We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed it, but maybe not for everyone”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
Ranked #30 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We stayed here for a week. The beds were comfortable. The staff were helpful. The kitchen staff was always smiling and friendly. There is no air conditioning but there was a heater in the closet. We needed neither. The weather was perfect. We enjoyed being able to eat in the dining area one night when it was too rainy to venture out. The food wasn't particularly bad but not nearly as good as what you get on the street. Breakfast taken communally was very nice as it afforded us the opportunity to meet other travelers and trade some ideas and advice with them. The atmosphere is very nice. We stayed in an interior room. One morning the construction workers next door made an awful racket. Quite often I could hear the staff talking very early. I just rolled over and went back to sleep, but this might be a problem for some people. I appreciated being able to log onto the Internet. My only real strong suggestion is to put a mirror in the room. If one person is in the bathroom, there is no way to apply makeup or check your appearance, do hair, etc.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 24, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we are always eager to hear your opinion.

I want to share with you the following things:

-Most private homes do not have central heating or air conditioning in Mexico City. Our average temperature for all year is about 70F. It is only high rises that have air conditioning. It usually rains every afternoon during summer and that keeps our weather nice and cool (perhaps not what you would expect in Mexico City).
-We have two new chefs, I am sorry to hear you did not find our meals good. Based on your opinion we will review our menu.
-The construction has been very difficult, it should be over soon. I affects about six of our thirty three rooms.

Again thank you for posting your review.
Jorge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (701)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

317 - 323 of 701 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2012

This is a small and friendly hotel which is actually a series of houses which have been amalgamated into a compound. Dont expect 5 star features. There is no air con., tv., room service etc. BUT you do get a great location, good security, helpful staff and a very homely atmosphere. We booked for 4 nights and extended to 10! The wifi is excellent and there is a kitchen which will do lunch and dinner should you require it .( last orders for dinner are at 8pm)

Room Tip: Ask for a room off the street front. Anything overlooking the courtyard is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rptptrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Casa Gonzalez was my first stop on my Mexico trip, solo. As a single female traveller who speaks very limited Spanish, it was the perfect place to begin my journey. The reception staff were very helpful. Most of them spoke English. There are free computers in the Reception, a great help for keeping in touch with family and planning the next day's activities.
The room was perfect for just one person. Lunch and Dinner are easily organised to be delivered to your room or to have in the dining room. Beautiful surroundings, three colonial style buildings interconnected by a lovely courtyard.
Casa Gonzalez was very convenient to the Zona Rosa and not too far a walk to the Centro Historico. Close to a couple of Metro stations as well. Nice and secure. Lots of little food stalls on Rio Sena as well.

Definitely a great place to stay.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, perhaps request a room not on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Britt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
j_ortiz_moore, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2012

Thank you for your most kind review!
Jorge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Wife and I stayed 5 nights at this lovely little family run hotel. It's located almost right behind the U.S. Embassy, 2 minutes from the Paseo Reforma, Zona Rosa, and close to the Metro. The staff was friendly and helpful (most speak English). Amenities included free wifi, 24 hour coffee shop, continental breakfast, cheap laundry service, and 2 bottles of purified water each day. Breakfast was served in a sunny dining room where guests sat at the same table. Had wonderful conversations each day with other travelers. The room was kept clean, though was barebones. There are no TV's or AC at this hotel (though fans will be provided if needed). The only drawback is that the windows have no screens. We had cracked a window for some air and mosquitoes got in--buzzing in our ears all night. Ultimately, it felt like a sanctuary from this incredibly noisy, crowded city. There was still noise from the neighborhood, but nothing that would keep you from sleeping. A personal touch. For the price, you can't beat this place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank B T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
j_ortiz_moore, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post such a nice review.

I do want to let you know that we are working on putting TV's in all rooms, at this moment a third of the rooms have TV's.

Jorge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

I have been to Casa González more times than I can count... and always, my stays are inspiring: not only the beautiful house and magnificent city it stands in, but the guests who choose to stay in the house are inspiring.
Thank you Mr Jorge for allowing this family tradition to live on-

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antolina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
j_ortiz_moore, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a comment.
It is guests like you that inspire us to keep on improving!
Hope to have the pleasure of having you again in the near future.

Jorge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

A great place . Several houses around flower filled courtyards , nice breakfast , basic rooms with a fan . Good location near Zona Rosa . The best of everything is the staff . Helena and Pilar who helped us with all the things that you need at the beginning of a trip . Booking and printing vouchers for Aeromexico ( after our credit card was refused via internet ) . Info about the city , the tours , cheap restaurants , how much a taxi is supposed to cost . All those things you know nothing about in the beginning of a month long trip , and that already seem rather silly after two weeks . And always that smile and friendliness . Do not hesitate , book !

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dirk V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
j_ortiz_moore, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Thank you for your most kind review!
Hope to have the pleasure of having you stay with us once more in the not so distant future.

Jorge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Comfortable, well located, quite, lovely place to stay. If you prefer small well serviced hotel rather than big chains this is your choice in Mexico City. I love the garden, the room and breakfast (Chilaquiles rojos are the best). Even my family that lives in Mexico City couldn't believe a place like this existed so close to the Zona Rosa and Reforma Avenue. Casa González will be my choice every time I'm in Mexico City.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WillyPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
j_ortiz_moore, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2012

Thank you for your very kind review, it motivates us to keep on improving.
Jorge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Room Mate Valentina
Room Mate Valentina
#42 of 312 in Mexico City
858 reviews
Juárez
Emporio Reforma
Emporio Reforma
#26 of 312 in Mexico City
922 reviews
Hotel Plaza Revolucion
#36 of 312 in Mexico City
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Hotel PF
Hotel PF
#67 of 312 in Mexico City
532 reviews
Hotel El Ejecutivo
#51 of 312 in Mexico City
1,433 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
#33 of 312 in Mexico City
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Gonzalez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Gonzalez

Address: Calle Rio Sena 69, Mexico City 06500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#14 Best Value Hotel in Mexico City
#17 Green Hotel in Mexico City
#18 Business Hotel in Mexico City
#21 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: $47 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Gonzalez 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most important is that we want to make this your home away from home, at an accessible price.Casa Gonzalez is four old homes surrounded by courtyards and gardens of different eras that have been adapted to make a home for travelers. The two original homes were built by the current owners grandfather in the mid 1920's.One of the houses belonged to a famous movie star, Lupe Velez (who married Johnny Weissmuller for a few years).The latest addition was built in the early 1940's by a relatively well know architect, Roberto Buenrostro, as his private residence. The guest house started operating in the early 30's by the grandmother and great grandmother of the current owners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Casa Gonzalez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Gonzalez Hotel Mexico City
Casa Gonzalez Mexico City
Hotel Casa Gonzalez Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing