We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable Luxury in the Zona Rosa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
Ranked #33 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I chose the hotel for the location in the Zona Rosa, but I was surprised and impressed with everything about it. The staff were very helpful, the room were spacious and quiet, and the hotel interior is quite spectacular. The hotel is larger than it appears, but it still feels like a small hotel, and you get very personalized attention. I got the room for half price on hotels.com. One of the best deals ever!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gregc16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Felipe B, General Manager at Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind comments, we appreciate that you choose the Hotel Geneve for your stay, we hope to serve you again

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (952)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

395 - 401 of 952 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

Sure wish I could've stayed here, after walking through the public areas and talking to the wonderful concierge. The hotel is just beautiful, with fascinating historic displays. Like a museum in itself! As upscale as it is, I felt totally welcome to browse around. Gorgeous fresh flower arrangements.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
Thank AK_journey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Felipe B, General Manager at Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Yhank you very much for your comments, our goal is to meet our guest expectations, we hope to serve you again in a near future

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Recently spent four nights in Hotel Geneve in the Zona Rosa area of Mexico City. Wonderful staff, hotel lobby is like a mini museum detailing the history of this historic landmark place. Details all the different famous people who 'slept' here, rooms nicely appointed, comfortable beds, friendly and professional staff, delicious buffet breakfast, and in a great location. Really enjoyed time here and would not hesitate to return. Felt like I was back in a grand hotel at the time of the century in their elegant lobby, the phone lobby bar is in itself a mini museum to the invention of the telephone. There is even a phone that has the President of Mexico at time of the opening of this hotel ( 1907) talking about Thomas A. Edison and his great invention! Location is in the heart of Zona Rosa, lots of restaurants and shops near by.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank czmkathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Felipe B, General Manager at Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind comments, we care about our guests

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This hotel is in a beautiful building, with spectacular lobby and bar. Service is top notch with very professional and helpful staff. We asked for a room at the back and got one. Also we were given a late checkout which was much appreciated. We got a good rate from the hotel website with Trip Advisor discount code which included buffet breakfast in a lovely garden room with foliage on the walls and songbirds in cages.

The hotel is in an area aimed at tourists- there is a mini-mall across the street with Starbucks and fast food. There are a lot of bars/clubs in the area but not many good restaurants nevertheless the location is good for seeing Mexico city. Metro is just around the corner and Reforma is less than 10 minutes walk along a pleasant pedestrianised street.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Felipe B, General Manager at Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments, we look forward to see you again

sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We had never been to Mexico City before, so we were looking for somewhere that was nice, safe, and in a good location. Hotel Geneve absolutely fit the bill. We found a fantastic deal via Mexvax, which was a Tripadvisor partner site until recently. Upon arrival, we were pretty much blown away by how elegant the hotel was. It is an older establishment and it shows in some areas, like the hallways, but it's incredibly classy overall. We try hard but our Spanish sucks so it was nice to have a front desk that speaks English. Rooms were very well-equipped with really comfortable beds, hangers, a hair dryer for the ladies, and toilets that are able to handle TP. We did not find noise to be a problem at all; once the AC was cranked up, we couldn't hear anything outside except for a trumpet from the nearby government building each evening at roughly 6:15 p.m., and we enjoyed this nightly performance. Free WiFi is advertised as available in the lobby, but I had full WiFi reception throughout the property, including our fourth floor room.

The surrounding neighborhood was also pretty great, full of food and drink options (and certainly no shortage of sex shops if you are so inclined). There's also an Extra market and a Circle K on the same block for your supplies. If you're headed further afield, taxis are always available out front, and Insurgentes Metro station is a five-minute walk. We stumbled all over this neighborhood at all hours and safety never struck us as a concern.

Overall, you get a whole lot at Hotel Geneve for what you pay. I would most definitely stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BestiaDeAmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Felipe B, General Manager at Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments we are pleased that you find out a hotel that succeed your expetations, we hope to see you again

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I have stayed at the Hotel Geneve in the Zona Rosa on two occasions and am going back in June. The service is impeccable and the staff very helpful and accommodating. The hotel itself is elegant, with a beautiful lobby and bar. The location can't be beat for easy access to the sights. The metro is just a few blocks away. I highly recommend the hotel in all respects..

Room Tip: Request a room in the old section, overlooking Calle Londres, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Felipe B, General Manager at Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind comment, as you wrote we will be waiting for your next visit, if you please call me at (52)55-50-800-601 in México or send me an e-mail to lfbarrera@ostar.com.mx so I can take your reservation, the first letter on the e-mail is l as in luis, or you can try ssantos@ostar.com.mx
thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

When looking for options to stay within the "cool" area of Mexico City, there are endless different hotels. But this one really stands out.

From the main entrance, going through the hallways, the two-stories library and restaurant/bar, until your room, all the decoration represents the concept of a "Museum Hotel" perfectly! It really takes you back in the days where Porfirio Díaz was a main character in the Mexican History.

The rooms, are comfortable and well equipped, mainly the bathroom! :) However, if you have really light sleep, you will wanna stay again from the rooms heading to main street.

In addition, all the staff is super nice, ready to answer all you questions and help you as far as possible.

Don't miss going for a drink in the phone bar, having breakfast in the restaurant and walking through all the corners of the hotel, you never know what is waiting for you just around the corner.

Finally the location, you will have on walking distance important boutiques, bars and restaurants for all kinds of crowd. And if you just want to take a nice cup of coffee, there is a "Cielito Querido Café" just a few steps away. Nevertheless, if you are looking for the trendy zone Condesa, it only takes a 80 pesos cab ride until there.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CTC07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Felipe B, General Manager at Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

We appreciate very much your comments, we hope to see you soon


Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Reforma / Zona Rosa
NH Collection Mexico City Reforma
Juárez
Emporio Reforma
Emporio Reforma
#25 of 312 in Mexico City
968 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Room Mate Valentina
Room Mate Valentina
#42 of 312 in Mexico City
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Sheraton Mexico City Maria Isabel Hotel
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Galeria Plaza Reforma
Galeria Plaza Reforma
#36 of 312 in Mexico City
1,418 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Hotel PF
Hotel PF
#62 of 312 in Mexico City
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico

Address: Calle Londres 130, Mexico City 06600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Reforma / Zona Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#22 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#50 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: $88 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the most legendary hotel in Mexico. Avant-garde elegance and first class service are characteristics that the Hotel Geneve has maintained throughout the more than one hundred years since its inception. The architecture and decoration bring to mind a classical European style. The many antiques and pieces of art have become an integral facet of this museum hotel. Located in the heart of the famous Zona Rosa, the hotel is just a couple of blocks away from one of the most important avenues in the country, the well known Paseo de la Reforma. The Hotel is within walking distance of business and leisure areas which include many restaurants, bars, clubs, museums and the Centro Historico, or Historic City Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geneve Hotel Mexico City
Geneve Mexico City
Hotel Geneve Ciudad De Mexico Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing