We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“I will return to the PF” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel PF

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel PF
Ranked #58 of 307 Hotels in Mexico City
Piedmont North Carolina
Level Contributor
147 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“I will return to the PF”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

I was honestly hesitant to book this hotel based on some reviews here. I ultimately decided to stay here because of the location and the value. I could not have been happier. I agree with all the positive observations in other recent reviews and would like to add that one can conveniently dine in the hotel or in any number of nearby venues. The area is quite safe in the evening for walking with the usual precautions that anyone would take in a large city. It is very near the Genova pedestrian mall with shops and restaurants. Reviewers who said negative things about the staff at the PF must have some issues of their own; everyone was polite and essentially very helpful. I will be returning to "el DF" next month and definitely plan to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phil2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPF1, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel PF, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback, we are filled with happiness knowing that our services and amenities were what you expected, we will gladly welcome you in your next visit and will endeavor to keep you having us on this concept.

Once again, thanks for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    216
    123
    20
    13
See reviews for
105
153
46
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

As part of a tour group visiting Mexico we stayed the first 4 nights at this hotel. A would rate this as a good quality 3* hotel as facilities are reasonably basic. My room was a little bit shabby (no plug for the sink, for example) and one needed to be careful not to catch one's legs on the sharp edges of the bed base. Buffet breakfast was good and the restaurant appeared to have a reasonable menu. Although the location was great for all the many varied restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: I had a room at the back of the hotel and it was very quiet. I wonder if the rooms at the front wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank williamsdew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPF1, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel PF, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you very much for writing, we appreciate your preference and we are pleased that the location of our hotel was convenient for you, we hope to be your choice in your next visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

a group of 6 adults stayed there on March 8 and March 13 & 14, it was our second time staying there. The location is great with many reasonably priced food and bars very close. Felt secure around the hotel even walking at night. The hotel staff was very helpful both at the front desk and the bell boys or guys that help with luggage and helped with securing cabs and mini vans for our group of 6 all very professional. This hotel in not a five star hotel but for the price clean rooms, comfortable beds, great service and fantastic location. Will stay there again. Was surprised at the large number of German people staying there. Also the hotel is close to a metro stop at Insurgentes and from there you can really get around Mexico city.

Room Tip: don't stay on the lower floors because there is some street noise from calle Florencia in the ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnPCrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPF1, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel PF, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thanks for contacting us

we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the attention received was as expected for you, we worked on improving our personal attention to ensure the satisfaction of our guests.

Once again thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Only spent one night here, visiting museums before heading to the airport. The hotel is well located with lots of restaurants and bars in the area as well as tourist attractions. The hotel is clean and the staff very friendly. The rooms are very comfortable and the bed and sheets were amazing for a good nights sleep. The only slight downside (and very slight), is I booked a room with a kings sized bed and got a room with two mediums, and was surprised to see that the coffee machine in the room was an extra charge. But these a minor things. For the price of a nights stay at this hotel, I was amazed at the quality you get for your money. Would definitely return when in Mexico City again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bambi851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPF1, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel PF, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thanks for choosing us, we are glad that you have passed a pleasant experience with us, we hope you consider us the next time you visit Mexico City and we recommend you make your reservation in advance to avoid any inconvenience to the type of beds and room.

Once again thanks for the comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

First off this hotelis very conviently located if you plan to walk or use the metro, otherwise I wouldn't have stayed here. As stated by other reviewers the hotel staff is mostly ambivalent to your needs and it is hit or miss if they are willing to help you. There was a concierge area, but it was never staffed. The one good point was a bellman named Victor who was always helpful and would always help you when asked questions. The rooms were very spartan, but your staying here for convenience, I saw other reviews complaining about the wifi, but I found the signal to be strong and fast, my pet peeve was the fact that they didn't provide water for guest. This is Mexico, and all the travel guides tell you it's best to avoid the water.. I've been all over Mexico on other trips and was always provided water, his hotel as charging 4 times as much as any of the attached stores were. To sum up very convientl location, plain rooms, so this hotel is good if your more interest in exploring the city and less interested in comfort.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank agoodhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPF1, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel PF, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments. Really there are very important for us. We considerate each one and them were showed for the personal who controled the cost .About the staff always are in training to give the best service. Victor is our concierge and He does not have any bad comments, he is very servicial. The location is helpful for all the people who are stayin in Zona Rosa. Thank you again and you will be welcome to Mexico City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The location is very good for dining and night life, but a taxi ride away from the central city. It has most services nearby, which is good. The hotel is very old, and you see it in the rooms themselves. The bathrooms are clean but really need a facelift. The walls are very, very thin. We could watch a TV station in our room whilst listening to the volume of the TV in the room next door! That's okay if you have quiet neighbours...
We stayed 5 nights and on the first night we woke to find water all over the toilet and bathroom floor. We thought it was condensation. Then, 2 nights later it happended again at about 11 P.M. and we heard it. We ran into the bathroom and saw water flowing from the ceiling. We notified front desk who "made a note of it", but was unable to change rooms for us. Who knows where the water leak was from, likely the room above us when someone used the shower - front desk was uninterested to resolve the issue then and there. It didn't appear to be sewerage, and we were checking out a day later so didn't pursue it - I mean, for the price, don't expect the Ritz...

Wifi was woeful.

Overall staff were friendly.

Watch the floors, they're very slippery. We walked out to the common halls one morning when cleaners were doing the floors, and they just throw very soapy water everywhere and then mop it up - the result? Slippery residue. Be careful.

Would we return to the hotel? Hmmm, tough one. I might, but the wife certainly wouldn't. I guess if you're traveling solo and want to save money, go for it, but if you're with a girl, do yourself a favour and go elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Time2SeeItAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPF1, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel PF, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for comments us.This is very important for us to continue working in all that you mentioned. We feel very sorry to know you didn´t enjoy your latest experience with us. Already talked with the cleaning staff to correct the cleaning method and avoid the incident. About the Wi-Fi we have new system and system department into the hotel. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
131 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

This was our second time staying in the Plaza Florencia - we had some issues the first time, however, decided to give them a second chance, primarily because we love the location. However, it was a mistake.

This time we arrived, and checked in around 2pm, when a wide choice of rooms must have been available. We were allocated room PP2 on the mezzanine floor (this hotel calls it Piso Principal (PP) which is located directly above the lobby level. The room appeared fine on first glance - we did however note that the internet signal was poor and intermittent. We went out for the afternoon and evening, returning to the hotel around 12 midnight.

Following a hot sunny afternoon, the room was hot, so we wanted to turn on the air conditioning. Strangely we could not find any controls for the AC. We called the front desk, and the clerk advised that there should be a remote 'somewhere'. We hunted, failed to find it, and called the desk again, whereupon the clerk sent a maintenance man to the room. The maintenance man entered and immediately advised us that our room did not in fact have air conditioning! We called the front desk yet again, and asked the clerk about this - it was apparently a great surprise to him to learn that the room had no AC. We advised him that we wished to change rooms, to which he answered that it would take him 'at least 45 minutes' to check what rooms were available (bearing in mind that this was after midnight).

Unwilling to wait this long, we collected our things, and proceeded to the front desk, where we insisted that he deal with the issue immediately. He could not explain why he didn't know what rooms were available, nor why it would take him 45 minutes to determine this. I requested he call the duty manager, and was informed that there was no manager on duty at night. Finally, since I made it clear I was not leaving the desk without a solution, he allocated us a room on the 9th floor, and we went there. The attitude of the night clerk was poor, and he was clearly uninterested in solving our problem.

The new room on the 9th floor had AC which functioned poorly but was better than the original room. Internet service on the 9th floor was much better.

The rest of our visit proceeded without incident - however - having been inconvenienced by something like this, one tends to then notice other smaller issues, of which the hotel has many.

Namely:

Bathroom sinks are strangely set with the taps way too far back, meaning the water runs down the back of the sink, and is very hard to use. This causes the surrounding counter to flood.

Walls are extremely thin - conversations and TVs in neighboring rooms on both sides could be clearly heard.

Blackout curtains, which are actually quite good, do not go all the way to the wall - there is a gap of about half an inch, directly in line with the head of the bed where the pillows are - result - a blinding line of light early in the morning - effect of which is instant wake up.

Generally disinterested employees, and it seems a great lack of management of the property.

I am intending to contact Profeco regarding the hotel's false advertising - i.e. all rooms air conditioned when in fact they are not - plus the fact that we paid for a room with air conditioning, and were allocated one without - without any advice to this effect from the desk clerk who checked us in.

We have given the hotel 2 chances - and they have failed. We will not be back. It's rare for me to write a negative review of a hotel, as you can see by the number of reviews I have submitted - however this hotel really does not deserve to be in business.

Room Tip: Avoid PP2 and ensure that your room has air conditioning installed if that is important to you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank El-Yuca-Ingles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPF1, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel PF, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for comments us. we need to know what was the incidents and the good comments. This is very important for us to continue working in all that you mentioned. We feel very sorry to know you didn´t enjoy your latest experience with us. About the air conditioning I would like to inform you that in the PP (Principal Floor) the maintenence department is installing mini splits that will function with remote control because at original the hotel doesn´t have air conditioning in this floor. About the Wi-Fi we have new system and system department into the hotel. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Ibis Styles Mexico Zona Rosa
Ibis Styles Mexico Zona Rosa
#42 of 307 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
PF Suites
PF Suites
#159 of 307 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Hotel Century Zona Rosa Mexico
Hotel Century Zona Rosa Mexico
#111 of 307 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
#25 of 307 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Room Mate Valentina
Room Mate Valentina
#26 of 307 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
City Express Plus Reforma El Angel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel PF? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel PF

Property: Hotel PF
Address: Florencia No. 61 | Col. Juarez, Mexico City 06600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Reforma / Zona Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel PF 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel PF reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Florencia Hotel Mexico City
Plaza Florencia Mexico City
Hotel PF Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing