Sunday and it was clearly a Mexican hot-spot.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank whales_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasAlcobasDF, Director of Sales at Las Alcobas, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Guest, we thank you for your recent stay with us.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Las Alcobas in the near future hoping you consider us as your “home away from home” when you are traveling to Mexico City.
Sincerely,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Hotel Mexico City
Lomas de Chapultepec 5
Isaaya Hotel Boutique
Isaaya Hotel Boutique
#1 of 313 in Mexico City
227 reviews
The St. Regis Mexico City
#11 of 313 in Mexico City
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#2 of 313 in Mexico City
3,007 reviews
Polanco
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
#12 of 313 in Mexico City
1,185 reviews
Polanco
W Mexico City
W Mexico City
#23 of 313 in Mexico City
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Alcobas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Alcobas

Address: Ave. Presidente Masaryk 390 | Col. Polanco, Mexico City 11560, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Polanco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#1 Spa Hotel in Mexico City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#4 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: $336 - $635 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Las Alcobas 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to resemble a private residence, Las Alcobas, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Mexico City has unique features that lavishly exude warmth and comfort, hand-selected details to enhance and enliven your senses, and the calm serenity of being at ease in your environment. These are the ingredients for a refined experience at a hotel in Mexico City. For business and leisure travelers, our hotel's 35 guestrooms and suites reflect our commitment to quality and the highest level of attentive service imbued with unparalleled comfort with luxurious accommodations that await you in Mexico City in state of the arts guestrooms and exceptional bathrooms. Las Alcobas, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Mexico City is composed of both architectural as well as aesthetic exquisiteness, while simultaneously offering the utmost service with its symphonic melding of personalized amenities, including two restaurants, and complete attentiveness to its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Las Alcobas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Alcobas Mexico Df Hotel Mexico City
Las Alcobas Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing