We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Busy hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camino Real Polanco Mexico

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Camino Real Polanco Mexico
Ranked #72 of 305 Hotels in Mexico City
Metro Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
648 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Busy hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed for a week for business meetings. The location was in the business area so a lot of conventions and meetings happening all at once. Our whole group was booked in all smoking rooms so i got a lot of complaints from the team. Food in the hotel restaurants was average to poor though.

Room Tip: All the rooms in the ground floor are smoking rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank combat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    398
    256
    111
    76
See reviews for
91
140
62
638
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london, UK
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

This hotel is very big, and thus not very cozy / romantic. OK as a business hotel but for a couples stay i found it very cold, not cozy and the staff lacking.

we had specifically ordered/requested gluten free food to accomodate a severe allergy. once we were there staff was unaware and not very helpful. their idea of a suitable diet is: eat fruit or yoghurt...
at check out we had a long argument over lunch from other guests that were charged to our room, again staff wasnt very helpful.

at the prices they charge you expect a very helpful, 4-5 star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weirdo666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

I stayed here for a business conference in September. I stayed on the Club Level, which included Internet access and continental breakfast.

The rooms are spacious but, as many have noted, a bit tired. Although the furnishings might be a little old, I still thought the room was tastefully appointed. The bed was decent, not too hard and not too soft. Wi-fi Internet access worked for me fine, and I appreciated the large number of electrical outlets. The bathroom was also large, but only had a standing shower (no bathtub).

My only complaint about the room was the noise. The window/door to the balcony had almost zero sound insulation. My room was facing the courtyard/garden with the pool. During my first night there, it sounded like some guests decided to have a party in the pool area late at night, which I could loudly hear even at 3:00am. This was remedied with a change to a room facing a different inner courtyard.

Breakfast in the Club Lounge was average. I really liked the selection of fresh fruit and pastries. But, it would have been nice to have some eggs or something warm (yes, I know it is only a continental breakfast). Service, though, was impeccable, as throughout the rest of the hotel.

The facilities were nice and functional. There are a number of restaurants on site. China Grill and Morimoto were tasty, if not a little expensive. One of the cafes is open 24 hours, which was useful. The hotel lobby also conveniently has a couple of ATMs.

The location was okay. There is not a huge choice of shops and restaurants in the immediate area. But, you can take a long stroll (or a taxi) to a number of museums or restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank govt_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuxtla Gutierrez, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Old hotel, expensive and be very careful with the rooms close to the main street, there is a lot of noise coming from the street next to the hotel. I requested not to be placed there and they overcharge for this. Incredible. For the price you have better options for sure.

Room Tip: Noise in rooms close to the street. Avoid those rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tuxltayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mexico City hotels

Level Contributor
99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

The Hotel is very well located and the service is good. It has really good restaurants in it. But I have to say that the rooms are too old and dark. They literaly have 3 lamps to illuminate a big double room. As a woman it was very hard to get ready to go out in that kind of darkness.

Overall its ok... I just think that they should at least renew and illuminate their rooms a lot more.

They have 24 hr room service which I thought was GREAT!!! Their food has surprisingly good quality even late at night and they are really fast.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aledo, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Camino Real was a great beautiful, colorful hotel with a great location. Their staff was very attentive and helpful. It's located the awesome Chapultepec Park within walking distance to museums and the metro. There are also upper end shopping malls in the Polanco neighborhood. We will definitely stay here again. They also have a great restaurants and cool bar.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank azulwater1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Working a crazy schedule I come back every night and think I am on a great cruise ship with several really good restaurants, bars and an amazing staff. The scale and design of this place is amazing in a great neighborhood. I cannot say enough good things.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tm752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Polanco
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
#10 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,733 reviews
Polanco
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
#5 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Polanco
InterContinental Presidente Mexico City
Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa
#14 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
Suites Contempo
#74 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Real Polanco Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real Polanco Mexico

Property: Camino Real Polanco Mexico
Address: Liebnitz 100 Col Anzures | Colonia Anzures, Mexico City 11590, Mexico (Formerly Camino Real Mexico City)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Camino Real Polanco Mexico 4*
Number of rooms: 712
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camino Real Polanco is unique architectural concept, created by highly-regarded architect Ricardo Legorreta. This space is considered a Hotel-Museum for its beauty and art collection. It opened its doors to the public on July 25, 1968, combining modern features with shapes clearly reminiscent of Prehispanic pyramids, the elements of which merge together to create a wonderful architectural work. Camino Real Polanco has hosted two soccer World Cups and the Olympic Games, as well as over 210 official visits from presidents and kings from all over the world. Category 5 Stars / 4 Diamonds ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Camino Real Polanco Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Mexico City Hotel Mexico City
Camino Real Hotel Mexico City
Mexico City Camino Real
Camino Real Polanco Mexico Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing