We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in Colonia San Rafael, DF, Mexico”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El patio 77, first eco-friendly B&B in Mexico City
Ranked #2 of 161 Mexico City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Finding this eco B&B (a rarity in DF) can be a bit of a challenge. However, after staying there a couple of days it was easy to orient the cab driver to it. With no signage the building looks like other stately mansions in this quiet neighborhood except that this one has been beautifully restored. I can feel that this area is ripe for renewal and there aren't many more of these in DF. Neighboring San Miguel de Ribera is another one. The colonia is well situated within close distance to Centro Historico, Colonia Roma etc. The French owner is a pioneer and has created a very comfortable and pleasing oasis. Full breakfasts (which vary every day) are included in the pricing and the rooms are spacious; the beds comfy. Good wifi everywhere and a nice guide to the neighborhood gets you well oriented. The staff is friendly and helpful. They also offer city tours but we didn't use any as we all had previous DF knowledge and knew where we wanted to go. They gave us a card for their recommended taxi service (safe and reliable). Would recommend this spot if you are comfortable exploring an out of the way place and suggest you look at the options (private or shared bathrooms) and rooms with more light or less and serene. http://www.elpatio77.com/
Interesting places close enough to walk to: El Chopo Contemporary Art Museum (UNAM operated) Mezzo Mezzo Italian resto (taxi over and walk back) and not to be missed The Kiosk at the Alameda Park. Here is Wikipedia write up on the Kiosk: 'it was designed and built in the late 19th century by José Ramón Ibarrola to be the Mexico Pavilion at the World’s Fair of 1886 in New Orleans and of the Saint Louis Exposition of 1902. The structure is completely made of wrought iron, which was in fashion at that time. It is thought that the iron came from the Carnegie Steel Company of Pittsburgh. It consists of panels that can be disassembled and a glass cupola. After these events, the structure was brought back to Mexico at the beginning of the 20th century and installed on the south side of the Alameda Central. While it was here, it became the site of the national lottery drawing. For the Centennial of the Mexican War of Independence, the kiosk was moved to make way for the Benito Juárez Monument. The residents of the colonia petitioned to have the kiosk moved to this neighborhood.
More from Wiki on El Chopo: The Museo del Chopo or Chopo Museum is an Art Nouveau ironwork and glass construction, which stands out due to its two large metal towers. Due to its appearance, it has been nicknamed the Palacio de Cristal or the Crystal Palace, due to is similarity with the structure in England. Much of the metal and glasswork is from Germany and created in 1902. Then it was brought piece by piece to Mexico. From 1913 to 1964, the building was the site of the Museo Nacional de Historia Natural (National Natural History Museum). The most famous exhibit of this museum was a large dinosaur bone. In the 1960s, it remained abandoned and was almost sold as scrap. In 1975, the museum underwent major reconstructive work for two years and then was re-inaugurated as the Museo Universitario del Chopo. Today it specializes in modern art and experimental projects for marginalized groups and young artists. It is located on Dr. Enrique Gonzalez Martinez Street.'

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vosges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elpatio77, Director de Recepción at El patio 77, first eco-friendly B&B in Mexico City, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Hello
We know sometimes it is a little bit complicated for our guests
to find our B&B because if you look from the outside it seems to be
just another house of the neighborhood.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your whole stay with us.Thanks
a lot for your positive comments
Hope to see you soon again.
Kind regards
El Patio 77 Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (471)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 471 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2013

I wanted really to be near StaMaria de la Ribera to explore that area and go to Museo Chopo and that is how I found El Patio 77 which is in the adjacent Colonia San Rafael. All is very well done in the style, beds are comfortable but the issued one large towel should include a hand towel and washcloth. Breakfasts were OK, especially the fruit, yogurt and juices but the Bimbo bread should be replaced with some good Mexican bread. Coffee was nice. The cab connected with hotel was a great deal to airport ($150p) but we were snookered on another really short ride over to Cuahatemoc, ask fare 1st. Overall good a little expensive...

Room Tip: I would stay again or recommend for the relaxed atmosphere but get an interior room..the Hidalgo has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cardie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elpatio77, Director de Recepción at El patio 77, first eco-friendly B&B in Mexico City, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Hello Cardie
Thanks a lot for your comments and suggestions,they are really
helpful to improve our service and give to you a better experience with us.
We do have handtowels for our guests, you only need to ask for them.
We do not put them on the bedrooms because we are eco-friendly and we
try to save water by not washing a lot of towels,among other things
Kind regards

El Patio 77 Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Where to start? First off, I liked the host, Adrian. He wore a fashionably tattered electronica festival shirt and appeared to be in his early-mid thirties. Very chill dude, very helpful. The room we stayed in had a bathroom and shower down the hall which was fine because there were only like five rooms there so it was mellow (some rooms have their own private bath though). The whole place is clean and artfully decorated. An old building with an ornate iron gated entrance and lots of white inside and original wood. One annoying thing though was that the shower's water was cold, then cool and then finally after one of us had showered in such conditions it turned really hot. We weren't too irked because we only had one night there and it was hot as the dickens outside any way and everything else was so great there that we didn't mention it to the front desk. The breakfast and the coffee was delicious. Guava to die for and the best organic coffee from Mexico. A perfect first night in Mexico City stop.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joellen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elpatio77, Director de Recepción at El patio 77, first eco-friendly B&B in Mexico City, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Hello Joelllen
All the staff that works here are happy to know that you had a good time at our B&B.
The issue with the hot water is that because we heat the water with solar panels it starts to come out from the shower after the first 5 minutes, sorry to read you had a bad experiencie while taking a bath.We hope to see you soon here again!
Kind regards
El Patio 77 Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

This is more about the neighborhood, I know, than El Patio 77, but so many folks already have written great things, which we totally agree with; we thought to add some other stuff. The Oaxaca Room was magical, the room and neighborhood was actually quieter than where we live in urban USA. The Museo del Chopo, in walking distance, is great. Our routine was to have their great breakfast, hop on the metro post-rush hour and see some sights, and then maybe come back in the early afternoon to then go out at night (before evening metro rush hour). We aways took a cab back at night, since there are too many things to see and experience in this huge and fantastic city; and since the neighborhood is really quiet in the evening. I'm not sure if there is nightlife near El Patio 77, but the charm for us was the morning light in the Oaxaca Room and slow mornings in an authentic neighborhood. After a few days, we really felt like we lived here. El Patio 77 was like our home, and the neighborhood free of tourists was a nice change. We dream of coming back and staying again at El Patio 77. I dare say, staying here and experiencing this fabulous city, beat past trips to Europe or NYC.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UnGatoTuxedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elpatio77, Director de Recepción at El patio 77, first eco-friendly B&B in Mexico City, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Hello
We always try to make our guests feel like home and we are happy to read that we actually do that.
And you are so right, there are so many things to see and experience in Mexico.
There are many other museums and art galleries around here.
We can tell you where are they located the next time you stay here.
Thanks a lot for your comments.
Kind Regards
El Patio 77 staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This has to be one of the nicest, laid back, forward thinking B&B I've ever experienced. I went strictly by the TA reviews and was not disappointed. I cannot imagine a nicer place to stay. Very simple and practical. My girlfriend strives to have a small eco-footprint, so this property was a perfect fit! Unless you're a knuckle-dragger, you will be delighted with the culture and personality that El Patio 77 has. Ciao.

Room Tip: We had the private suite at the end of the hall and was overjoyed with it's king bed and floor t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HavanaChas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elpatio77, Director de Recepción at El patio 77, first eco-friendly B&B in Mexico City, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Hello;

Thank you for comming home, was very nice meet you both!! Please feel free to come whenever you like!

Regards and Hugs!

Staff El patio 77

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I had never been to DF before. My partner and I flew in to surprise my mother on her 60th birthday, and after the festivities we were exhausted! We stayed there and experienced friendly service, beautiful rooms, a charming atmosphere, and were able to get a good night's rest after, and in preparation to, a long flight. Thank you El Patio!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ursus T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elpatio77, Director de Recepción at El patio 77, first eco-friendly B&B in Mexico City, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Hello
Thanks for your comments and for choosing our B&B as your first choice
during your stay in Mexico City.
We work every day to give you the best service so you can relax and have a good time.
come again any time you want.
Kind regards
El Patio 77 Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Without doubt one of the most original, friendliest and well thought out places I have had the pleasure of staying in. Me and my mum have just returned from a stay at patio 77 and we both left feeling genuinely grateful to the wonderful staff for making our stay the pleasure that it was. Thanks to Adrian for his help and to Alan for his great recommendations on what to do in Oaxaca! Beautiful rooms, beautiful place, beautiful experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdamFry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elpatio77, Director de Recepción at El patio 77, first eco-friendly B&B in Mexico City, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you!!!

We really appreciate your double stay at El patio 77. For guest like you we like our job!!

Return soon you know that our doors are open to you!

Hugs to you and your mom.

Staff El patio 77

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#4 of 312 in Mexico City
824 reviews
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#3 of 312 in Mexico City
2,761 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Hotel Mexico City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#14 of 312 in Mexico City
1,436 reviews
Polanco
Las Alcobas
Las Alcobas
#2 of 312 in Mexico City
650 reviews
Condesa
Hotel Villa Condesa
Hotel Villa Condesa
#10 of 161 in Mexico City
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El patio 77, first eco-friendly B&B in Mexico City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El patio 77, first eco-friendly B&B in Mexico City

Address: Calle Joaquin Garcia Icazbalceta 77 | San Rafael District, Mexico City, Mexico City 06470, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Mexico City
Price Range: $126 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El patio 77, first eco-friendly B&B in Mexico City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El patio 77 is the first eco-friendly B&B in Mexico City and the best boutique B&B in the center part of the city. More than a hotel, come and enjoy our house of the XIX Century with only 8 unique suites and a great service in the middle of this great city. San Rafael is a safe and central neighborhood near from the city center, roma, condesa and Polanco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your El patio 77, first eco-friendly B&B in Mexico City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Patio 77, First Eco-Friendly B&B In Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing