We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Iconic place in Centro Histórico” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Ranked #27 of 482 things to do in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This hotel has an exquisitely ornate lobby.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
381 reviews
134 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Iconic place in Centro Histórico”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Used to be a department store at the beginning of last century, now a hotel right in the Centro Histórico. The ceiling and the decor are great, food not that much.

Helpful?
Thank ETame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    385
    183
    49
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eureka, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“friendly, efficient staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

I loved the old hotel with the beautiful lobby and amazing stained glass skylight. The staff was very helpful. Ms. Brenda Totozintle was great - her English is very good and she helped me take care of a few details while my husband was ill. This was my first visit to Mexico City and it was very relaxing to have such personable staff. I can't remember the gentleman's name, but there was a staff person who was very experienced and helpful in arranging secure taxis for us, as well.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful and fancy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

The place is extremely nice and fancy inside and the restaurant has an awesome view of the Zocalo square.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Delb_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsburgh, New York
Level Contributor
328 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
“Worth A Visit When At the Zocalo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

The Gran Hotel is an architectural gem of times gone by. Even if you're not staying here, stop by when visiting the Zocalo. If for no other reason, you must see the Tiffany glass ceiling in the lobby. Amazing! The open stained glass elevators really put you in a fin de siècle state of mind. If you have time, enjoy a beverage from the terrace high above the Zocalo. The views of the cathedral and Palacio National are some of the best in town.

Helpful?
Thank Grousedoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb hotel in Mexico City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

I travel all around the world with work - and I genuinely love this hotel (I have never rated anywhere before, but this place is so good I had to!).

The interior is stunning and view from the rooftop terrace, across the Zocalo, is unbeatable. Staff are very friendly (especially Daniel in reservations, Cinthia and Roberto in reception) and the restaurant is great. Breakfast is quite something!

Overall, it is a wonderful place to stay; full of character, in a perfect location, and with great facilities. I cannot recommend it enough.

Harriet Alexander, London

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Harriet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing