We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely and very central.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
Ranked #19 of 306 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely and very central.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

This was my 5th stay at Casa Gonzalez and I really love this very charming hotel in the middle of Mexico City. Easy and convenient to reach, only a few minutes walk from the shops and restaurants in Zona Rosa and despite its central location surprisingly calm and very silent during the night. Have had different rooms every visit and they have all been spotlessly clean and very charming and colourful just like the common areas. Free Wifi but a few computers are also available in the small reception. The personnel has always been very friendly and helpful and I have always felt really safe despite arriving and departing at odd hours. They wait in the door until you are safe in the taxi which for me shows that they really care about their customers. Can highly recommend this great little hotel if you want something nice, clean, central and safe without spending a fortune. Look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LACopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your most kind review. As I've said previously, it is guests like you that motivate us to keep on improving.
Hope to have the pleasure to see you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    243
    59
    21
    8
See reviews for
119
237
93
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We have stayed at Casa Gonzalez 5 or 6 times in the last 10 years. The rooms are comfortable, the location is excellent and the opportunity to talk to other visitors from around the world at breakfast is an opportunity that we cherish. The ambience and charm is rare to find these days and every room is unique.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barryyyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
We want to thank you for such a kind review. It is guests like you that motivate us to keep on improving.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zirahuen, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

We know that DF hotel costs have gone through the roof so we didn't have great expectations from this hotel with such reasonable prices. Well, what a pleasant surprise! It is actually a number of converted homes, some of whom have quite interesting histories. The garden areas are lovely and one can access the wifi from the patios (it can be spotty from some rooms). The owner was charming and incredibly helpful. The location was excellent. It is near the Paseo de la Reforma, but in a quiet, safe neighborhood. Actually, it was hard to find the hotel's entry as it does not have a sign. We just asked a corner food stand and they pointed us to it. We stayed on the ground floor and the room was adequate, but not luxurious. However, for the price, we were completely satisfied. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post such a nice review; It is very motivating to know you had a good stay.

Happy holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

This is a good place to kick back in a chair in the court yard right next to your room and rest a while before your next adventure of the day in Mexico City. And the price is right. OK so the place is a tad funky, a tad worn but it is well kept up and wears well its 20's or 30's architectural character. The office help is attentive and the communal breakfast is served on Mexican dinnerware (none of that generic buffet you are likely to get in your average Mexican hotel). Because of its reputation and tradition, you may find yourself sharing your table with a visiting professor, a French anthropologist, a Mexican on business or a young Australian world traveler. It is all part of the ambiance. For dinner, just hop across the Paseo de la Reforma and you are in the Zona Rosa. A pair of walking shoes will take you to Chapultapec Park or to the Zocolo by way of the Palacio de Bella Artes. One note of caution: Some of the upstairs rooms are to be avoided. They are bad conversions from whatever was upstairs once.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kennoche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we always greatly value your opinion.

The two main houses were built in 1920 by my grandfather, and started as the original guest house in about 1930. The other two houses were built in the 30's and 40's.

The original lay out of the main house were four rooms that shared one bath room. When we started it was rented like that with just one bath... The rent was $4.00 USD per week including all meals, laundry and daily room service. Those were difficult times.

Over time we renovated the house adding bathrooms to every room. It was a challenge especially in the old house. I have to admit some of the rooms in the old houses are small.

We have continuous remodeling: all the plumbing, the wiring and most bath rooms have been entirely redone over the last few years.

Well that is perhaps more than you wanted to hear about Casa Gonzalez... But I believe it is important for me to share this with you.

Again thank you for your most kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

The Casa Gonzalez is in a great location within walking distance of neighborhood restaurants. At night it is quiet which is hard to find in Mexico. It could be a really wonderful place to stay but isn't. There is no management presence so when the recepcionist was snippy there was nobody to turn to. When there were no towels in my room there was no urgency on the part of the woman in the office to do anything about it until it suited her schedule. When the door to my room wouldn't open because the lock was broken, there was no sense that maybe I should be given a different room - one with a lock that wasn't broken. If there had been good management they would have checked to see that rooms had been cleaned and restocked with towels after cleaning and they would have known that the lock was broken and fixed it because after all if you can't open the door to a room you have lost the revenue that would have been gained from renting it out.

The other problem at Casa Gonzalez for many Americans is smoking. Yes, you are allowed to smoke outside in Mexico but it isn't very pleasant to be sitting in the patio and have people at adjacent tables smoking or people smoking on the shared balconies of some of the rooms. Since the two patio areas are separate, it should be possible to designate only one of them as smoking or make the whole place no smoking.

Because they were unable to open the door for the room I was originally scheduled to occupy I was assigned to one that was very small. A large person would not have been able to use the bathroom. The mattress was harder than anything I have ever experienced even in remote areas of Mexico and had been covered with plastic under the sheet so everytime I changed position the sheet would move over the plastic, producing creases that dug into my skin. The pillows are old and lumpy - I couldn't help but wonder as sleepless hours passed if they were the original pillows? The owners should be forced to sleep on that bed and see how they like it.

My overall impression is that this could be a great place to stay but it needs to have money spent on it which probably isn't going to happen. It isn't even a great value - it is just a great discomfort. Too bad.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank annie90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for posting such a detailed review of Casa Gonzalez, we always appreciate your opinion. We are sorry your stay was not as pleasant as we would have liked it to be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Mexico city hotels are expensive, and this place was astonishingly cheap -- a single room here was less than half the price of anything else I could find. And for that price I got a lot -- a clean room with all the basic amenities, a great location,
and public areas that are just beautiful -- colorful dining areas and a lovely courtyard. And best of all, five star service.

But of course some aspects of the hotel are exactly what you'd expect from an ultra-budget choice. The rooms are small and also a bit musty.
The space shortage is made more acute by the furniture, which featured big bulky armchairs past their prime.
Each room has its own quirks -- e.g. some of the first floor rooms require climbing up a steep step (barely more than a ladder); most of the ground floor rooms are very noisy during the day, although quiet enough at night. The lighting is a bit dim, and the beds tend to be hard.
The wifi was intermittent in some rooms and non-existent in others, but there are several computers in the reception area that should be sufficient for those needing only a quick internet fix per day.

So this place is not for everyone. If you are looking for a friendly place where you can get guidance from the staff as well as the other guests; if you plan to be out almost all of the day;
or if you just want to save your money for something else -- this
would be a great choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mondrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for posting such detailed comments about the house, we greatly appreciate your opinion and will keep on working to improve the issues you point out while maintaining our low prices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

My wife and I reserved a room at the Casa Gonzalez because of the excellent reviews on Tripadvisor. We were sadly disappointed with the room. It was the smallest room that we have ever seen. It was difficult for two people to move in the room at the same time. The room also had a moldy smell. There was a semi-private balcony but when it was used by another couple it sounded like they were in our room. There is also no t.v. in the rooms or even the common room.
I also would have appreciated a friendlier welcome when we arrived.

The hotel is well located a block away from Zona Rosa and near Chapultepec Park but we won't be returning because of the size of the room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Derfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
j_ortiz_moore, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we always appreciate hearing from you.

I am very sorry you were not happy with the room you had. It was our less expensive rooms not facing the street (about $55.00 USD per night at today's exchange rate) and the room is small. We do have larger rooms also at moderate prices.

We will speak with the lady that did not greet you upon your arrival, we work very hard on training our personnel and put special attention everybody's courtesy.

We hope to have the pleasure of having you stay in the future so we can change the bad opinion you have about us.

Best wishes,
Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Hotel Plaza Revolucion
#32 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#5 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Room Mate Valentina
Room Mate Valentina
#27 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Juárez
Emporio Reforma
Emporio Reforma
#34 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#11 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Gonzalez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Gonzalez

Property: Hotel Casa Gonzalez
Address: Calle Rio Sena 69, Mexico City 06500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Mexico City
#11 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#16 Green Hotel in Mexico City
#18 Business Hotel in Mexico City
#21 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Gonzalez 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most important is that we want to make this your home away from home, at an accessible price.Casa Gonzalez is four old homes surrounded by courtyards and gardens of different eras that have been adapted to make a home for travelers. The two original homes were built by the current owners grandfather in the mid 1920's.One of the houses belonged to a famous movie star, Lupe Velez (who married Johnny Weissmuller for a few years).The latest addition was built in the early 1940's by a relatively well know architect, Roberto Buenrostro, as his private residence. The guest house started operating in the early 30's by the grandmother and great grandmother of the current owners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Casa Gonzalez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Gonzalez Hotel Mexico City
Casa Gonzalez Mexico City
Hotel Casa Gonzalez Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing