We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good One”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Room Mate Valentina
Ranked #41 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I choosed this hotel because I got a pretty good Disccount code. The hotel is not very big, but it's very discrete and rooms aren't very compacted. Bed was white and clean, the breakfast last until 12:pm. I got all the bathroom amenities and a minifridge with some must-pay snacks and drinks. All the hotel staff were really nice to me.

The only thing that I didn't like is that it seems they don't have non smocking room or smocking room classified, so my room had a big smoke smell.

The Hotel is located really close to the "Angel de la Independencia" Monument, I would say the most important monument of Mexico City (besides historic center). There are couple malls close to the hotel, beauty saloons, mini markets, bus stop...

But the "Zona Rosa" or Pink Zone, it's like an erotic-LGBT neiborghood.. There are Lot of discos, sexshops and gays center in the same street (and near) to the hotel. If you don't mind that wouldn't be a problem, but be aware if you are with kids, so they don't ask "what's that?" (while looking to a sex shop)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Idrialis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (886)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

273 - 279 of 886 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2012

Please Do! Visited México City for a Music Festival last October and based on some reviews picked Valentina, Thanks Trip Advisor Members what an Amazing Choice.

First of all, the service is flawless everyone has a smile on their faces always, had some requests during my stay and Valentina Staff took care of them, when I checked out request a Taxi and was there Promptly. Thanks Laura, Fernando and Erick!

Next, the Location is great right in middle of The Zona Rosa a couple of blocks from Reforma and Angel of Independencia, nice to take a walk during the day or night.

before I finish, need to mention the Room, the design is perfect and bed was really comfortable.

From now on, Valentina will be my hotel of choice traveling to México City.

Valentina Ill see you soon to celebrate New Years!.

.

Room Tip: Pick six or seven floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hecto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

It wasn't easy to give a rating of "Poor". The hotel has many good things. The staff is quite good. The location is also good --- you can read about it in many other reviews. Good design; nice room. But to me, a good night's sleep is above all other things. I was dismayed to discover that the walls are thin. How thin? I couldn't sleep until the people in the other room decided they had had enough TV --- after 2 AM.

If good design, a nice staff, a very clean room are in your priorities way above a quite environment, by all means go for it: this place is indeed very good. But if you need a good night's sleep, I wouldn't recommend this place to you.

Room Tip: If they can promise they'll give you a room so that the neighboring rooms are empty, go for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcamaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

this hotel offers the promise of a boutique experience in the heart of trash/pop/glam Zona Rosa.
does it deliver?

pro:
- service: hard-working, dedicated, super-friendly and downright loveable reception and bell staff
- location: on (pink) c/amberes, just off reforma, walking distance from roma, and just a short taxi drive from condesa and centro historico, you can't get better location while retaining all the convenience of a human-scale pedestrian neighborhood (polanco, anyone?).
- happy-go-lucky, modern, positive design inspiration, always a plus in an often dreary architown like df - especially for this price
- breakfast buffet including good cereals, fresh fruits/juices and other continental staples - and all until 12 noon!
- budget! a fraction of what you would pay at condesa df or habits - although these are more beautiful they are also overpriced and snobby. they need to get some competition at least, and that is what charming valentina offers.

cons:
- breakfast is carb heavy and poor on proteins: eg it does not include any eggs, only boring ham and cheese. (lactose free options only ham). ok this is a spanish chain but international guests expect eggs for breakfast ok? mexican additions like salsa verde and refried beans would make the brekky only marginally more costly to make, but so much more satisfying and local-touch.
- isolation in the rooms is poor from the door side: you hear everything that happens in the corridor. mind you this is also a problem at other boutique hotels (especially in old buildings, like condesa df) but it should be taken care of.
- the smell of the drains is hard to bear but difficult to tackle I know (mexico city has its sewerage problems like every big city). still they should try to improve on this.

all in all a positive experience and I would definitely return, hoping the owners will read this review and solve some of the challenges to make this an even better experience.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dirkdewilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Totally loved this beautiful and modern hotel, attention from the staff was always friendly and they helped us in everything we needed, thanks to them, we have an amazing tour to Teotihuacán. Room was clean, nice and with all the amenities we wanted.
Definitelly will be back soon!

Room Tip: All rooms have great view to the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I loved this little boutique hotel and its modern decor. The service was phenomenal and the staff was very friendly. It is in a really nice part of the city and a short walk to Paseo Reforma. There were cafes, boutiques, and restaurants all within a few minutes walk as well. I was pleasantly surprised to find an antique mall around the corner too. I was originally in a room on the eleventh floor but because they needed to do some work on it was upgraded to the pent house, which was very cute.If my boyfriend and I come back to Mexico City again this is where we will stay. Some visitors criticized the breakfast but you know what? I found it adequate and besides who wants to get weighed down with a heavy meal when you have amazing food to sample through out the city just waiting for you. By the way the coffee was good and they had a large assortment of tea selections.
PS the only thing I would change is I would add

Room Tip: Request an upper floor. There is a very lively night club scene so if you are one that goes to bed e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is a funkily designed little hotel in the heart of Zona Rosa in Mexico City. The location is perfect if you want to be in the heart of this throbbing city. It is surrounded by restaurants, bars and some dubious nightlife. I have stayed here twice. The rooms are very large and bright. All necessary amenities are included and nothing is included that you don't need. Don't expect chocolate on the pillows but do expect big comfy soft furnishings, free wifi, free breakfast and super clean conditions. If you want quiet or chocolates, go to one of the posh places in Polanco.
The most impressive aspect of this hotel and the reason I came back is the staff. Friendly, charming and helpful. I wish there were more hotels like this in the world. The hotel has a staff car and driver who is equally helpful, knowledgeable and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Talamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Reforma / Zona Rosa
NH Collection Mexico City Reforma
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Ibis Styles Mexico Zona Rosa
Ibis Styles Mexico Zona Rosa
#54 of 312 in Mexico City
458 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
#37 of 312 in Mexico City
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Hotel PF
Hotel PF
#63 of 312 in Mexico City
540 reviews
Juárez
Emporio Reforma
Emporio Reforma
#26 of 312 in Mexico City
969 reviews
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
#27 of 312 in Mexico City
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Valentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Valentina

Address: Calle Amberes 27 | Zona Rosa, Mexico City 06600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Reforma / Zona Rosa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#44 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: $68 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Room Mate Valentina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel in Mexico City ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Room Mate Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Room Mate Valentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Valentina Hotel Mexico City
Marco Polo Mexico City
Hotel Marco Polo
Room Mate Valentina Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing