We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To expensive for nothing !!'n”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Camino Real Polanco Mexico
Ranked #70 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Very disappointed with this hotel , the room not in good condition, the gym so small the breakfast not good at all , the only good think for my opinion is the out door pool and is to much $$$$$ for what they have it . In is some restaurant and bars they are really good but that it .Sorry Claudia from Nantucket

Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
Thank ClaudiaValle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

373 - 379 of 1,247 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at the Camino Real Polanco hotel in Mexico City and I have to comment that the staff were really friendly and courteous and the service was fantastic. The hotel may be one of the older ones in the area however it has everything you would want for your stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jilli21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This hotel is OK, and I certainly didn't have a negative experience. I guess this hotel does well with business travellers like myself and is a 'safe choice'. Here are my thoughts

Good:
-spacious rooms
-comfortable beds
-all amenities provided for
-very comfortable

Not so good
- bordering on 'characterless'
- room decor looks a bit dated to me, and frankly a little unattractive
- located in the upmarket district of Polanco, it's easy to see how apprehensive first timers to Mexico City might be reassured by this. but if you like to have a walk around in the evenings and stumble across a nice bar/restaurant..then there are more beautiful places in Mexico City to stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ibeenthereandthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Terrible experience, very bad maintenance to a property that dates back from the 60´s. Rooms are old, smelly. I had to request a room change five minutes after checking in due to a sewer smell. The property looks outdated. Food in the all day dining restaurant was bland and unappealing. Their other F&B outlets are very nice, and they are the only thing that I can say I did like about this hotel

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank atl010684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed October 1st-4th and had a room backing on to the garden / pool area which was nice and quiet and also allowed me to have the balcony windows open without lots of noise. Room was really comfortable and large - nice to have a balcony too.

Food was reasonable in the main buffet restaurant - nothing standout, but good enough.

Staff all good too, especially helpful sorting out taxi's etc and location also good for the main museum in the park

Room Tip: backing on to the garden / pool was great for being quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marky1965Brum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Although the hotel is 45 yrs old it's been moderately renovated. Rooms are okay but hallways look a bit old..
The biggest downside is that when inside your room you feel like you're outside in traffic. You can literally hear every car that passes by as if it were right beside you. Hopefully i'll be able to sleep..

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
Thank Paolardzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I was in this hotel for a trade show and I have no experience in any other Mexican hotel to compare with, so I can only say that this hotel is better than average comparing to many standard American businessman hotels. There is a bit of similarity to a Caribbean type of resort hotel but with an atmosphere that the hotel is primarily for conventions and business affairs. The lobby is always busy with lots of ambience of noises because of low ceilings. The noise in the lobby is funneled to upper floors by an open shaft adjacent to the elevators. There is an air of spaciousness as the hall ways are wide. The rooms are huge by any international standard.

There are many restaurants in the hotel, including one by Morimoto the American Iron Chef. I only had the buffet breakfast and a quick supper in the ground floor restaurant though I have walked in to the fancier restaurants on the upper floors for quick peaks. The upper floor restaurant appear to be of more expensive and high end. The food in the ground floor restaurant is average at best. The breakfast consists of standard fare such as a limited choice of delicatesan and two types of eggs. Most of the buffet choices are of Mexican food variety of haricot basis which I avoided in fear of gas attack especially my stay in the hotel was for trade show participation. The spaghetti bolognesse for dinner is below expected grade for its price. The amenities in the room is very good. I avoided drinking any water so I only drank beer which was priced very reasonably at about $5.00.

The mattress is semi firm, a bit soft for those with weak backs especially after long hours of trade show attendance. The bath room is of medium size to big highlighted by a nice glass enclosed and red granite walled shower stall equipped with a wide rainfall shower head. I stayed under the shower for half an hour comfortably after the gruesome punishment of trade show standing daily.

My last night of hotel stay was spent in the hotel's dance club near the china grill restaurant after having noted so many beautiful and young well proportioned Hispanic ladies all dressed in black mini mini skirts and with spiky high heels, waking upstairs to some restaurants. If not because of the terrible back pain in my back arising from eight hours of standing in my trade show booth, I would have thought I was in a very chic London dance club that I once had visited. On the whole, the hotel is above average of a standard American businessman hotel.

Located just a block away from the Chapultepec park---the biggest city park in north America, the hotel is just 10minutes walk from the Castillo, museum of modern art, museum of anthropology and the rifino Tamayo museum. The anthropology museum is ranked very highly in the world and is well worth a visit if you have 2 hours to spare.

The back door of the front entrance opens to another busy boulevard, across this heavily traversed one way street, there is a tuck store similar to 7/11 where one can buy prepared sandwiches, pops and distilled water. I bought a 10.2 liter water bottle for my 5 day stay in the hotel so I could drink and brush my teeth with no fear of any expected stomach attack from local tap water.

The concierge and bell service personnel all speak English who have been very helpful to me during my stay. I was left with a good feeling when I checked out this hotel. No complaint at all.

Room Tip: There are four museums within 10minutes walk from the hotel, if you have two hours only, give the mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldbutcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Polanco
InterContinental Presidente Mexico City
Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa
#12 of 312 in Mexico City
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Polanco
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
#14 of 312 in Mexico City
2,100 reviews
Polanco
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
#11 of 312 in Mexico City
1,139 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
NH Collection Mexico City Reforma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Real Polanco Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real Polanco Mexico

Address: Liebnitz 100 Col Anzures | Colonia Anzures, Mexico City 11590, Mexico (Formerly Camino Real Mexico City)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: $116 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Camino Real Polanco Mexico 4*
Number of rooms: 712
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camino Real Polanco is unique architectural concept, created by highly-regarded architect Ricardo Legorreta. This space is considered a Hotel-Museum for its beauty and art collection. It opened its doors to the public on July 25, 1968, combining modern features with shapes clearly reminiscent of Prehispanic pyramids, the elements of which merge together to create a wonderful architectural work. Camino Real Polanco has hosted two soccer World Cups and the Olympic Games, as well as over 210 official visits from presidents and kings from all over the world. Category 5 Stars / 4 Diamonds ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Camino Real Polanco Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Mexico City Hotel Mexico City
Camino Real Hotel Mexico City
Mexico City Camino Real
Camino Real Polanco Mexico Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing