We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gay! Gay! Gay! (Did I mention it's GAY?)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Room Mate Valentina
Ranked #32 of 305 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Gay! Gay! Gay! (Did I mention it's GAY?)”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I just stayed at Room Mate Valentina in DF. It's kind of like a gay Mexican W with over the top design (but in a good way), in super gay Zona Rosa.

My husband and I were traveling with my gay brother. We had two rooms on a high floor. The over the top design you see in the ad photos did not show up our rooms -- but we were OK with. We also had no idea that this hotel is smack dab in the middle of the Mexico's gay boys town -- convenient to bars, strippers and Mexican fetish boutiques. Since we are all gay we had no problem with that, either. If you're looking for a gay burrito or chimichanga, this might be the perfect hotel for you. Steer clear of the tacquitos, though, as they are picueno.

The cold breakfast was a bit disappointing. No eggs and they were playing Two & Half Men on the TV in the dinging room. Well, I guess Charlie Sheen is latino, right?

Given the $67.00US per night price, we were generally happy with the entire experience. Paying much more than that (like $68.00) would be over paying. The staff were friendly and helpful. The toilet kept running and there were mystery stains on the hotel room carpeting and bathroom walls. It's not the Four Seasons, which if I'm ever in DF again, is where I'll stay.

Room Tip: Request a room with a working toilet and no carpet stains! You'll be delighted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMBLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valentina_direccion, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Valentina, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear DMBLA:

Thank you for rating and share their experience at Room Mate Valentina.

The Zona Rosa is known for its nightlife, comments like yours makes our service better day by day.

If you decide to return please contact me will be a pleasure to serve.

Best Regards
Ericka Flores
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    287
    100
    35
    18
See reviews for
70
335
98
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Morelos, Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The photos made it look amazing, but the hotel seems in need of some love. The room wasn't properly clean (crumbs on sofa and hair in shower drain) and there were cracks in the paint on the wall, in the paint on a big lamp, the sink had been shattered and glued back together, and the feature light (sweeping around the head of the bed) which would have made the room, didn't work.

Worst, when we asked about the light, the maintenance guy tried to tell us that it wasn't supposed to light up, in spite of the fact that there were clearly several light switches that didn't do anything!

But the staff was generally very nice and the location is amazing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WetSetDive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valentina_direccion, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Valentina, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Wetsetdivers,

Thank you for taking time in writing about your stay with Valentina.

It's always nice to know the needs and thoughts of our guests. I take note of all your suggestions.

It would be a pleasure to count with your visit again so you can have a 100% satisfactory experience. Please, do not hesitate in contacting me if I can help you with anything.

Best Regards

Ericka Flores
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Had read some great reviews on here so decided to stay for our journey to Mexico City.

Wasn't great hotel, staff wouldn't even greet you unless you greeted them first. Breakfast didn't even ave orange juice or water, just grapefruit juice. There were Mosquitos everywhere in the hotel, even in the fruit bowl for breakfast.

There was a fridge with minibar prices, however the fridge was empty, not even water to drink!

Area wasn't as great as everyone talked it up to be, much nicer to stay in Polanco next time.

Overall hotel took back from an otherwise great trip to Mexico City.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valentina_direccion, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Valentina, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear John T:

Thank you very much for your time in Romm Mate Valentina and your time for let us know your opinion.

Comments like yours make our service better day by day, and make you feel at friend´s home.


If you decide to return please contact me will be a pleasure to receive.

Best Regards

Ericka Flores
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This was the third time I've stayed in this property within the last year, and the experience just keeps getting better. I don't know if its the convenience of the location, or the wonderful staff. It just works beautifully! From the fun rooms, complete with sound systems I can plug my ipod into, to the tasty breakfast served daily (until 12 noon!), to the pleasant smiles and service provided by the staff there. The Valentina seems to hit on all cylinders.
Thanks again for a wonderful stay in a exciting part of Mexico City. I will return soon!

Room Tip: the deluxe executive corner room with a view of the North, and the 'Angel' is not to be miss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valentina_direccion, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Valentina, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Steven M:

Thank you!! for your beautiful words, nothing makes us happier than reading you have enjoyed your stay with us in Valentina.

I hope to see you soon, will be happy to assist.

Ericka Flores
Front Desk Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I recently stayed at Room Mate Valentina for 7 nights and can't say enough nice things about it. The staff was very pleasant and went out of their way to be helpful.

The room was very clean and spacious, though the couch looked like it had a few drinks spilled on it at some point. The king sized bed was very comfortable. Breakfast included plenty of good options, my favorite being the excellent selection of fresh fruit.

Zona Rosa is definitely a fun neighborhood with a vibrant night life but the hotel was always pretty quiet and peaceful. Part of why we chose Room Mate Valentina was because it was affordable, in a fairly safe area and got good reviews. While it is not an over the top luxury boutique hotel, it was exactly what we hoped for: a clean, comfortable and fun place to stay after having great days out in bustling Mexico City.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaArbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valentina_direccion, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Valentina, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear AnnaArbor:

Thank you very much for your feedback and appreciate your stay in room mate Valentina.

We are pleased that you enjoy your stay with us, this will always be your home.


If you decide to return please contact me will always be a pleasure to receive and live the experience again Room Mate.


Best Regards

Ericka Flores
Front Desk Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
123 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Fab hotel again by Room Mate with a funky modern design in a great location for going out. The rooms were clean and huge, beds super comfy, staff really attentive a going out of their way to help . Breakfast was perfectly adequate to kick start a day of walking around town. Overall really nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TraveladdictMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valentina_direccion, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Valentina, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear TraveladdictMadrid ,

Thank for staying with Room Mate Valentina.

We always try to make our guests feel like if they were at home and is so gratifying reading these reviews!

We hope to see you soon!!!!!

Best regards

Ericka Flores
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This little boutique hotel is a gem in the Zona Rosa. Cute rooms with fun, clean & modern decor. Friendly service at the desk and a substantial breakfast included. A great choice for a mid range hotel in Mexico City and close to lots of restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kvd2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valentina_direccion, Front Office Manager at Room Mate Valentina, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hello kvd2011

Thanks for taking the time to write your experience hereby

makes us feel great to know that everything was Valentina your total satisfaction, as you mention, a feature of our chain is to offer a nutritious breakfast, a warm welcome and a good location in one of the largest cities in the world.
I hope you visit us again.

Best Regards
Ericka Flores
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Reforma / Zona Rosa
NH Collection Mexico City Reforma
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Ibis Styles Mexico Zona Rosa
Ibis Styles Mexico Zona Rosa
#47 of 305 in Mexico City
416 reviews
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
#23 of 305 in Mexico City
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
#35 of 305 in Mexico City
900 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Galeria Plaza Reforma
Galeria Plaza Reforma
#38 of 305 in Mexico City
1,093 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
City Express Plus Reforma El Angel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Valentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Valentina

Property: Room Mate Valentina
Address: Calle Amberes 27 | Zona Rosa, Mexico City 06600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Reforma / Zona Rosa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#14 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#44 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Room Mate Valentina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel in Mexico City ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Room Mate Hotels, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Room Mate Valentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Valentina Hotel Mexico City
Marco Polo Mexico City
Hotel Marco Polo
Room Mate Valentina Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing