We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Camino Real Polanco Mexico
Ranked #74 of 310 Hotels in Mexico City
Meitar, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very good hotel reasonable price”
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Perfect rooms
Perfect breakfast , gym room and other facilities.
In front of the local central park.

Room Tip: Only problem no free Wi Fi app. 10 USD per day
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    440
    276
    123
    85
See reviews for
107
156
65
710
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

I've stayed at two fantastic Camino Real hotels in the past, in Oaxaca and Puebla, and so I booked a spontaneous trip here through Orbitz without applying my usual due diligence (i.e., reading multiple customer reviews thoroughly). Plus I've found many travelers allow their negative experiences in Mexico City as a whole to unfairly color their views of individual places so I stupidly dismissed the overall low ratings. In this case however the bad reviews are correct and I now regret being such a lazy snob about the whole thing.

Before I get into my specific complaints, let me be general: This is a gigantic, impersonal business/convention-oriented hotel. And if you're into that sort of thing (I'm not), I'm sure you can do much better in Mexico City. The location is not in Polanco, as it says in their name, and you have to cross several busy streets to get there. I'm fairly fit and used to the city's smog, altitude, and traffic and I still found it a haul. Chapultepec Park is across the street, technically, but there's a giant sports complex with high walls separating you from it. You have to walk at least a half mile to find an actual entrance. Like many others, I was partially lured by the architecture, which is unique and somewhat interesting, but the overall effect is a dated, avant garde mega mall. Alienating and very cold, not cool and luxurious as the photos make it out to be.

But most of that is subjective. What's not subjective is the the front desk service, which is the worst I've ever encountered. Let me repeat: it's the worst I've ever encountered. We arrived late after booking a "deluxe" room and were given a room on a busy street that stank of smoke. This is a massive hotel and the walk from the lobby to the room was at least a third of a mile -- I'm not joking -- and after a full day's travel I wasn't in the mood to march all the way back. So I called the front desk to ask for a different room and was put on hold. I waited 15 minutes and then hung up and made the trip back anyway.

The man behind the desk was courteous yet dismissive, saying his hands were tied because I'd booked through Orbitz. He had no idea what a "deluxe" room was and said the hotel was completely full. Too tired to argue (it was close to midnight), I surrendered but asked if I could have my room changed for the rest of my trip. He said he would make a note and told me to come back in the morning. I went back to my smoky room and ordered a pizza from room service, which frankly wasn't bad, though somewhat lukewarm, likely because of the aforementioned long walk. The TV remote barely worked, there's no art on the walls, and they charge US$4 for the bottled water.

After being woken up by loud traffic at 6:00 am (business travelers note: windows are not soundproofed and surrounding streets are loud), I called the front desk and again was put on hold. So I got ready and went to the front desk at 8:00. I was "greeted" gruffly by a distracted, stone-faced young woman. There was no note requesting a room change, so I asked if this could be accomplished, repeating my complaints. She told me to come back at 1:00 pm.

Was there any way they could at least confirm a change was possible? No. The hotel was full. ...But then what would change at 1:00? Could they not simply promise me a smoke-free, quieter room? No... Maybe... I don't know. I asked for a manager and instead another desk person of equal rank came to help, slightly friendlier. She said they'd write a note. I told her my last "note" hadn't worked out too well, and explained my frustration. She shrugged her shoulders (literally) and explained there was nothing they could do.

I asked for a manager again, and was given one. He at least made eye contact and wasn't attempting to do three other things while attending to me, as the other desk people so far had done. He was apologetic but told me, again, that his hands were tied since the reservation had been made through Orbitz. I told him I'd paid extra for a "deluxe" room and again he told me he had no idea what that meant, but went into a long, convoluted explanation of room types available at the hotel. I told him I simply wanted confirmation I'd be moved to a quiet, smoke-free room, and after some discussion, he "found" another room (in a supposedly full hotel), but said it was still on the street, "but a quiet one." I had taken an early morning hike around the circumference of the property and I assure you, the Camino Real Polanco (actually Anzures) has no such thing adjoining it. I told him I wanted an inside room and after much tapping at his computer console, he told me they were all booked. I told him I was checking out and to cancel the remainder of my reservation, at which point he "found" an inside room but told me I'd have to pay for an upgrade. I told him to cancel the remainder of my reservation and he offered to upgrade me for free.

I was tired of Let's Make a Deal, tired of him, tired of the Camino Real and $40 worth of calls to Orbitz later, I was able to check out and receive a refund. The long calls were not due to Orbitz, but because -- yup -- they (and thus we) were on hold for 20 minutes waiting to speak to a (higher-level) manager.

Mexico City is a wonderful, fascinating place and Chilangos are some of the friendliest, most charming people on earth. Camino Real must have really had to go out of their way to staff this place with people who are quite the opposite. I usually stay with friends when I'm down there so I don't have any other recommendations for alternatives, but I can't imagine you could do worse in this price range. Stay away.

Room Tip: If you absolutely must stay here -- like, your grandmother has been kidnapped by hotel staff -- dema...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TelegramSam55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mexico City hotels

Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2011

I stayed last week in a business trip with my company and my experience was completely dishonest. Some of my jewelry was taken out of my room, when I returned home most of the jewelry that I always fly with was taken out. Everything was well hidden in a small case, but is no whee to be fined. I called the hotel and no one wanted to take my call after rolling the call with nearly eight people, some type of manager answered me, I did the claim and told me to call back in 5 hours. The worst customer service ever. When I call back, knowing the person name went directly to her and imagine her answer "Was this is the safe, if it was not in the same we are not responsible". What kind of business type hotel hire thieves to work at the hotel. Is the housekeeping staff needed of more money to buy jewelry?

I do not recommend at all anyone to stay in this hotel, bad customer services,not recognizing errors and thieves!

Go some where else.

Room Tip: Stay away of this hotel in Mexico City! Thieves are now working in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frequentbusiness76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

First time I arrived for check in I was amazed by the 60's modern architecture, it is much more impressive and memorable in person than it is in photographs. I admire it more and more during each stay.

Having read a few other guests' reviews, I am reminded how people's opinions can differ significantly: for example, a few reviewers have disliked the darkened hallways enough to comment upon them, but I have always enjoyed the dramatic feel of walking to my room, enjoying the cool dark interiors while looking at the hot humid exterior.

One reviewer refers to the hotel's paint job as garish, while I find the strong hispanic colorations to be authentic, dramatic, and utterly perfect for this place.

I do alot of business entertaining and my dinner guests have always enjoyed the wide array of good dining options here.

I have not been disappointed in my few stays here, and will only caution that it does a huge amount of group meeting business, sometimes the large lobby is filled to the brim with people coming and going.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelFanDeluxeYes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Hi,

I come to Mexico twice a month on business staying about a week each time. So I personally bring a lot of business to the hotel industry here. I usually stay at the Four Seasons, given its impeccable service to their business clientele. But I wanted to try something different, and people recommended the Camino Real in Polanco. Frankly, I will never stay here again. While the service was acceptable, the food was not on par and heavy. But the kicker was on my third night, I came back from a business dinner to a steady drumbeat of music I could hear from the top floor. When I called the reception, they said that this music would not stop until 1 a.m.--on a Wednesday night when I had a very important meeting first thing the next morning. When I asked if something could be done, the woman in the reception told me that she'd call the manager and call me back. She never did. If you need sleep while you work, do not stay here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Businesstraveller200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

I have traveled to Mexico City for business and i have stayed twice in this hotel.
For me the price is not worth it AT ALL! The rooms seem kind of old. I stayed alone at a room and to get there I had to walk through several hallways that were very dark and creepy. One time I had my money and jewelry in the safe box and I don't know why when i came back I couldn't open it, so i had to call front desk and two people came in to the room and asked me for my id, to see if it was really my room! It felt kind of uncomfortable. Another day i went to the store located at the lobby to buy a "calling card" and they sold me a "mobile card", obviously when i wanted to use it i couldn't, so i spoke to the manager and asked her to replace the card, which i had not even used, and she was very un-polite, saying that it was not her fault that i didn't see that they sold me something i didn't ask for! Well the only good thing about this hotel is the location and the breakfasts served at the restaurant, where all the waiters are very nice :) Next time definitely not staying here, better go to the W or Intercontinental located blocks away.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraRivera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Excellent guest service & support. Twin room, spacious with beautiful marble bathroom. Room overlooked the internal garden & pool, was quiet at this time of the year but would possibly be noisy in summer. Room service & restaurants were great. Business centre was extra cost. Boutiques/shops within hotel were very good quality. Location is nice & feels safe & excellent drivers available from door. This was a business trip and this hotel was great for the purpose.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Warwickite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Polanco
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
#12 of 310 in Mexico City
1,980 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa
Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa
#18 of 310 in Mexico City
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Polanco
InterContinental Presidente Mexico City
Polanco
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
#9 of 310 in Mexico City
1,095 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Hotel Mexico City
Four Seasons Hotel Mexico City
#10 of 310 in Mexico City
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Real Polanco Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real Polanco Mexico

Property: Camino Real Polanco Mexico
Address: Liebnitz 100 Col Anzures | Colonia Anzures, Mexico City 11590, Mexico (Formerly Camino Real Mexico City)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Camino Real Polanco Mexico 4*
Number of rooms: 712
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camino Real Polanco is unique architectural concept, created by highly-regarded architect Ricardo Legorreta. This space is considered a Hotel-Museum for its beauty and art collection. It opened its doors to the public on July 25, 1968, combining modern features with shapes clearly reminiscent of Prehispanic pyramids, the elements of which merge together to create a wonderful architectural work. Camino Real Polanco has hosted two soccer World Cups and the Olympic Games, as well as over 210 official visits from presidents and kings from all over the world. Category 5 Stars / 4 Diamonds ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Camino Real Polanco Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Mexico City Hotel Mexico City
Camino Real Hotel Mexico City
Mexico City Camino Real
Camino Real Polanco Mexico Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing