We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“excellent value for money and location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Gillow

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mexico City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Gillow
Ranked #94 of 307 Hotels in Mexico City
Roma
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“excellent value for money and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Very friendly staff, we stayed there twice and they kept the suite with balcony free for us on the second occasion too. Also the restaurant is to be recommended. Good Wi-Fi, and hard to find a better location within easy reach of metro. Very strategic for visiting the Templo Mayor, Zocalo and eating at the Café de Tacuba, Cardenal or Café Popular. And we loved the historic décor!

Room Tip: Le suite con balcone sono da consigliare
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KulturaRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    109
    28
    11
    5
See reviews for
73
61
38
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

My sister insisted we stay here and I can see why. They greeted me by name each time. How often does that happen? Clean, free full buffet breakfast, nice amenities, nice balcony, comfortable beds. They were there to answer my endless questions.
The rooms had a nice traditional, Mexican decoration. Statues, carved wood, rod iron balcony, marble bathroom floors. Not like the Holiday Inn that was dull and bland just down the street for $50 more a night.
The locations was great. RIght in the center. Great for romantic trip or families. Can't say 1 bad thing about Hotel Gillow.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with balconies. No extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, LA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

My newly-wed wife and I stayed here for five nights in March 2014. We had a room on the 6the floor, overlooking Isabel de Católica. The staff was not incredibly fluent in English, nor us in Spanish, but they were helpful and check in went smoothly.
Initially, we had no power in the room. We were getting ready to call the front desk when we realized you had to stick the door key in a slot by the light switch. New one for me.
We had reserved a double through Trip Advisor. The room was fairly spacious. We had a small balcony, with one window and a sliding glass door that opened into it. Both faced the adjoining balconies, so other guests could have seen into our room, if they had been so inclined or my wife less on top of keeping our curtains drawn. Our balcony also had a pretty good view of the sunrises over the Zócalo and the mountains beyond.
The bathroom was also pretty big. Everything worked as expected. There was one morning where we had almost no water pressure, but we had read that those things happen in Mexico City and didn't complain. Never happened again. The sink was kinda small (well, small for doing laundry in anyway). There wasn't any good way to hang laundry in the bathroom either, but we rigged up a clothesline anyway. (Note that the hotel offers laundry service and did a pretty good job with it, except for stapling these little tags to the items which kinda damaged two items when we removed them.)
Being on the 6th floor, the WiFi was a little weak, especially on the balcony. It was much better in the common area outside our room, but we usually had at least one bar.
The hotel is situated on a busy street on a big, busy city. We could hear the traffic and such starting early in the morning. It did not bother us, as we were usually up pretty early. Once, my wife woke up to some kind of Aztec parade about 530am, but that was more interesting than annoying.
We purchased vouchers for breakfast at the hotel restaurant (not included with room price, but worth the extra $). The servers were very nice, spoke some English, and the food was good. They changed the hot buffet a bit every day, but kept the same fruit, cereal, and fresh juices (orange, mango, pineapple, carrot, and one other I never figured out).
The staff was friendly and courteous. We don't ask for much, but they helped us mail postcards and hail cabs, as well as a little advice here and there.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay and we will be happy to stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank travels_on_belly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. The rooms were tired but clean. We got to see several since we asked for a room change. The problem was that every room they tried to move us to was already occupied. After visiting about 5 rooms they finally put us in one that didn't already have guests in it. It was spacious and the beds were comfortable. It had doors that opened onto the street which was lovely during the day, but there was so much traffic and street noise until about 4 am that we got NO sleep. We asked for a room on the Cathedral side the second night and it was very peaceful.

The restaurant had good food for a reasonable price.

My biggest complaint is that after 2 days of waiting on lost luggage, of which reception was aware, when the airline tried to deliver our luggage they were told no one under either of our names was registered and our bags were returned to the airport.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the cathedral side. Floors 3 and up are quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Hotel Gillow claims to be a four star hotel... but it seems they handle a different definition than what I am used to (travelling in Europe).

My reservation was made long in advance. However, when I arrived, it appeared that they were rather fully booked. Therefore, they wanted to upgrade me for one night only so that I would have to move again after just one night. I did not want that and ended up in a rather bad room (to say it nicely).
The lady behind the counter handling my case was so friendly to tell all the above to me loudly sipping at her softdrink. I would have also expected that the employees at the counter would wear some kind of a uniform... but they had their regular clothes on, which gives a rather
unprofessional look.

The room:
- No airco and the ventilator did not really help to get the room cool. Even though it was winter, the room got quite warm.
- There are no safes in the rooms which even turned going to breakfast into an adventure (will the tablet still be there?). Handing everything in at the reception is not really a practical solution.
- The window has no screen, so mosquitos are free to join you.
- The bathroom was regularly filled with a sewer smell.
- The bathroom was not clean: there were stains on the floor and the maid was so kind to leave some hair of hers every day.
- The matras was rather wornout, with a sort of pit in the middle. There were only two small pillows.
- Not to mention that all lights in the hallway were out one night... finding your way to the door was a good exercise in navigating in the dark.
- Some other guests (or housekeeping) like slamming doors, which can be heard well througout the whole place.

On a positive note: the breakfast was okay. Service was friendly and they have a sort of buffet. However, having the same jerry every day gets annoying. And any special type of coffe costs extra. It was also good that I could leave my luggage with them after checkout and that they ordered a good and cheap taxi to get me to the airport.

To conclude: I do not really see where the four stars come from and I will do my best to never stay at this place again. However, if you look for a rather cheap hotel in the middle of downtown mexico city and do not expect anything great, this is your choice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blahblub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

I was pleased to find a spacious room, comfortable beds, reasonable room rate (with cash discount!), on-site restaurant with good buffet breakfast (not included in room rate) as well as lunch and dinner menu. Walking distance to Zocalo as well as Bellas Artes. Nothing to complain about!

Room Tip: To avoid traffic noise request an interior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeloh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

We arrived via the subway (Allende-for some reason it didn't stop at the Zocalo,5 pesos) and found this well-located, clean, and quiet hotel about 2 blocks from the Zocalo in Mexico City. The hotel guest service was impeccable with English-speaking clerks and a lovely lobby with beautiful statuary. We were in room 602 which had 2 double beds and a terrace with a pretty decent view. The terrace had 3 chairs and a table. The room was large with a small couch, coffee table, chair and mirrored dressing table with chair. The closet was roomy. I would pick room 601 if available because it has a better view. We had a flat-screen TV with cable. Water is purified and right next to room along with ice. Pitcher and glasses were in the room. There is no A/C or heat but there is a window next to the sliding glass terrace door and a ceiling fan. We just opened one or the other when in the room and were fine.

The bathroom was updated as was the bedroom with clean and crisp sheets. The beds were only slightly hard (most beds in Mexico were hard). The towels were a little frayed. No washcloths-but only about half the Mexico hotels had washcloths during our visit. We used our hand towel as a washcloth.

Some street traffic was heard but it was far quieter than other hotels we stayed in during our visit. Most of it was due horns honking from traffic jams caused by the government's shutdown of the Zocalo during our stay. On Mondays about all the museums are closed. We did go to the Tempo Mayor next to the Cathedral in the Zocalo on Tuesday before our plane left. Our guide was English-speaking George and well worth the 300 pesos we paid him. The admission was 57 pesos. The Tempo Mayor is a must see for archeology enthusiasts.

The hotel gives a 10% discount for cash-our discounted room rate was 800 pesos total.

The breakfast buffet at the hotel restaurant was well worth 109 pesos each with made to order eggs and potatoes. Tea, coffee included. Cereals, fruit, yogurt and several meat dishes.

Overall, I was very pleased with our stay the Hotel Gillow and will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The hotel has 6 floors-I would choose a top floor. The 2 double bed rooms are the only ones with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GirlonthegoUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#11 of 307 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Centro Historico
Hotel Canada
Hotel Canada
#219 of 307 in Mexico City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Alameda
Hotel Marlowe
Hotel Marlowe
#63 of 307 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Centro Historico
Hotel Ritz Mexico
Hotel Ritz Mexico
#168 of 307 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Alameda
Fiesta Inn Centro Historico
Fiesta Inn Centro Historico
#20 of 307 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gillow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gillow

Property: Hotel Gillow
Address: Calle Isabel La Catolica 17, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Gillow is one of the oldest hotels in Mexico, with more than a 100 years of experience in personalized service and supreme quality. It is located in the heart of Mexico City just 2 blocks away from "El Zocalo" and 3 blocks from "Bellas Artes". You will feel the colonial environment of Mexico and at the same time the conformity of technology at your hand. Moreover, it has the best restaurant in downtown called "La Capilla" which offers an exquisite fusion of Mediterranean and Mexican cuisine. Don't miss the opportunity to visit Mexico with us. ¡Bienvenido! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gillow Hotel Mexico City
Gillow Mexico City
Hotel Gillow Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing