We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's ok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Francisco Hotel
Ranked #259 of 309 Hotels in Mexico City
Marseilles, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“It's ok”
Reviewed June 29, 2010

This hotel is ok. It appears to have a nice restaurant but didn't use it. The staff was friendly. The hotel room smelled like stale cigarettes. The beds were not that comfortable. We got a great price but decided after staying there we would have preferred to pay more and get a better place. Location is great. It is right near the Benito Juarez memorial.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pescadito13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    49
    49
    28
    25
See reviews for
32
32
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed in this hotel in February as part of a group tour around Mexico...we absolutely loved mexico city and this hotel is in a great location, so dont want to be too melodramatic about our stay here - however i thought it was worth letting people know that on our first afternoon in the Hotel San Francisco our room got robbed! Literally 45 minutes after checking in! We got to the room, left our bags, went out to have a wander around the area and when we returned the lock had been broken and some of our stuff gone. The hotel management were somewhat helpful - they apologised and moved us to a much nicer room, but think it was pretty likely that someone in the hotel was responsible!

The hotel is in a good area - convenient for walking everywhere, and is pretty cheap - but the rooms are pretty barren and i would encourage anyone staying there to make sure all their valuables are locked away!

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mexico City hotels

St Albans
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2010

When I stayed here it was my first night in Mexico. The road was being dug up at the timeand so was very noisy and dusty. But, the staff were fantastic, very helpful and friendly and a l;evel of service which wa sbetter than most of it's size.
Don't reccommend staying more than one night but it was clean and possibly a lot more enjoyable once the building work is completed

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June84StAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2010

I went with my family last December to spend new year's eve and even though at the beginning the staff is very friendly , once you are there they never attend your needs. The mattress was very hard and uncomfortable, the pillows are a joke: really small and thick m the noise from outside is not filtrated and the worse thing was that the window didn't close properly and we were at the 8th floor! I got sick because of this bad-shaped window. I constantly reported all this and they only said yes but didn't solve anything.
Don't waste your money on this hotel. There are better ones for a better price, and also don't exchange pesos to dollars, the change rate is too high.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alex_tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2010

I traveled with one of my friends to Mexico City in November of 2009. This was my third visit to Mexico City and I knew that I wanted to stay near Alameda Central because it is my favorite place. This hotel was the cheapest available with a location near to Alameda Central and so we decided to take our chances. We had a perfect stay! We travelled from the airport by metro stop Hildalgo. From there it was a short walk through the park to the hotel. The hotel is tall and labelled well so that we could find it very easily. The room was spotless clean and very simple. The television had one English station. The shower was amazing....BIG, clean, with nice tiles. The staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. They helped us find and book day-tours. When I left my bag of souvenirs on one of the tour buses, they called the driver and tracked it down. They appreciated the little Spanish I tried to speak and sort of 'adopted us'...always looking out for our needs. I read reviews that mentioned the tour groups. We did see that, but the tour groups were handled very efficiently. We would look in the lobby and it would be packed with the tour group, but as soon as we walked up to the counter, we got big smiles and fast service. The hotel is just feet away from the park. Lots of restaurants and shopping nearby. On Sunday it was fun to see all the bikes going by. I can't stress enough that location was perfect. .....and as cheap as it was...it's a steal! I will stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pailin9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2009

The room was on 14th floor and had the view just like the one on the web, to Palacio de Bellas Artes and the administrative modern buildings, amazing at evening. Location is extremely good for city center (Alameda), with subway 2mn walking.
Room and bathroom were very clean and spacious. American Breakfast was included (eggs, cookies, oj) but personnel insisted on 'service not being included'.
The web fares are VERY good compared to what you find on the place (half the rate). Internet is not free.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caninus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miranda, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2009

It's hard writing a review for this hotel as I've never stayed elsewhere in Mexico City. On the plus side, the location is great, the staff are friendly and helpful, the rates are great and the area is quiet. However the beds were hard, the rooms could be cold and they are also very basic. I will recommend this place though because the pluses do outweigh the minuses.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zodiac6573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Alameda
Ibis Mexico Alameda
Ibis Mexico Alameda
#80 of 309 in Mexico City
383 reviews
Alameda
One Ciudad De Mexico Alameda
One Ciudad De Mexico Alameda
#31 of 309 in Mexico City
595 reviews
Alameda
Hotel Marlowe
Hotel Marlowe
#64 of 309 in Mexico City
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alameda
City Express Ciudad de Mexico Alameda
Alameda
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#88 of 309 in Mexico City
416 reviews
Alameda
Fiesta Inn Centro Historico
Fiesta Inn Centro Historico
#25 of 309 in Mexico City
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Hotel

Property: San Francisco Hotel
Address: Luis Moya No 11 | Colonia Centro, Mexico City 06050, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Alameda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #259 of 309 Hotels in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — San Francisco Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is located in the heart of Historical Downtown, the most important cultural center in Mexico City, close to Bellas Artes subway station. Surrounded by Restaurants, Museums, Historical Monuments, Malls, Entertainment Centers, Night Clubs. Close to Juarez Avenue, one of the most important financial centers. To 30 minutes from international airport. If you want to know the Mexican Culture, you should start in this zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Francisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Francisco Mexico City
San Francisco Mexico City
San Francisco Hotel Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing