We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa Gonzales”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
Ranked #28 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Great space. First time in Mexico City that we stayed outside of the historic centre. Friendly staff
, safe, beautiful gardens, spacious room, quiet . Good hot water! A nice place to return to after running around all day taking him the amazing
Galleries an museums.

Room Tip: Inside rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coastalVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Thank you for your kind review.
Hope to have the pleasure of having you stay with us again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (708)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

277 - 283 of 708 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2013

Great little spot with lovely gardens, secure grounds with good security. Friendly staff who spoke english and spanish. The rooms were clean however the beds are so so tiny and rock hard we were also on a noisy rd where we could hear sirens and horns non stop room 123. We were so tired after the first night we brought ear plugs and woke to the sound of a staff member hammering christmas decorations right into our room wall in the morning i was not happy.I also had issues with the hot water in the shower. The reception staff were very helpful. I would stay again if i had a different bed and room as its a great spot with security.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tequilasunrise4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we are always very grateful that you take the time to share your opinions.

We should be changing the mattress of the room within a couple of days. We will pay more attention to the hot water issue and the noise so it will not happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Great little casa that is clean, safe and run by very helpful staff. The casa has nice common areas where you can enjoy a drink with your friends, breakfast is available for purchase, and clean, comfortable rooms. The location is good for accessing zona rosa and Roma, walking to the archaeology museum, and good restaurants and delicious street food are nearby. The hotel is very relaxing and a nice break from the intensity of Mexico City. Strong wifi, free bottle of water a day, and safe.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank thebestlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I just checked out of HCG after staying eleven nights. The grounds are so pleasant and conducive to meeting and chatting with many interesting people. There's plenty of hot water and the mattress was perfect.

Most importantly the staff was cultured, knowledgeable and ready at all times to make my stay comfortable. I would be proud to call them my friends.

Room Tip: Room 117 is quite small and good for a single traveler. It's on the 2nd floor up a narrow iron s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geoffbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Thank you for your kind review!

We do want to share with readers that we take all review very seriously. We have been working on all issues mentioned in reviews, we have solved most of them. Almost all rooms now have better water pressure, new mattresses, new curtains and new upholstery.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

My only regret about staying at the Casa Gonzalez was that I wanted to have more time to spend there. I had arrived to the city after being ill in San Miguel and I found the staff to be very attentive and helpful as I was travelling solo with no support. They looked after getting food to me and made me feel welcome and as comfortable as one could be in my condition. Small things like this mean a lot when you are at the end of many weeks of travelling.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsBonitaAalders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Thank you for your most kind review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Thank you tripadvisor commentators for helping us choose Casa Gonzalez. Our 4 night stay was peaceful, close to transportation, clean, efficient, comfortable, and above all very welcoming. We arrived late after a 7hrs bus ride from Oaxaca. The receptionist Laura was so helpful, we want to thank her so much. We immediately were shown our rooms, were given walking directions to all the close by restaurants, and from then on were helped in any way we needed. The following days we were able to travel by public transportation, this was also with her help and direction. Laura even greeted us at the door with umbrellas on our return as it was pouring rain. The location of the hotel is also in a safe, and pretty part of the city, one block from the Reforma. Each morning we ate breakfast in the hotel restaurant, very good service and helpful wait staff. On Laura's day off, the gentleman who was at the front desk, was just as helpful, especially getting to understand the taxi system and what to pay them, something we knew nothing about. Casa Gonzalez comes highly recommended by myself and five other travel companions.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We spent six nights at Casa Gonzales. It is in a terrific location in the Zona Rosa area with easy access to museums and restaurants, metro and buses. We had a large quiet room onto the peaceful courtyard garden. The staff were very helpful, in particular Manu who helped us with several problems taking extra effort which we really appreciated as we spoke no Spanish and it was our first visit to Mexico City. The first night we were so cold we nearly checked out. We had ongoing problems with heaters working intermittently which to be fair the staff tried to resolve. One needs to have extreme patience when waiting for hot water to come through. The many instructions about water conservation are ironic as one wastes a lot of water adjusting the temperature.We appreciated the many strengths of the Casa as a budget hotel and would recommend it with these reservations.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 824sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Thank you for your kind review.

We are working on the water issues, we have done major remodeling but need to do more.
Currently we are working on increasing water pressure, we are doing one house at a time. We should be finished soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Juárez
Emporio Reforma
Emporio Reforma
#25 of 312 in Mexico City
961 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Room Mate Valentina
Room Mate Valentina
#41 of 312 in Mexico City
884 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Hotel PF
Hotel PF
#62 of 312 in Mexico City
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Plaza Revolucion
#38 of 312 in Mexico City
598 reviews
Stella Maris
#116 of 312 in Mexico City
130 reviews
Condesa
Hotel Roosevelt
Hotel Roosevelt
#99 of 312 in Mexico City
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Gonzalez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Gonzalez

Address: Calle Rio Sena 69, Mexico City 06500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#11 Best Value Hotel in Mexico City
#17 Green Hotel in Mexico City
#18 Business Hotel in Mexico City
#21 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: $49 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Gonzalez 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most important is that we want to make this your home away from home, at an accessible price.Casa Gonzalez is four old homes surrounded by courtyards and gardens of different eras that have been adapted to make a home for travelers. The two original homes were built by the current owners grandfather in the mid 1920's.One of the houses belonged to a famous movie star, Lupe Velez (who married Johnny Weissmuller for a few years).The latest addition was built in the early 1940's by a relatively well know architect, Roberto Buenrostro, as his private residence. The guest house started operating in the early 30's by the grandmother and great grandmother of the current owners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Casa Gonzalez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Gonzalez Hotel Mexico City
Casa Gonzalez Mexico City
Hotel Casa Gonzalez Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing