We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El patio 77, first eco-friendly B&B in Mexico City
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Basic Hotel(Mexico City)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Astor(Mexico City)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Del Prado(Mexico City)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Stella Maris(Mexico City)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sevilla(Mexico City)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Compostela(Mexico City)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
    Hotel Irys Astoria(Mexico City)
    View Hotel
    Hotel Edison(Mexico City)
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (492)
    Filter reviews
    492 results
    Traveler rating
    407
    67
    13
    3
    2
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    407
    67
    13
    3
    2
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewssan cosmeoaxaca suitesoaring ceilingsworking class neighborhoodmodern touchesold mansionbeautiful spaceevery morningan art galleryhouse is beautifulfresh fruitresidential neighborhoodfiltered watermetro stopprivate bathrooma wonderful place to stayhot dish
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    211 - 216 of 492 reviews
    Reviewed October 13, 2013

    Booked El Patio 77 after reading reviews on Tripadvisor.
    Location: Few blocks to metro San Cosme and 5 stops to Zocalo centre, metro very easy to navigate despite a complete lack of Spanish. Neighbourhood felt safe but not (yet) particularly trendy. We ate locally most nights using El Patio 77 local recommendations.
    Room: We stayed in Oaxaca suite and loved it. Huge room upstairs, comfortable bed, large windows, small balcony, good sized bathroom. We had read about the hot water issue. We had cold water one morning and I mentioned it to Vero who promptly lit the gas-heating so we had hot showers. An automatic system would be preferable but I didn't think it detracted from our stay.
    I liked that breakfast was different everyday - some we preferred more than others. Good juice and coffee. Liked that they provided filtered water free of charge rather than overpriced bottles.
    I thought the B&B renovation was amazing, combining the old and new. Loved the art exhibition and decor.
    Staff not intrusive but very helpful when asked. Adrien arranged a fantastic tour to the Teotihuacan pyramids and for our laundry.
    Only downside is that we had to leave too soon.

    Room Tip: Upstairs if you want to open windows
    • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank 289Kath
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    elpatio77, Director de Recepción at El patio 77, first eco-friendly B&B in Mexico City, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

    Hello and good day.
    Thanks a lot for your comments
    It seems to be that in general you had a very good time in Mexico city,
    we are glad to read this.
    You stayed at one of the most beautiful rooms in our B&B; sorry about the issues with the hot water but as you may know we heat it with solar panels so that´s the reason sometimes it starts to un out after a few minutes.
    We hope to see you soon again.
    Happy travels
    Adrian & El Patio 77 Staff

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed October 13, 2013

    El Patio 77 is undoubtedly the best boutique accommodation in Mexico City. I choose to stay here every time I visit DF because the level of service and attention to detail is nothing less than first-rate. I have stayed in several of the rooms, which are all equally as beautiful in their design. The decor is stunning, the rooms are huge, the breakfast is generous and gorgeous, and the staff go beyond what's required of them. El Patio has style, class, character and sophistication and each time I visit I receive excellent hospitality. This bed and breakfast offers something different and unique, all set against the un-touched backdrop of Colonia San Rafael and I can't wait to return again soon. I have sent several international guests to El Patio over the past 2 years (with more on their way) and everyone is always ecstatic with their stay.

    Alan, Diego, Vero and Adrian.... thank you!!!!

    • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank claire d
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    elpatio77, Director de Recepción at El patio 77, first eco-friendly B&B in Mexico City, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

    Hello Claire and good day.
    Thanks a lot for your comments.You guys are awesome
    and we are really happy to welcome you as many times as you wish.
    We really try to give all our guests the necessary info and tools to make
    their experience a good one here in Mexico.
    We enjoy having you here and talk even for a while.
    Hope to see you again very soon.
    Kind regards
    Adrian and El Patio 77 Staff

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed October 13, 2013

    Thanks so much to Alan, Adrian and Vero for our stay again.

    If you long for an escape from the hustle and bustle side of Mexico City, and want to stay at a bed and breakfast not only conscious of its impact on the environment, but also an innovative gallery space with incredible attention to detail in design and cleanliness - this is the one.

    We have stayed at El Patio 77 the last 5 times we've been in Mexico City for a few simple reasons

    1. The suburb and location - San Colonia Rafael is not only extremely close to everything (walk to La Roma in 20 minutes, Metro stop a few minutes from the hotel) in Mexico City but it also has the charm and feel of a real suburb that hasn't suffered from the gentrification of it's nearby neighbours (yet).

    2. The hotel - We've stayed in a few of the rooms now and have been extremely happy with all of them, my favourite if I had to pick - Michoacan. Individual design grounded in the artisanal and cultural workings from each state. Beds are super comfortable, reliable WIFI, bathrooms immaculate and HOT water. And last but not least breakfast - fruit salad, organic coffee, tea, juice and a rotating menu of hot dishes. Generous, fresh, healthy breakfast, cooked to order and eaten in my favourite of their patios, perfect way to start the day.

    3. The owners and staff - Extremely generous people with their time with a genuine interest in talking to and getting to know the people that stay with them. Always answer questions of where to eat, what to see, what's on in DF and how to get from A to B.

    Thanks again guys. Look forward to our next stay!

    • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank lukeclaire2226
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    elpatio77, Director de Recepción at El patio 77, first eco-friendly B&B in Mexico City, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

    Hello Luke
    We hope you guys are just fine.
    Having you here were fantastic every time.
    You also are nice,kind and polite people who come to our country with respect
    and with this hungry to learn something new every time,you are not just tourists.
    Thanks a lot for your comments and hope to see you around here very soom.
    Kind regards from Mexico City!!
    Adrian& El Patio 77 staff

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed September 22, 2013

    We spent three nights at El Patio 77, and had a comfortable and quiet room. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The common areas are very pleasant, and the decoration combines the classic architecture with a modern touch, and beautiful furniture. It is spotlessly renewed and clean. Also, the hotel common areas are used to exhibit the work of different local artists, with a periodical rotation of the exhibitions. Breakfast is very good too, and flexible to your taste! The neighborhood is not particularly appealing, but it is safe. Four streets away is the nearest Metro station, and there are three or four stops to the Zócalo, or heart of the city. I look forward to stay here on my next visit to Mexico! Thank you all.

    • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Aniushka
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    elpatio77, Director de Recepción at El patio 77, first eco-friendly B&B in Mexico City, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

    Hello
    Thanks a lot for taking a few minutes and write about your experience
    with us.
    We are happy to read that you enjoyed our house, the idea is that you
    can have a quiet and comfortable stay.
    Our neighborhood,San Rafael district is a charmong place and is the 2nd oldest
    in México DF(the 1st is Historic Center)and it´s growing,so in here you can have
    a real taste of Mexico City.
    Of course you can come again at any time you want so you can watch the
    new art exhibition we are going to have.
    Kind Regards
    Adrian&El Patio 77 Staff.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed September 21, 2013

    The building is truly beautiful - quirky, tasteful decor, lots of interesting art, wood widely used, all set in what I am guessing is an old mansion. The staff were generally friendly, though not overly attentive, the beds were comfortable with nice bedding, and the breakfast was pretty good, though a little small. The one major problem I had with this B&B though was the absence of hot water in the shower. I understand that this is trying to be an ecological B&B and only uses solar heated water, though when I stay at a hotel, let alone one I am paying good money to stay at, I expect to be able to take a hot shower. The system they presently have is totally inadequate - if someone takes a long shower it uses up the water that is available for all the rooms, so one inconsiderate so-and-so can ruin everyone's day. This is precisely what happened to my wife and I. Perhaps a certain amount of solar heated water should be allocated somehow to each room, so that this can't happen.

    Room Tip: We stayed one night in the Chihuahua suite and one night in the Chiapas suite, and definitely preferred the Chiapas.
    • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank azzabazza18
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    elpatio77, General Manager at El patio 77, first eco-friendly B&B in Mexico City, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

    Hello! Thank you for your comments. We are working hard to improve our solar heating water system. Although we would like to say that Chiapas Suite is the only room with problems in hot water. This is not for the solar system we have or the amount of hot water available. This is because hot water travel a long way through all the big and thick walls of our house to get there, and it gets cold in this tour, from the ceiling to the bathroom. We are working with new architects so we can give a solution of this really soon !!!

    We would love you to tell us this when you were at home so we could give you another room; or give you a discount for the issue. Depends on the weather for Chiapas Suite to have warmer water.

    As you say ecological never wants to mean restrictions, neither for us. We always try to give full comfort to all our guests and we really appreciate when people tell us their problems so we can act to solve them in the moment,

    El patio 77 team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews