We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Timers loving this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Las Alcobas Mexico DF
Ranked #2 of 305 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
130 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“First Timers loving this place!”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We normally stay at the Four Seasons when we're in Mexico City. We decided to try a new spot and chose Las Alcobas. HOME RUN!!!! This hotel is so incredibly detail oriented. Michael, the general manager brought us our breakfast! Now that's service! The chef at the Hotel's restaurant is a food goddess! (See review for Dulce Patria). Super location in the Polanco district of the city. Just a great Hotel on every level! Thank you Michael, thank you Las Alcobas!

Room Tip: If you can swing it, get on the Penthouse floor. It's really nice.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donald T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasAlcobasDF, Director of Sales at Las Alcobas Mexico DF, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your wonderful comments.
We look forward to welcoming you again at Las Alcobas in the near future hoping you consider us as your “home away from home” when you are traveling to Mexico City.
Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    61
    12
    10
    4
See reviews for
68
300
41
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

This is now one of my favorite hotels in the world. Very good service, lovely rooms, extremely good breakfasts and a fantastic location. Walking distance to lots of pretty good restaurants. I was upgraded and was lucky enough to have the butler service for a couple of nights. My butler couldn't have been nicer or more interesting. Mexico City and Polanco have a new vibe. They feel happening and fresh and young. And Las Alcobas really exemplifies this new optimism.

Room Tip: Corner rooms or suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IlViaggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasAlcobasDF, Director of Sales at Las Alcobas Mexico DF, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your wonderful comments and I am glad you did enjoy your stay in Mexico City and at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Las Alcobas in the near future hoping you consider us as your “home away from home” when you are traveling to Mexico City.

Sincerely,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Just back from a 7-night business stay at the hotel and was blown away. In short, the hotel exceeded my expectations.

From the welcome drink of cold and delicious horchata at check-in to the free and daily-refreshed snacks and soft drinks to the twice-a-day daily digest of the New York Times to the warm, wood tones of the room to the outstanding three-setting shower to the unusual, beautiful smelling soap collection to the three-way mirror to the innovative temperature, lights, and drapes controller to the free clothes pressings to the free, never-a-problem wifi to the fine sheeting on the bed, I couldn't imagine how great the hotel would be during my stay.

It was great to stay at someplace smaller, serene, and more intimate than a larger hotel. Having the staff know you after a few days was a nice touch and made the hotel feel more like a fancy apartment building than an impersonal hotel. Special shout out to Leo who was more than helpful with eating and miscellaneous in-hotel services. Help was never more than a call and a few minutes away.

I honestly had not one issue with the hotel. Not one.

Rest assured this will be the only place I'll stay on future trips to D.F.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gerard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasAlcobasDF, Director of Sales at Las Alcobas Mexico DF, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your recent stay with us.
I hope your journey back home was pleasant and smooth.

We deeply appreciate your time to write such a great review. Furthermore, we are glad our staff was friendly and helped you out in every request. We will keep exceeding your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Las Alcobas in the near future hoping you consider us as your “home away from home” when you are traveling to Mexico City.
Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Spent New Year's Eve at Las Alcobas. Hotel location is perfect in the heart of Polanco with several restaurants and shopping options walking distance.
Got a problem in my first night with some anoying noises from plumbing system. The next morning Michael, the general manager, upgraded me to one of the amazing penthouse suites and gave me 50% on the first nigh for the inconvenience.
The bed is too soft for my taste, but that's me. The mini bar with snacks, water and soft drinks is a nice perk.
The penthouse has 2 rooms, a nice balcony and a great view.
A special note to the shower: A-W-E-S-O-M-E rain shower on both rooms!
Don't forget to try the obsidiana massage at the Spa.
Staff is very friendly even before you arrive: they arranged airport pick-up/drop off and a private tour to the piramids at Teotihuacan ( go early in the morning to avoid the crowd and get the private guide, it will give you a complete different perspective).
I will definitely stay there when I get back to Mexico City.
Thanks to Michael, Alejandro, Adrian and all the friendly staff that made me feel at home.

Room Tip: I got noise problems (plumbing system) with my room on second floor, in front of the spa entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MBreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasAlcobasDF, Director of Sales at Las Alcobas Mexico DF, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
We appreciate your lovely comments about our property and service.
About the soft beds, the hotel can accomodate to make the matress feel more tight. Hopefully, in your next visit we will ensure this is made.
The plumb noice has been fixed and we do apologize for the inconvience on your first night.
We look forward to welcoming you again at Las Alcobas in the near future hoping you consider us as your “home away from home” when you are traveling to Mexico City.
Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I stayed at Las Alcobas for a week over the holidays. The service was great...staff were able to let me check in early in the morning and upgraded my room. Helped with a number of other things too, like packing pottery and mailing to me. Design was striking but serene. There were a few trivial glitches (bathroom sink did not drain well, air freshener was a little heavy) but over all a lovely experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rubyredshuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasAlcobasDF, Director of Sales at Las Alcobas Mexico DF, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent stay.
We look forward to welcoming you again at Las Alcobas in the near future hoping you consider us as your “home away from home” when you are traveling to Mexico City.
Sincerely,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Having found Las Alcobas purely by chance (see earlier review of Casa Vieja) we were welcomed at this extraordinary hotel as old time guests.

What the owners and managers of Las Alcobas have created is an oasis of refined excellence with a total dedication to making sure that each detail of service is perfect, unobtrusive, friendly, efficient.

Without rehearsing all the other favorable reviews, enough to say that this would be our first choice hotel in Mexico City and can be recommended without hesitation.

We were sorry to leave.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Peterosenwald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasAlcobasDF, Director of Sales at Las Alcobas Mexico DF, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We deeply appreciate your time to write such a great review.
We look forward to welcoming you again at Las Alcobas in the near future hoping you consider us as your “home away from home” when you are traveling to Mexico City.
Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
164 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We just got back from a weekend spent in Mexico City at the delightful, Las Alcobas Hotel. I was hesitant to stay here and not The Four Seasons but usually prefer smaller hotels and I had stayed at the Four Season about 20 years ago. The hotel was well situated in a charming area but we did not take advantage of it as we were only there for two nights and one full day. We had adjoining rooms for my two teenage sons. The rooms were small but beautifully done. The dark wood floors and wood throughout were beautiful. The design in leather on the headboards were exquisite. The small Mexican details of the chair holding the treats and the small boxes were lovely. The decor was sensational The controls in the room for the lights, air and windows were great. I did not like not having control over my night light in the opposite bed. The shower with it's multiple sprays was great. The delightful soaps were charming. The make-up light in the bathroom was too high for anyone less than 5'8. The people at the front desk were very helpful and more than pleasant. The continental breakfast was awkward. The coffee was not strong at all. The fruit that was included was beautiful but would have been better if the dressing was on the side. The pastries were beautiful but we just wanted something simple and had to ask for toast. We arranged for a private guide and driver for the day to take my family around as first time visitors to the city and the hotel provided, Caesar who was terrific. I would highly recommend him. We were concerned about the safety of going to Mexico City but felt very safe while there. It was a wonderful visit, albeit too short.

We did feel the beds were too soft. I also thought that having to call for the jacuzzi to be turned on with a key was a bit odd.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Zach84Jake62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasAlcobasDF, Director of Sales at Las Alcobas Mexico DF, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your time giving us your feedback and writing this review. We will consider all the points you mentioned. About the soft beds, the hotel can accomodate to make the matress feel more tight. Hopefully, in your next visit we will ensure this is made.

Warmest regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Mexico City
Four Seasons Mexico City
#10 of 305 in Mexico City
1,268 reviews
The St. Regis Mexico City
#7 of 305 in Mexico City
936 reviews
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#6 of 305 in Mexico City
2,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Polanco
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
#8 of 305 in Mexico City
1,067 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#5 of 305 in Mexico City
712 reviews
Polanco
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
#11 of 305 in Mexico City
1,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Alcobas Mexico DF? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Alcobas Mexico DF

Property: Las Alcobas Mexico DF
Address: Avenida Presidente Masaryk 390A | Col. Polanco, Mexico City 11560, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Polanco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#4 Business Hotel in Mexico City
#12 Family Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Las Alcobas Mexico DF 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to resemble a private residence, Las Alcobas has unique features that lavishly exude warmth and comfort, hand-selected details to enhance and enliven your senses, and the calm serenity of being at ease in your environment… These are the ingredients to a refined Mexico City hotel experience. For business and leisure travelers, its 35 guestrooms and suites reflect the hotel’s commitment to quality and the highest level of attentive service imbued with unparalleled comfort with luxurious accommodations that await you in Mexico City in state of the arts guestrooms and exceptional bathrooms. Las Alcobas, a small luxury grand hotel in Mexico City, is composed of both architectural as well as aesthetic exquisiteness, while simultaneously offering the utmost service with its symphonic melding of personalized amenities, including two restaurants, and complete attentiveness to its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Las Alcobas Mexico DF reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Alcobas Mexico Df Hotel Mexico City
Las Alcobas Mexico DF Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing