We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Mallorca Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mallorca Hotel
Ranked #244 of 306 Hotels in Mexico City
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

I'm sure there are hostels that offer better accommodation than Mallorca Hotel. The hotel is very old. Shower heads have lime scale so the shower strength was poor. There was only lukewarm water available for a shower on the first night I was there. The hotel is also freezing! We all had to ask for extra blankets. And the coffee from the hotel restaurant tasted like cardboard. This may be cheap but I would never stay here again. Only reason I stayed here was that the tour company I was travelling with (Intrepid) use this hotel. The staff are friendly enough and tried to help with extra blankets & cleaning my shower head, but I definitely wouldn't return to this hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Shazza711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    25
    33
    13
    9
See reviews for
17
20
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Our back packing tour company booked us into this hotel. It's basic but clean and popular with Mexican tour groups so I had to wear earplugs because of all the coming and goings. The location is a long way from the centre of town although just off The Reforma, the main drag. Our Mexican official tour guide told us it was in the middle of a tolerated prostitution area. We didn't see anything untoward.

Room Tip: We had a room off the internal light well so we didn't get traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank alisonleahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mexico City hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Great location in Mexico City... but unfortunately our stay wasn't the best when visited in November 2013. Our room had sticky carpet and the security chain and locks on the door were very flimsy so at times it felt quite unsafe. There was a tv in the room, but there was no remote to turn it on. We were told that we had to pay and leave a deposit for the remote control in order to use it. There was construction happening at 10pm on the floor below, so it was quite noisy. Sorry to say, but the lady on front desk was quite rude when we asked about the tv and currency conversion, and didn't bother to answer our questions. On a positive, the staff in the restaurant downstairs were very friendly and there is an OXO and restaurants in close walking distance! Great if you do not plan on spending much time in your room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emyhans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
182 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Great value! Next to a Walmart supermarket for brek and late night snacks. Oxxo's around the corner for huge coffees 24-7. Near the Revolution metro and Reforma and Insurgentes buses. Clean, clean room! Fun channels on TV. A bit noisy with tour groups, just use earplugs. Comfy, soft, clean bed. Spic n span bathroom, hot hot shower. So easy to get to sites from here: Zocalo, Alameda, Chapultepec, Roma. Safe and neighborhoody. 7-11, Citibank, useful chains all around. Life is easy here for a few days.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KillerRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Like I said. Very well located. Just two blocks from the Reforma Metrobus station and 3 block from Paseo de la Reforma and to top it off its only $ 26.00 dollars for two adults!!!!!. Un-heard of prices on this location. The rooms are clean but they fell stuffy. The window doesnt open much since it is just a slot about 4 inches by 36 inches. I guess for security reasons. But you didn't go to Mexico to stay inside a hotel, right ?

If you're coming for visit or bussines don't get fooled asking the airport taxi driver to take you to a "good hotel" since they are in cahoots with some hotel. Our first night we stayed at a hotel at 63 dollars per night and two block down we found this one at 26 dollars per night. They are very close to La Zona Rosa. A trendy night life area, as well.

They accept visa, MC, AX, and of course......cash.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Norberto I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
317 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is quite basic and a little smelly but the staff is kind, a bottle of water is provided every day and the location is excellent, walking distance from the centre and the museum area and close to a subway station. Good cheap hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauramtorino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Hotel was in central part of city. Room was clean and plenty hot water but very basic.
Easy walking to sights. Pre booked taxi from airport cost A$50.
Supermarket right next door which has ALL supplies. Staff friendly and safe deposit box.
Recommended as a budget hotel in safe area.
Victoria Australia

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bmlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
New York Hotel
#204 of 306 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Hotel Sevilla
#207 of 306 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Alameda
Hotel Fornos
Hotel Fornos
#112 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alameda
Hotel Panuco
Hotel Panuco
#226 of 306 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Centro Historico
Hotel Castropol
Hotel Castropol
#65 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Basic Hotel
#247 of 306 in Mexico City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mallorca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mallorca Hotel

Property: Mallorca Hotel
Address: Calle Serapio Rendon 119, Mexico City 06470, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #244 of 306 Hotels in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mallorca Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mallorca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mallorca Hotel Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing