We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Camino Real Polanco Mexico
Ranked #80 of 307 Hotels in Mexico City
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
210 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and location”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We missed our connecting flight and got stuck without a flight in Mexico City. I wanted to stay in Polanco a nice place of Mexico City and definetely hit the spot. The friendly service, good beds, cleaness, and great location makes worth the say and not expensive compared to the big chains. There are restaurants on and off the location so you can eat anywhere (we went to Polanco Jr there tons of restaurants). So I really recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joseadolfo74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    416
    270
    118
    83
See reviews for
101
148
65
677
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Arrived at 11am after a 10 hour overnight flight from Sao Paolo only to be told room wasn't ready, but it COULD be ready if I paid over US$100 to check in early. How ridiculous. Went to restaurant in the hotel to have lunch instead, only lunch doesn't start until 11:30am, and breakfast was very average.

Tried to use Wifi to get online and after paying US$13 per day for it, it's the slowest connection i've used for some time. It drops out regularly and makes it almost impossible to use.

Finally allowed to check in at 12pm, and room is large, but not very quiet. Street noise is easily heard. Everything in the room looks and feels very cheap. Not worth the US$250 per night including taxes for it that's for sure!

Stay away from this hotel, stick to the large hotel chains that are used to treating world travelers with the respect and comfort they deserve!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mexico City hotels

Florence, Italy
2 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Great Hotel, spacious rooms... Maybe a little bit too much dispersive!
People very efficient, and gentle.
Maybe a little bit noisy. My room was facing the main road.
I suggest it for business people, maybe not so suitable for Holidays, as it is not so close to all the touristic attarctions.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patriziobp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
220 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is not what you expect for a 5 star Hotel with "business facilities". The check in was not a the entree but we had to go upstairs. After a long trip you expect to feel comfortable at your Hotel. We had to wait too long and after the check in it was a long walk to our room. The breakfast room is very noisy ! The Japanese restaurant is nice, the Spanish soso. The Wifi is poor. Checking out was a drama we had to wait 25 minutes ....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Creek, Florida
Level Contributor
277 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is an old hotel but it remains very well maintained. Service was excellent with very good restaurants as well a with spacious rooms.
Although I would not recommend to walk to far from this hotel, you will find other excellent options of restaurants very close by using a taxi. Museums are also near

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was the perfect hotel for us while in Mexico City. The location is great, the hotel has good restaurants, the rooms, though somewhat dark, are very comfortable with nice outdoor balconies or patios and the staff was efficient and friendly. The hairdryers are annoying because you have to keep the button pushed down to operate, but that was a minor inconvenience. The hotel architecture is beautifully modernist, perhaps mid-century. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swacker56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
121 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This hotel has been around for a long time and the chain is supposed to be upscale. This particular hotel is located in the heart of a commercial and tourist center.

As full hotel, it has restaurants, lobbies, and all the extras, however, as a business traveler, I was disappointed by a few things.

The discount rate for my company was not really a discounted rate but rather they just "included internet access" which is normally US$15 per day. Is it me or am I the only one who thinks that internet should be included as a free amenity in all hotels in 2013? No breakfast was included in my discounted rate and I had to pay US$25 for a boiled egg, orange juice and a yogurt.

The room layout was fine, but quite dark, with only a few lamps around the periphery, and certainly nothing better than you would find at a Hampton Inn, which charges a fraction of the price and includes breakfast and internet.

My pet peeve is those crappy hair dryers where you have to hold down the button the whole time you're drying your hair. NH hotels have full sized dryers, why can't Camino Real get some decent hair dryers if it's supposed to be a five star hotel? The ones they had before were even worse, from like 1966.

I requested another hair dryer and they brought it, but the plug in the bathroom didn't work, and the drain stopper was not working properly, so the water would pool in the sink. On top of that, you have to pay about $10 for parking each night, which I guess isn't as expensive as other cities, but street parking is free in the evenings in Mexico City, so what gives?



Needless to say, I don't like this hotel, it's way over-priced for what it offers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Polanco
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
#10 of 307 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,857 reviews
Polanco
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
#8 of 307 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa
Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa
#15 of 307 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Polanco
InterContinental Presidente Mexico City
Suites Contempo
#77 of 307 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Real Polanco Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real Polanco Mexico

Property: Camino Real Polanco Mexico
Address: Liebnitz 100 Col Anzures | Colonia Anzures, Mexico City 11590, Mexico (Formerly Camino Real Mexico City)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Camino Real Polanco Mexico 4*
Number of rooms: 712
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camino Real Polanco is unique architectural concept, created by highly-regarded architect Ricardo Legorreta. This space is considered a Hotel-Museum for its beauty and art collection. It opened its doors to the public on July 25, 1968, combining modern features with shapes clearly reminiscent of Prehispanic pyramids, the elements of which merge together to create a wonderful architectural work. Camino Real Polanco has hosted two soccer World Cups and the Olympic Games, as well as over 210 official visits from presidents and kings from all over the world. Category 5 Stars / 4 Diamonds ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Camino Real Polanco Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Mexico City Hotel Mexico City
Camino Real Hotel Mexico City
Mexico City Camino Real
Camino Real Polanco Mexico Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing