We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
Ranked #33 of 306 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

It's a great hotel in a convenient neighborhood. It has old and proud history and it's very well-maintained till these days. The room we were staying was on the small side and it got noisy on weekends (lots of bars around the hotel), but other than that everything was very comfortable. I had an unfortunate accident and injured my ankle during the stay. The hotel kindly lent me a wheelchair that I can use around the city and helped me get up and down the stairs on the main entrance of the hotel. I would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank strpyllm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Felipe B, General Manager at Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
At the Hotel Geneve Mexico City we value all of our guests comments

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    335
    123
    28
    17
See reviews for
155
257
78
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for five nights when we arrived we checked our room and t he beds were really small we asked for another room and no problem they changed it to something bigger. Thank you manuela. The hotel rooms are a ll a bit tired but the rooms were clean and the beds really comfortable. The feel of the hotel was pleasant and you felt part of the ongoing history of such an old lady.
There was a conference on and loads of security in place but despite that the staff were very professional and helpful. My friends also requested a room change and were satisfied with the professional service. The hotel is in a great position for getting around the city. Although we used to live in mexico many years ago and know our way around we used the taxi service outside the hotel and it was great. We would stay again

Room Tip: Ask for large beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patricia1416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Felipe B, General Manager at Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
We really appreciate your comments thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Excelent place to stay. The lobby staff was very helpfull, Hotel Lobby has a very old look but very taken care off, Its that Old World Charm that is amazing. Lobby looks like a museum.

Room was very tidy and clean, but it had kind of old furniture, hallways looked like something out of the Shinning, kind of dark and creepy.

the concierge staff wasnt really helpfull. didnt have a lot of info on the Wrestling Matches (which is very big in mexico) and he quoted 100 peso rate to the coliseum when it really was 20 or 30.

location is great, in the middle of the Pink Zone, in front of a small shopping center, and 2 or 3 blocks to the central avenue, paseo de la Reforma, where you can have something ti eat, walk around or eart something. the neighborhood is very safe and close to a lot of public transportation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gsepulve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Felipe B, General Manager at Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments, sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bombay
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Hotel situated on a quiet street in the centre of town reflects a lovely old world charm. High ceilings, wooden beams and old photographs well displayed. The rooms are large and spacious and the bathrooms well fitted. There is a lovely skylit restaurant with bird cages and sunshine streaming through. The staff is vey polite and helpful. The downstairs restaurant is serve by lovely ladies with quality food and a nice choice of items. A delightful place.

Room Tip: Take a room facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A2B1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Felipe B, General Manager at Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments we appreciate them

sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

They demanded a $150.00 MXP fee for charging the hotel taxi to my room. Upon checking out they demanded cash ! The concierge lied and was useless. The manager, Sr. Barrera refused to see me and will not answer emails. I note that he is quick to respond to any semi positive reviews on this site but help a frequent customer ? No way.
The floor of the Terrace restaurant was constantly filthy. The neighborhood is sleazy ( think Times Square in the 1960's).
If you are a casual traveler with no plans but to sleep here you should be OK . But, if you need the personnel to help you, forget about it !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Felipe B, General Manager at Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Sr. I'm really sorry that you grade the hotel as you did. I did not avoided you, I was in a meeting, and I asked our concierge to give you my answer regarding the cash that you were asking at the front desk to pay a cab service, which we as a hotel policy are not authorized to give, they explained it to you. Yes we did support you the day before with $ 200 pesos (more ore less) and charged it to your credit card, yes, with a bank credit card commisson, it was done as a courtesy of the hotel, but front desk did tell you that it was an exception. The concierge and front desk colaborators told you that you need to go to the bank. Cashing out money to apply it against a credit card is not accepted in most of the hotels in Mexico, for two main reasons, the cash that the hotels have at the different departments is not enough to pay services not provided by the hotel, and second for security reasons, that's why I remark that our colaborators told to go to the bank. I'm sorry to tell you that what you posted as a negative comments is not entirely what really happened. I apolaogize if we did not exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Absolutely loved the location of this hotel. We reached at 1am and there were so many restaurants and bars open and it was super alive :) They do have a strip clubs etc around but nothing offensive. Very close to Reforma so that is fun too. We walked quite a bit and it was really nice. So that's as far as the location is concerned.

As for the hotel itself, it is old 100+ years and has a lot of interesting antique stuff in it. I loved the way the bar is set up. On the negative side, the hotel is really old and you see that in some places that you shouldn't. It was overall comfortable and nice but can do better like updating the television sets, bathrooms etc.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug_mk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Felipe B, General Manager at Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments, we value them

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

As many have mentioned before, this hotel is in an excellent location. Very pleasant to walk around at night, very convenient to the metro, and even walkable to Chapultepec and all its museums. There's also always taxis out front if that's more your style. There were a few good places to eat in the area too, for the few nights when we weren't feeling very ambitious. The lobby is as beautiful as it looks in the pictures, and was often abuzz with sitting and talking, working on laptops, taking pictures and waiting on tours. Our Junior Suite was huge, and the few times we interacted with the cleaning staff they were very friendly and helpful. Also, the linens were great, and the breakfast was delicious!

As to the downsides, the room was a little dirty, more of a general maintenance/upkeep issue than a problem with the cleaning staff. The white armchair in our room had a few stains, and no matter what we tried the bathroom floor got completely covered in water every time we showered. The bed was horrible - I felt every tiny movement my husband made despite being on the far end of a very large king sized bed. The hotel seems to have a lot of deals that include breakfast, but then the restaurant is completely unprepared to handle such a large number of people at breakfast time, with long wait times and stressed-out looking waitstaff. I interacted with the concierge a few times, and he seemed a little put out to be talking to me each time. I ended up going to the front desk staff for most concierge-type inquiries because they seemed much happier to help.

Would I stay there again? Maybe. I'm not dying to go back to this particular hotel, but I did love the location. I would probably look around for other places in the area first, but if this is all I could get I wouldn't be opposed to going there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parslane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Felipe B, General Manager at Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments, be sure that what you wrote it's been delivered to the proper department, supervised by me

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Room Mate Valentina
Room Mate Valentina
#27 of 306 in Mexico City
806 reviews
Juárez
Emporio Reforma
Emporio Reforma
#34 of 306 in Mexico City
742 reviews
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reforma / Zona Rosa
NH Collection Mexico City Reforma
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#5 of 306 in Mexico City
638 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Ibis Styles Mexico Zona Rosa
Ibis Styles Mexico Zona Rosa
#44 of 306 in Mexico City
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico

Property: Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
Address: Calle Londres 130, Mexico City 06600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Reforma / Zona Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#31 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#50 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the most legendary hotel in Mexico. Avant-garde elegance and first class service are characteristics that the Hotel Geneve has maintained throughout the more than one hundred years since its inception. The architecture and decoration bring to mind a classical European style. The many antiques and pieces of art have become an integral facet of this museum hotel. Located in the heart of the famous Zona Rosa, the hotel is just a couple of blocks away from one of the most important avenues in the country, the well known Paseo de la Reforma. The Hotel is within walking distance of business and leisure areas which include many restaurants, bars, clubs, museums and the Centro Historico, or Historic City Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Jetsetter, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geneve Hotel Mexico City
Geneve Mexico City
Hotel Geneve Ciudad De Mexico Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing