We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect location!!... Clean and basic!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gillow

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mexico City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Gillow
Save
You added Hotel Gillow to your Saves list
Ranked #92 of 304 Hotels in Mexico City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect location!!... Clean and basic!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I had a 24 hr overlay in Mexico DF, this hotel is perfect if you want to walk around, do some shopping, and take some pictures of the architecture. Museums, churches and knick knack stores are all around!! We got breakfast included, which was a buffet, awesome way to start the day with plenty of fruit and some local warm plates too, I went for tamales... Spicy for my taste!! But it was soo good!! Wi-fi internet, water and ice (we live in Las Vegas and drink water all day long) was a nice thing to have at reach and for free!! Staff was friendly and hotel is kept clean!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank bflynoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    107
    27
    10
    5
See reviews for
71
58
37
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

It's a best in downtown Mexico city. Rooms are clean, fine service and hospitality. Despite it is located two blocs from the Zocalo Plaza, there is no noise to worry.
Almost everything is at hand: Bellas Artes theater, Plaza Mayor, fine bookstores, museums, and lots of restaurants.

Downtown Mexico is also very secure. We strolled the area with no problem at all.

The building is old, but charming. We got a room with a nice terraza, facing an old church tower.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite with terraza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Enrique D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoodsport
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Comfortable and safe but not cheep. Location is great just around the corner from the main square. The staff was helpful to get trips else where as Teotihuacan. The hotel is in the middle of the city so absolutly everything is within walking distance as reastruants and entertainment galore.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be good that I know of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buck_Soul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a total of 5 nights on 2 occasions. Rooms were decent size but we requested a king size bed the second time for more comfort. Staff is helpful & several speak English. Sheets & towels were changed daily & purified water/ice was available on every floor. Plenty of hot water but limited electrical outlets. We enjoyed breakfast in the ground level restaurant & the breakfast buffet had numerous choices of fruit, omelets & Mexican specialties. I recommend a room on the upper floors because the location can be noisy. That said, you are blocks to the zocalo and other tourist attractions with an easy walk to the Metro stations.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bikinglibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

If you want to be near the Zòcalo without being immersed in its commotion, the location of Hotel Gillow can't be beat. It is an older hotel with an unassuming entrance and an interior that appeared to me to be meticulously maintained. A central atrium provides light to floors one through six; a fountain and caged birds on the first floor of the atrium make a comforting sound. My room was quite ample in size. The bed was a bit firm but not so much so that I would complain. Bathroom fixtures were fully functional and up-to-date. As with the public spaces, I was struck by my room's cleanliness and its level of maintenance. A friend had a room on the sixth floor with an exterior terrace facing 5 de Mayo. Though his room was much smaller than mine, the terrace almost doubled his actual living space and was a great place to hang out at off times. I doubt that any room is like any other, but I would recommend trying to get one of the rooms with terraces if you can. The staff was friendly, accommodating, and responsive; and assisted readily in fluent English and nary a snicker whenever my pitiful Spanish faltered. I was unimpressed by the breakfast served by the restaurant in the building, though it was adequate. But since there are plenty of restaurants and bars in the area, this is not a significant negative. At the price, this hotel can't be beat. It is a genuine bargain without being a bargain hotel, and I would not hesitate to stay here again if I visit Mexico City again.

Room Tip: Check to see if you can get a room with a terrace on the 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Not having stayed at other hotels in Mexico city we choose this one on the basis of the reviews below and it did not disappoint. The building has some style and is well positioned near the Zòcalo, but not right on it so avoiding the worst of the noise. Standard rooms and beds are a bit small (and beds a bit firm) but our room on the 6th floor also had an outside terrace which was great. Nice shower cubicles, cable TV and WiFi are provided together with drinking water and ice on every floor. There is a restaurant in the building with a varied menu. They’re not good at responding to emails so always call ahead.

Tip. Do have a Sundowner at the rooftop bar of the nearby Gran Hotel - the lobby of which with its Tiffany glass roof are an absolute must see. For eating try the Café De Taguba just a couple of blocks away (NOTE: Spelt wrongly on Tripadvisor)

Room Tip: Try and get one on the 6th floor with terrace (ours was 601)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RainbirdLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We have been staying at the Hotel Gillow off and on for about 12 or so years. For its location in the historic center, it cannot be beat. We have always been well taken care of the Gillow. From storing bags at the hotel to be picked up on the way back through the city, to being helped with directions, and given recommendations for great restaurants nearby, the staff are savvy and attentive. They can arrange for a driver to the airport in the early hours, or taxi to the outer limits of the Zona Rosa. And they can assist you in English, too!
Although, some rooms are better than others, and some of their pillows are more comfortable than others, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel next time you find yourself with no where to lay your head in the centro historico. As the centro evolves for the better, so has the hotel. They've recently installed two birds cages in the inner courtyard, and the pleasant sound of birdsong is a welcome start to the morning. And the top floor rooms boast flowering planters, where I saw a hummingbird one morning!

Room Tip: South facing top floor rooms have morning sunlight, flowering planters and table and chairs to soak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sheshe56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRoberto, Manager at Hotel Gillow, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Customer

Thank you so very much for your positive comment of Hotel Gillow,

Im really pleased to hear that the cages for the brids really worked out to bring more harmony on your stay. Since your visit we had remodeled the 6th floor entirely, so now the next time you visit you will have a brand new room plus the balcony.

Nature (such as birds & flowers) are vital in a big city!

Roberto Gonzalez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Alameda
Hotel Marlowe
Hotel Marlowe
#66 of 304 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 stars 317 reviews
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#14 of 304 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,109 reviews
Centro Historico
Hotel Ritz Mexico
Hotel Ritz Mexico
#157 of 304 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Hotel Canada
Hotel Canada
#246 of 304 in Mexico City
3.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#5 of 304 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 390 reviews
Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
#32 of 304 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 stars 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gillow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gillow

Property: Hotel Gillow
Address: Calle Isabel La Catolica 17, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Mexico City
#32 Family Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Gillow is one of the oldest hotels in Mexico, with more than a 100 years of experience in personalized service and supreme quality. It is located in the heart of Mexico City just 2 blocks away from "El Zocalo" and 3 blocks from "Bellas Artes". You will feel the colonial environment of Mexico and at the same time the conformity of technology at your hand. Moreover, it has the best restaurant in downtown called "La Capilla" which offers an exquisite fusion of Mediterranean and Mexican cuisine. Don't miss the opportunity to visit Mexico with us. ¡Bienvenido! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gillow Hotel Mexico City
Gillow Mexico City
Hotel Gillow Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing