We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still no improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Room Mate Valentina
Ranked #41 of 310 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Still no improvement”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Out of necessity, I found myself back at the Room Mate Valentina for a brief 3 night stay. Not only have things not improved since my last visit, but I believe they have gotten worse. When we check in, our trash cans were still full from the previous guest. The room was so dimly lit, that we could not read in bed. I commented on this at the front desk and was greeted with blank stares. The room was as noisy as ever: my partner could not sleep. We reserved two bikes to ride on Sunday, re-confirmed when we went to breakfast and found them gone when we went to get them. The front desk staff is glum and not helpful. Breakfast was better than my last experience but still always had to ask for replenishment of items as the attendant was not observant. I repeat that perhaps the GM should go visit the Room Mate Carlos which is a 5 star property compared to his poor sister Valentina. I have stayed in many hotels in DF and this is one that I will not be visiting again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jofong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    287
    102
    36
    19
See reviews for
71
337
99
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed here for eight nights, so it’s got to be pretty decent! It’s a good value hotel with large, interesting rooms; fast, free Wifi; and an excellent location in the Zona Rosa. The Zona Rosa is safe, middle class and full of corner-shops and cafes; it’s perhaps characterless, but there’s no concerns about safety.

The hotel is slap bang on the gay street of the zone. This is nothing at all to be threatened by (unless you’re rabidly homophobic) but it does mean that it’s noisy from 16.00 to about 04.00 - the surrounding bars pump out house, jungle and techno at impressive volume.

There were some downsides to the hotel. Our room had a number of maintenance problems, most notably with a flooding shower and significant humidity. Nothing was a huge issue but it did mean that the room was a bit damp and smelly some days of our stay.

Although the breakfast is good by Mexican standards, the coffee and bread were really poor quality - an odd corner to cut on the basics, when fresh yogurt and fruits are also on offer.

The reception staff are polite, but nothing more. Elsewhere in Mexico we were treated with real enthusiasm and warmth, and the staff were keen to help us maximize our vacation in their city. Perhaps it’s just a cultural thing - people in Mexico City are generally a bit more reserved, I guess.

Generally though this is a very good place and if they just paid a bit more attention to the details it’d definitely be a 5* choice.

Room Tip: All the rooms are large, but if you're a light sleeper I'd definitely contact the hotel befo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edd54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

As a 27-year-old woman traveling alone, my experience with Room Mate Valentina made me feel really safe in a new city for me.

Located in the Pink Zone, it's in a block were bars and clubs open early in the afternoon and stay active until dawn. While this may be a problem for some people, it also guarantees that there are always people on the streets and that adds up to safety.

It's also located only 2 blocks away from the iconic Angel de la Independencia, which is not only a landmark in itself, but a point from where you can get transportation to anywhere in the city.

The hotel staff has been really friendly and helpful, they recommended places to go, and kept my bags after checkout so I could finish my tour.

The room is very nice, modern and clean, though with a subtle humidity smell. From the 6th floor you can barely hear the music coming from the streets, and was definitely not a problem for sleeping. Lower floors may be noisier.

Definitely a place I would go back to, and great value for your money.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter, definitely ask for those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecilia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Had a really nice stay in the hotel, Very good value for money, rooms very clean and the breakfast was a great start to the day. Good fairly central location, a little noisy though but an interesting area. One member of the staff very nice in ensuring that we had some hot water for our cup of tea last thing at night (being english). The rough edges were that there were no brochures to describve the tourist sights of Mexico City, also being new to the city did not realise that the metro was only 5 minutes walk away. Overall enjoyable staym but please be a bit more forthcoming with info. for people who have never been to Mexico City before.

Room Tip: Higher up to avoid the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahahual, Q. Roo Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

The booking and check in process was easy. The room was clean, brightly colored, but on the small side. The bathroom however, was large. The location is central enough in the city to get around easily. I think the price is fair and the breakfast was good. Only downside was some of the bars close by stay open late (3 am) with loud music you can hear, this was only problem one out of the three nights I stayed there. Overall it's a good option for a centrally located hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up may not suffer from noise pollution.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidnoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I stayed in the hotel for 2 nights in June 2012. I made a short term booking based on the good reviews on tripadvisor. I did not regret the decision. The location is super central, great to do sight seeing, I never felt unsafe. And they have very helpful staff. Obviously it's not a 5star hotel, but rooms were very clean and rather spacious, everything worked, rooms were well equipped, wifi is free and breakfast alright.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Miss0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Our favorite in Zona Rosa, the staff is always more then helpfull and offer a good service. The rooms are trendy and nice designed and clean as well. breakfast is small but nice and is a good start into the day.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oliver B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Reforma / Zona Rosa
NH Collection Mexico City Reforma
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Ibis Styles Mexico Zona Rosa
Ibis Styles Mexico Zona Rosa
#48 of 310 in Mexico City
421 reviews
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
#25 of 310 in Mexico City
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
#34 of 310 in Mexico City
909 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Galeria Plaza Reforma
Galeria Plaza Reforma
#33 of 310 in Mexico City
1,166 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
City Express Plus Reforma El Angel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Valentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Valentina

Property: Room Mate Valentina
Address: Calle Amberes 27 | Zona Rosa, Mexico City 06600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Reforma / Zona Rosa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#14 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#44 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Room Mate Valentina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel in Mexico City ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Room Mate Valentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Valentina Hotel Mexico City
Marco Polo Mexico City
Hotel Marco Polo
Room Mate Valentina Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing