We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel PF
Ranked #63 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This was our second time staying in the Plaza Florencia - we had some issues the first time, however, decided to give them a second chance, primarily because we love the location. However, it was a mistake.

This time we arrived, and checked in around 2pm, when a wide choice of rooms must have been available. We were allocated room PP2 on the mezzanine floor (this hotel calls it Piso Principal (PP) which is located directly above the lobby level. The room appeared fine on first glance - we did however note that the internet signal was poor and intermittent. We went out for the afternoon and evening, returning to the hotel around 12 midnight.

Following a hot sunny afternoon, the room was hot, so we wanted to turn on the air conditioning. Strangely we could not find any controls for the AC. We called the front desk, and the clerk advised that there should be a remote 'somewhere'. We hunted, failed to find it, and called the desk again, whereupon the clerk sent a maintenance man to the room. The maintenance man entered and immediately advised us that our room did not in fact have air conditioning! We called the front desk yet again, and asked the clerk about this - it was apparently a great surprise to him to learn that the room had no AC. We advised him that we wished to change rooms, to which he answered that it would take him 'at least 45 minutes' to check what rooms were available (bearing in mind that this was after midnight).

Unwilling to wait this long, we collected our things, and proceeded to the front desk, where we insisted that he deal with the issue immediately. He could not explain why he didn't know what rooms were available, nor why it would take him 45 minutes to determine this. I requested he call the duty manager, and was informed that there was no manager on duty at night. Finally, since I made it clear I was not leaving the desk without a solution, he allocated us a room on the 9th floor, and we went there. The attitude of the night clerk was poor, and he was clearly uninterested in solving our problem.

The new room on the 9th floor had AC which functioned poorly but was better than the original room. Internet service on the 9th floor was much better.

The rest of our visit proceeded without incident - however - having been inconvenienced by something like this, one tends to then notice other smaller issues, of which the hotel has many.

Namely:

Bathroom sinks are strangely set with the taps way too far back, meaning the water runs down the back of the sink, and is very hard to use. This causes the surrounding counter to flood.

Walls are extremely thin - conversations and TVs in neighboring rooms on both sides could be clearly heard.

Blackout curtains, which are actually quite good, do not go all the way to the wall - there is a gap of about half an inch, directly in line with the head of the bed where the pillows are - result - a blinding line of light early in the morning - effect of which is instant wake up.

Generally disinterested employees, and it seems a great lack of management of the property.

I am intending to contact Profeco regarding the hotel's false advertising - i.e. all rooms air conditioned when in fact they are not - plus the fact that we paid for a room with air conditioning, and were allocated one without - without any advice to this effect from the desk clerk who checked us in.

We have given the hotel 2 chances - and they have failed. We will not be back. It's rare for me to write a negative review of a hotel, as you can see by the number of reviews I have submitted - however this hotel really does not deserve to be in business.

Room Tip: Avoid PP2 and ensure that your room has air conditioning installed if that is important to you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank El-Yuca-Ingles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPF1, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel PF, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Thank you for comments us. we need to know what was the incidents and the good comments. This is very important for us to continue working in all that you mentioned. We feel very sorry to know you didn´t enjoy your latest experience with us. About the air conditioning I would like to inform you that in the PP (Principal Floor) the maintenence department is installing mini splits that will function with remote control because at original the hotel doesn´t have air conditioning in this floor. About the Wi-Fi we have new system and system department into the hotel. Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (540)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 79 of 540 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I spent 4 nights there as part of a tour organized by Superior Tours of Puerto Vallarta.It is located in a very safe and central part of the city.It is very close to parks,restaurants,
shopping and the two decker tour bus stops at the end of the street.(corner of Florencia and Paseo de la Reforma) Rooms were very clean and beds comfortable.The breakfast buffet
was included in the price of the room and it was delicious The staff was very helpful in telling
us where were the best places to eat and to visit. We would go back anytime.

Room Tip: If you want a good view, take the room facing Calle Florencia.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Happy-seniors2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPF1, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel PF, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Thank you for share your comments. We are happy to know that you had an excellent stay in Hotel PF and all the staff had the oportunity to help you. As you mentioned We are near of different places where you can visit to eat or simply to walk . You will always be welcome. we hope you let us serving you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The hotel is located in Zona Rosa area and is very close to downtown attractions. The rooms are good spacious and over all hotel is value for money. Do bargain!! they go down with the prices if you are staying there for few nights. Very friendly and english/spanish speaking staff, makes it easy.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms facing the main street, not a big issue but i am a light sleeper so you often hear t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PinkVibgyor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPF1, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel PF, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We are grateful knowing that you were comfortable in our rooms. Really for us is necessary to know that all the staff helped you in all your request . As you mentioned we are near of different interesting places like the Independece Angel , the downtown and a lot restaurants. You will be welcome in the future. Do not hesitate to contact us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I stayed here as a brief over night trip before flying back home to Australia. The rooms were comfortable and clean. Beds big and comfy, bathroom clean, lots of toilet paper and soap. My only complaints are that there was no fridge in the room (I have medicines that need to be refrigerated), the air conditioner didn't really work (I just opened the window) and only the porter could speak English.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPF1, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel PF, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

We always appreciate guest´s comment, this is very helpful for us to change and modify certain details. We are very happy to know that you found our rooms clean and comfortable.
We are very sorry for the inconvenience about air conditioning and fridge. About medicine we recomend our guest left the medicine with the bell boys to keep them into an special refrigerator that they have to guard them. We hope you give us an opportunity to server in future if you will visit Mexico City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

This hotel is highly recommended in terms of location. Two blocks away from the "angel de la independencia", plenty of restaurants and clubs in the Zona Rosa and Condesa. The hotel is simple, clean offers free Wi-Fi and is really quiet. The only complain that I had was that the next door person was a smoker and the smoking policy seems to be quite loose. Also if you drink water or coffee be prepared to pay it. There's an OXXO (mexican version of a 7-11) around the corner where you can get besic stuff in case you need them. One last tip, the trip from the airport in a cab should not be more than 230 pesos or around 20 dollars.

Room Tip: If they have rooms available that don't face the street get them. They're obviously quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank irvmaelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPF1, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel PF, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time for comments us. The Hotel PF has a lot of advantages , the location is one of the most important benefits to visit many touristic points and different restaurants and night clubes. About the bad experience with the smoker We would like to mention that the hotel has fire alarms and all the hotel is free of smoke. So we will promove this policies and will have to take necessary meaure. About the taxi´s rate is correct, we always recommend the safety taxis from the hotel´s agency. Do not hesitate to contact us in your next visit to Mexico City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The hotel staff tried hard, but management failed us. One morning we left after the maid had already knocked on the door. We assumed she would just come back, but she never did so the room was never cleaned. We asked two days in a row to be moved to a room with a refrigerator. The first day, they forgot. The second day, they moved us to a room without a refrigerator? We pointed this out and they said they would have a new room in a couple of hours and they would move us while we were out. Never happened. We came back with milk and no refrigerator. After waiting in the lobby to see if we could switch again, they told us no. I asked for 1 free glass of wine for my wife for the frustration and the answer was, “I don't think so!” Even though the beds in the new room were worse than the first one, we gave up so we could unpack. We also had an issue where the package on the website we used was for a superior room and free breakfast for kids. It turned out to be an "Adults buy one breakfast (130 pesos)" and then the kids were free. I had to put up a battle to get the one day’s worth of breakfast for the kids for free and the next day we had to buy the adult breakfast. I paid extra for this package and on my voucher and theirs, it clearly stated "Kids breakfast Free!" Bottom line - The staff, overall was nice, the rooms were small, but OK, the location was good, but on our next trip, we will stay somewhere else. There are a lot of great options in DF, so no reason to go where the customer service is lacking.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors have larger windows. Only certain rooms have a refrigerator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank srichter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPF1, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel PF, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

We always appreciate guest´s comments. This is very helpful for us to change and modify somethings. Unfortunately all our rooms don´t have refrigerator as you mentioned so we offer an apology for the incident. About the free breakfast for the child is correct. It is mentioned in all the policies in the reservation . We feel very sorry to know you didn´t enjoy your experience with us. We hope you will give us an opportunity to attend you in your next visit to Mexico City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

A really good place to stay in the Zona Rosa. This is a comfortable quiet hotel. The decor is a little old fashioned but everything is in good condition and clean. Great location. Near enough to the Zona Rosa and metro stops etc, but far enough away not to be noisy. Recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank davidbaker999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPF1, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel PF, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments. For us it is a pleasure to know that you had a pleasant stay in Hotel PF. We are very happy to know that you found your room comfortable and clean. The location is a big advantage to visit different many touristic points in the city. We will be glad to see you soon. Do not hesitate to contact us again in your next visit to Mexico City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Room Mate Valentina
Room Mate Valentina
#41 of 312 in Mexico City
884 reviews
Juárez
Emporio Reforma
Emporio Reforma
#26 of 312 in Mexico City
961 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
NH Collection Mexico City Reforma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Laila Hotel CDMX
#111 of 312 in Mexico City
379 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Ibis Styles Mexico Zona Rosa
Ibis Styles Mexico Zona Rosa
#55 of 312 in Mexico City
458 reviews
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
#29 of 312 in Mexico City
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel PF? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel PF

Address: Calle Florencia 61 | Col. Juarez, Mexico City 06600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Reforma / Zona Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: $48 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel PF 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel PF reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Florencia Hotel Mexico City
Plaza Florencia Mexico City
Hotel PF Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing