We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Don't let the name affect your expectations...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ritz Mexico

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ritz Mexico
Ranked #164 of 305 Hotels in Mexico City
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't let the name affect your expectations...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I have stayed at this establishment twice now, both times for business, and both times for four nights.

Location:
The hotel is located in the historic section of the city just a five minute walk from the Zocalo (Central Square in front of the National Palace) and Cathedral. There are tons of restaurants and lots of shopping right outside the door. The street vendors make up in enthusiasm and quantity of artisan type shopping what the stores themselves may not have.

The hotel restaurant food is good - the breakfast is particularly yummy with lots of fruit, traditional Mexican fare as well as pancakes, scrambled eggs and bacon.

The first time I stayed I had a tiny room with a double bed, desk, tv and a very small bathroom in which there was a closet and some shelves. The second time I stayed I had a room four times the size of the first with a king size bed, desk, tv, much larger bathroom, two chairs with a table between and a closet area that was separate from the bathroom.

In both cases, the rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable, but the pillows were a bit small and kind of flat.

Each day the room is replenished with two bottles of drinking water which I used for teeth brushing as well as to take with my during the day. The daily cleaning service was absolutely thorough.

Its entrance is on a pedestrian-only street so your taxi will have to drop you at the corner, but its half a block so not a big deal. On your way out, the front desk will arrange to have the cab let the bellman know when they arrive, and the bellman will take your luggage to the cab for you.

Room Tip: I recommend that you request a room that faces the street. While it seems counterintuitive in relat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ldw39_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    57
    45
    11
    12
See reviews for
34
37
15
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed here for a week for a business trip, and its central location made it very easy to see the sights and get around the city. It's not the "Ritz", but it is a decent hotel that is clean and safe. Staff was very helpful. I would consider staying here if I had another quick trip in Mexico City. Taxis knew where it was, and it was easy to get back to after being out in another neighborhood in the evening. During the day, there is a lot going (shopping, etc) near the hotel. In the evening, it gets really quiet... we had a room facing the inner courtyard. I was shocked that it was quieter than my apartment in urban USA. And this is in downtown Mexico City!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UnGatoTuxedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

As part of a tour of Mexico this year we stayed 3 nights at the Ritz... As others have mentioned the amenities etc. are not extensive but the hotel is very well located and clean. If you are taking a taxi or prearranged pick up have them call ahead to the hotel and arrange for the bellman to meet you on the closest drop off with a baggage cart. There is no traffic allowed to the front door so closest street is 50 meters up the avenue...Beds are comfortable, bathroom was clean and we had a room facing the pedestrian mall a couple days before Christmas ( hundreds of people,) and the sound was very minimal. Close to many stores and the Temple Major, Cathedral, etc.....on the negative the menu is limited and make sure and beef is cook thouroughly. Bring an alarm clock , I did, but also requested a wake up call on 3 instances to make tours on time in the morning and never got a single call...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lettersjk72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This hotel is near the Zocalo and the old historic district, on a quiet street with no auto traffic. The staff is friendly and efficient, the room was great for the reasonable price. Close to shopping, restaurants and sights.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rottnest Island, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Right in the center of Mexico excellent location
Easy access to everything
Very helpful staff
The room was clean and tidy with a bath tub...the hot water took a while to come through but it was good and consistent when it got there!!!
Starbucks and Carona cafes, cake shops and tacos abound!!
its not "The Ritz" but it is goo value for money and if you haven't been to Mexico city before its and easy place to start

Room Tip: No swimming pool or gym!!!! Quiet rooms but you will need a good memory to locate your room as some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The room with Double Beds was awfully small ! The beds don't even fit inside the room.
Wireless network was down for 5 days the only way to get signal was walking downstairs to the main lobby to get wifi from the reception, the issue was reported to the service desk clerk 5 different times and we didn't get any attention whatsoever, At least not until we requested for the Hotel Supervisor who provided us with a temporary conection that was good for 3 hours only !
The lifter was broken also , there was a day when the lifter was stuck in the middle between 2 storeys and they forced the lifter doors open and the people inside had to climb down from the lifter. I would not recomend this Hotel to anyone and certainly I am not coming back my self.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jomotto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D. C.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

This hotel was recommended by an American friend in Mexico, but how wrong she was! It's basically a dump for locals from provinces, and not suited for international travelers. Our room was small, old, basic, and was even cleaned when we arrived at 2.30 p.m. It faced a courtyard (nothing you want to go out to), and we were bothered by people talking into late at night. Bedding looked clean but was old. I was so miserable that I used free Internet (the only good thing about this hotel) in the middle of the night to book a room at Hilton Reforma, only a few blocks away and only $50 more (weekend rate). but was so so much better. The room was clean, spacious with a view, and the bed was very very comfortable. Pool was great, and service was superb. What a difference! The lesson I learned is when in Mexico City, don't try to skimp of a few bucks on hotel and go for internationally recognized names -- and avoid "Centro Historico." It's crowded, noisy and dirty, and most buildings are very old and not very well maintained. On top of that, the street in front of Tulip was being dug up for repaving, and was so dusty.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barcrofter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mexico City hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
BEST WESTERN Majestic
BEST WESTERN Majestic
#139 of 305 in Mexico City
3.0 of 5 stars 355 reviews
Alameda
Hotel Marlowe
Hotel Marlowe
#65 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 stars 310 reviews
Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
#29 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 stars 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#14 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,077 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#6 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 345 reviews
Alameda
Ibis Mexico Alameda
Ibis Mexico Alameda
#85 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ritz Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ritz Mexico

Property: Hotel Ritz Mexico
Address: Madero 30, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 305 Hotels in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ritz Mexico 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the Mexicos capital, one of the worlds largest cities, in a culturally interactive environment that combines sophistication and modern conveniences with thousands of years of history, making it one of the country's most popular tourist cities. Tulip Inn Ritz Hotel is a revived architectural and historical jewel of XIX Century. The 120 totally remodeled rooms with all their amenities will provide you a magnificent satisfaction. Our flexible meeting facilities with a full service cater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Ritz Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Ritz Mexico Hotel Mexico City
Tulip Inn Mexico City
Ritz Mexico City
Mexico City Ritz
Golden Tulip Mexico City
Hotel Ritz Mexico Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing