We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel with so much history!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
Ranked #34 of 305 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
TAMPA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel with so much history!”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I loved everything about this hotel! Staff was amazing and so accommodating! Always asking if we needed help and mKing sure we had everything we needed.. Hotel is beautiful and super clean! It's a museum! Lobby is gorgeous and rooms are nice, clean and a great size. Wifi is one of the fastest I've ever used! Location is great! Lots of places to eat, bars, convenience stores, you name it! Will definitely stay there again when in Mexico City!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aria50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Felipe B, General Manager at Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
The Hotel Geneve really appreciate the time taken for your comments, we are pleased to hear that your stay was as you expected. All our guest comments are very important to us, as they show us how we are performing our guest satisfaction culture.

Thanks again

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    347
    128
    28
    18
See reviews for
163
264
82
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

The hotel still has it's old world charm but The Veranda Restaurant has made changes for the worst. They stopped serving butter; now, you are given a bowl with little yellow cubes of Grease!
It certainly isn't butter not even Oleo,just tasteless goo.
What used to be 3 strips of bacon is now 3 one half pieces which equals 1 1/2 strips. They may save a few Pesos on the front end but the lost my business at an average of $20 USD. "VIPS" restaurant down the street still offers the best value for your money.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Felipe B, General Manager at Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Value Guest, on behalf of the Hotel Geneve I wolud like to offer my sincere apologie about what you encountered at breakfast, I'm deeply sorry that because of your veranda comment the grade that you gave to the entire hotel was poor. Be sure that our first goal is to exceed our guest expectations regarding all the hotel services. I will take proper actions to solve the Veranda situation.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Nice hotel with a splendid entrance & lobby filled with artefacts & the library & bar area is adorable.
Chose a larger suite room which was spacious enough, though nothing special & the view was horrible.
Comfortable bed & enjoyed breakfast in the room as the breakfast area seemed crowded.
Service was patchy at best, with a few errors noted & some reception staff could learn to smile.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieScott70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Felipe B, General Manager at Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments, we will sure keep on eye our colaborators that do not smile, this is something that we cannot accept as it is a standard of the hotel.
Thanks again for letting us know.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We had a wonderful time at the hotel Geneve. Service was fantastic, check-in and check-out in seconds, concierge (Ariel and Giovanni) unbelievably helpful and knowledgeable, Rufina (housekeeping) is the cutest and nicest person in the world, all the personnel in the restaurant was amazing, lots of security, business center and spa staff were also helpful and very nice. The hotel is beautiful but needs some updates. The carpet in the hallways looks very old and gives a lack of maintenance impression; room furniture is also old and makes the small room space look even smaller and uncomfortable. Although rooms are small, with modern and more functional furniture they could be more pleasing to the eye and even more comfortable. Location is good, very central, close to the Angel de la Independencia, but if your room looks towards Londres street it could be very noisy on Friday and Saturday nights.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbarrag2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Felipe B, General Manager at Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Google Translation
EL hotel Geneve agradece el tiempo dedicado para realizar este comentario. Cada uno de los comentarios de nuestros huespedes son tomados con suma importancia y son indicadores de nuestro trabajo.

Gracias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Wonderful stay!

It is in Zona Rosa, not far from the metro insurgentes (Line 1). Everything is within the 5 min walking distance (7-11, Circle-K, metro, KFC, McDonald's, Santander ATM) - this is very important for us. Actually, this is our second trip to Mexico City. We lived in Centro Historico when we arrived Mexico, and headed for SMA, Guadalajara for like two weeks, then we came back to Mexico City and flew back to US. At first, we thought living around Zócalo might be a good choice for it is near to many places - yeah, it might be true. However, it was about 11pm when we arrived at Mexico City. When we got to the hotel, we were starving (food on Delta sucks). When we went out tried to grab some food: all restaurants were closed. God bless, we found one convenience store and only bought some BIMBO bread...

However, this time, we lived in Zona Rosa, it was so cool. Those stores and restaurants open till late night (at least) - not like Centro Historico, nothing but policemen at 11pm. One more thing, the policeman told us the Zócalo metro station was closed during Christmas.

There are many fabulous restaurants around the hotel. Since it is so close to the metro, many nice restaurants is around 30min metro+walk distance, like Les Moustaches, Pujol, Anatol...

We arrived at Hotel Geneve in the morning, around 9am. They offered us a first floor room. I have to say that the first night is not as good as we expected. Since it is on the first floor, there is no outside views. I don't know if other rooms have the same issue, but the Room 149 have no power outlet in the room! Oh, yes, there is a one behind a cabinet, which is used by a coffee maker. We have to charge our iPad and iPhone in the bathroom...so bad.

So we let them change our room to a higher floor on the next day. This time, the room is wonderful - at least there are two power outlets beside the bed. The bed is comfortable and the room is clean. The window is facing the Londres street but quiet. The front desk is very helpful and the staffs speak flawless English. Considering the price, I highly recommend this hotel.

Oh, one thing to mention: I found that the cleaning stuff didn't vacuum the room. One night, I some potato chips fell on the floor, but the remaining is still on the floor after the room is cleaned.

Room Tip: If possible, not choose the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garfield_Lon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Felipe B, General Manager at Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments, we apprecite the time for writting them. Be sure that everything that you point out is already addressed to the departments heads.
All our guest comments are very important.

Thank you very much

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Yucatan
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Great location! Any necessity you could wish for is within less than a minutes walk from the hotel. Great architecture and history!

My room was spacious, sunny, clean, quiet and comfortable. Updated. Spacious bath with plenty of hot water. Flat screen with lots of cable channels. Comfortable beds with plump pillows, coffee service, safe, big closet, iron and board. The wifi was a tad weak but It was OK.

The front desk was helpful and always available. Friendly, uniformed 24-hour security at the front door of the hotel and non-intimidating police officers are obvious all over the area.

Breakfast buffet was included and it was surprisingly very, very good!

A great value, excellent location and home-away-from-home comfort! I'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miguelsmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Felipe B, General Manager at Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Google Translation
El Hotel Geneve por mi conducto le agradece sinceramente sus comentarios, siempre es un placer saber que hemos logrado satisfacer a nuestros huespedes.

Gracias por tomarse el tiempo para hacer este comentario.

Sinceramente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
153 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is well located in the Zona Rosa, and is a good alternative for a business trip or if it is important to be in central DF. The hotel is old and a bit run down along the edges, but is certainly well maintained. The staff are helpful enough. The wifi was essentially useless in the room, and at times ok in the lobby. Overall, I would say that this was a good experience.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Carlos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Felipe B, General Manager at Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
We really appreciate your kind comments, all our guests comments are taken seriously.

We hope to see you again in a near future

sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Reforma / Zona Rosa
NH Collection Mexico City Reforma
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Room Mate Valentina
Room Mate Valentina
#37 of 305 in Mexico City
821 reviews
Juárez
Emporio Reforma
Emporio Reforma
#31 of 305 in Mexico City
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Galeria Plaza Reforma
Galeria Plaza Reforma
#35 of 305 in Mexico City
1,101 reviews
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#12 of 305 in Mexico City
1,356 reviews
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico

Property: Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
Address: Calle Londres 130, Mexico City 06600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Reforma / Zona Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#31 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#50 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the most legendary hotel in Mexico. Avant-garde elegance and first class service are characteristics that the Hotel Geneve has maintained throughout the more than one hundred years since its inception. The architecture and decoration bring to mind a classical European style. The many antiques and pieces of art have become an integral facet of this museum hotel. Located in the heart of the famous Zona Rosa, the hotel is just a couple of blocks away from one of the most important avenues in the country, the well known Paseo de la Reforma. The Hotel is within walking distance of business and leisure areas which include many restaurants, bars, clubs, museums and the Centro Historico, or Historic City Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geneve Hotel Mexico City
Geneve Mexico City
Hotel Geneve Ciudad De Mexico Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing