We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good place to see MC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
Ranked #24 of 305 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Gdynia, Poland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good place to see MC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Good place to see MC. Located in nice Zona Rosa, where you may go outside safely at evening, with some clubs and restaurants nearby open till 02.00. Very nice hall and atmosphere. For some people might be nioisly, especially rooms near the street, but this is price to pay if you want to be close to the "life streets". Also some convinient stores and markets nearby.
The only complain is lack of communication between hotel stuff. We arrived without luggage (should be next day delivered) and dispite to inform Reception / Concierge and later ask them for any update if our luggage arrived - almost before check-out we found that our luggage was in the hotel the day before, and only Bell Boy at that time on duty known it!! Shame...

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Felipe B, General Manager at Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you very much for your review, The Geneve Hotel Apologies for the inconvinience regarding your lauggage delivery, be sure that I have just made the proper arrangements with all the staff to make sure that this won't happen again. You have just help us to solve this problem. Thanks!!!!

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    261
    91
    18
    15
See reviews for
109
186
63
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I first stayed there with my wife in the 70s and I continue to return to Mexico each year and always stay at geneve hotel. I now stay there with my boyfriend as it's in a safe happening area. The beds room size bathrooms all perfect. For your first visit to Mexico City don't think of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank itsme80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Felipe B, General Manager at Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
We really appreciate your time to write this review, all the Geneve Hotel colaborators are always pleased to give the best service to all our guests, our first concern is to satisfied our guest expectations, as I always answer, all the guest reviews are addressed to all the Geneve colaborators, it help us a lot.
Thanks again and we hope to see you soon

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel, very close to some bars, restaurants and tourist spots such as Angel of Independence and the beautiful parks along Paseo de la Raforma.
Seemed to be mostly business travelers in the hotel, but that didn't bother us.
Awesome beds!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Felipe B, General Manager at Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
On behalf of all the Hotel Geneve colaborators and myself, let me thank you for the time to write this comment, our main concern is to get the best guest satisfaction, all of our guests comments are reviewed by me and the executive committee.
We hope to see you soon

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Great hotel to stay at - very clean and well presented. Beautiful reception areas and the atrium with the stained glass ceiling is just gorgeous. The breakfast room is another lovely area with gusts having the option of breakfast from the menu or the buffet. The location was perfect for using the subway, visiting sites, finding restaurants, accessing money exchanges and enjoying mexico city.
We had a room booked beside the atrium on the 2nd floor but when we arrived there in the early hours of Saturday morning there was a wedding reception being held in the atrium area. The noise from this was very loud and would have made sleeping at before the 3 am cut off time impossible. We asked for and were given a room in the older part of the hotel for that night and told we would be able to move back into our original room the next morning.
The room we were given was smaller but very quite and we were happy with this. When we went o reception the next morning to be moved back to our original room we were told that it had been given to another person but after some time the receptionist was able to give us the same type of room on a lower floor.
I suggest that anyone booking into the hotel inquires about any functions booked and the associated noise levels to determine if they will be affected.
Would like to give the hotel a 4.5 due to the inconvenience of the noise on the first night and the room booking issue but system does not allow.

Room Tip: Check to see that there are no functions on with noise levels that could affect the room you will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SootyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Felipe B, General Manager at Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
We thank you very much for staying with us and writting a review about your stay.
The Hotel Geneve staff is always looking to improve and give the best of service to all of our guests, we hope to see you soon.

Thanks again
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Hello, I have never been to Hotel Geneve and had not heard of it until I was doing my family research. It just so happens that Thomas Sinclair Gore ( 1869-1955) was an architect who designed, built and owned the Hotel Geneve in the historic "Zona Rosa" district of Mexico City.
Once finding this out I had to look this up to see what this Hotel was about, and what an amazing surprise. I absolutely love what it looks like!! Well done in the care of this this Historic Lady!
I can tell you if I ever go to Mexico City I will be staying there, just the the beauty of it makes me want to travel there to experience it!
I was so happy to see so many grand pictures, thank you all for sharing those! Sincerely Diana Allen (ancestor)

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Diana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Felipe B, General Manager at Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments, yes, you are right, Thomas Sinclair Gore was an architect who designed, built and owned the Hotel Geneve, since 1991 Ostar, a company of Grupo Carso own and operate this splendid hotel, in 2007, our President of the company started the remodelation of the Hotel with the main porpose of recovering the unic ambiance and escence of "the old times".

Thanks again for the time and comment about us, we really appreciate it.

Hope to see you soon

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

I really loved the charm and richness of the hotel. It was like stepping back into a by-gone era with the elegant richness. Close by to shops and restaurants. The room walls are a bit thin though. Massage in the spa was nice. I would stay here again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Felipe B, General Manager at Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
On behalf of the Geneve Hotel I really appreciate your kind comments and the time for written them, our main concern is to make our guest stay a pleasent one, all our guest comments are forward to our head departments to have the certainty that we are doing correctly our jobs

Sincerely

Thanks Again!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Much nicer than I expected, wonderful old hotel with personality and presence.

Spacious corner room was clean and comfortable, with two lovely windows that opened to a lively street scene. Even at the hottest part of the day, a gentle breeze cooled the room- but as the evening wound down, the sounds of the nighttime ambience were sealed out when the windows were shut. Hotel Geneve could hold her own in any European capital city.

The photos do not do justice to the public areas. This hotel sparkles at night and lends a touch of Old World class to the neighborhood. But the real reason I will return is the staff. Always a smile and a 'Buenos Dias' from every housekeeper, doorman or other support person you encounter. All requests were acted upon promptly.

The concierge, Señor Ariel, would be an asset to any five star hotel in London or Paris. His suggestions and advice were both helpful and personalized. His graciousness and hospitality were reflected by the staff around him. My family and I were treated warmly, as if we were invited guests in someone's home.

This establishment is highly recommended for couples, families and business travelers. If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room away from the front -- in our case, however, we enjoyed the front corner room. It was great for people watching and soaking up the experience of our first visit to Mexico City!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spanx525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Felipe B, General Manager at Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
On behalf of the Hotel Geneve, I'd like to thank you for the comment you made about our Hotel, our job is to exceed our guest expectations, we are very much concern in all our guest comments, they help us to achieve our main goal, I personally read each one of them and participate our colaborators about our guest experiences.
Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Room Mate Valentina
Room Mate Valentina
#20 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 stars 717 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Ibis Styles Mexico Zona Rosa
Ibis Styles Mexico Zona Rosa
#32 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 stars 277 reviews
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#16 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reforma / Zona Rosa
NH Collection Mexico City Reforma
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
#17 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico

Property: Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
Address: Londres 130 Col. Juarez, Mexico City 06600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Reforma / Zona Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#31 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#52 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the most legendary hotel in Mexico. Avant-garde elegance and first class service are characteristics that the Hotel Geneve has maintained throughout the more than one hundred years since its inception. The architecture and decoration bring to mind a classical European style. The many antiques and pieces of art have become an integral facet of this museum hotel. Located in the heart of the famous Zona Rosa, the hotel is just a couple of blocks away from one of the most important avenues in the country, the well known Paseo de la Reforma. The Hotel is within walking distance of business and leisure areas which include many restaurants, bars, clubs, museums and the Centro Historico, or Historic City Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geneve Hotel Mexico City
Geneve Mexico City
Hotel Geneve Ciudad De Mexico Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing