We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Value!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Fontan Reforma
Ranked #86 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Reviewed January 27, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Fontan hotel on Reforma in Mexico City for 6 days in January 2014. While there, we also took advantage of many tours, most from the adjacent travel agency. As far as the hotel is concerned, the staff is outstanding....very professional and always helpful. The rooms are nicely appointed and very clean. The best part is the hotel's central location....AND very close to a Starbuck's, a number of restaurants, and only a few blocks from a great shopping mall.

Room Tip: We asked for a room not far from the elevator, facing Reforma street, and on the 3rd floor or higher...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobalGalloper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RECEPCIONFM, Gerente at Hotel Fontan Reforma, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014
Google Translation

Muchas Gracias por sus comentarios, importante saber que nos ha dedicado tiempo para conocer acerca de su estancia, personalmente me gustaría tener la oportunidad de saludarle en un próxima visita a Hotel Fontán para agradecerle tan gentil, gesto y sigamos conservando sus buenos comentarios.

le envío saludos cordiales.

Ivan García García
Gerente Ventas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (817)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Fontan Reforma
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 93 of 817 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2013

great place, the room a little small, but ok, and the breakfast buffet was great, also the view, i recommended it for the price, and the location, helpful staff too. also the housekeeper was good, i stay there for three nights and it was ok, but there is so many hotels in this area, next time i will try something different

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moroni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RECEPCIONFM, Gerente at Hotel Fontan Reforma, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014
Google Translation

Muchas Gracias por tomarse un tiempo para escribirnos, quiero agradecer antes que nada su disposición, misma que tomaremos en cuenta y valoraremos.
Mucho me gustaría tener la oportunidad de que en su próxima visita a la Ciudad de México pueda saludarle personalmente a fin de poder conocer más sobre su experiencia durante su estancia, además de poder brindarle una tarjeta (sin Costo) de la que podrá obtener varios beneficios durante su estancia en nuestro hotel.
Nuestra intensión sólo es de agradecer tan amable gesto y de alguna forma hacerlo parte de nuestros clientes consentidos, por su interés en vernos mejorar....Sin más, le envía saludos Iván García Gerente de Ventas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This hotel is very close to both the MetroBus and the Metro (subway), Hidalgo station, making it a great place for exploring the City. The area around the hotel is quite safe, even at night. The staff are helpful and pleasant and the rooms are large with comfortable but firm beds. A good shower with plenty of hot water. There is appreciable noise on rooms facing the Paseo de la Reforma but I was able to sleep fine. I noticed that some rooms on my floor were being renovated and perhaps they are installing better sound insulating windows. Worth checking on. But we got the room for only $60 per night and that included the breakfast buffet, which is great with omelets made to order and a good selection of hot and cold food. Buffet staff were especially attentive and pleasant. Although some reviewers say that the wired internet did not work, it worked fine for us. No issues at all. Although it is not a luxury hotel, I would recommend it for the price and service.

Room Tip: If you are noise sensitive, ask for a renovated room or away from Paseo de la Reforma.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RECEPCIONFM, Front Office Manager at Hotel Fontan Reforma, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Mr Tom
Thanks you for all your comments and hope to see again in Hotel Fontan

Brindar Hospitalidad Con Pasiòn
Lic. Fanny Hernandez Breniz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

It really is a good deal and the rooms aren't that bad. They are clean, spacious. However, the beds are extremely uncomfortable. The Jacuzzi in the solarium is not heated. I asked the bartender upstairs about it and he told me it was a jacuzzi for penguins, that they never heated it. The had a nice little workout facility. Free breakfast. The staff was very helpful. It's in a good neighborhood. Go to Armando's Tortas for a torta. Muy rica. They will NOT let you check in before 3, so don't ask. I would return if traveling on a budget.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trilobite01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RECEPCIONFM, Gerente at Hotel Fontan Reforma, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014
Google Translation

Muchas Gracias por tomarse un tiempo para escribirnos, quiero agradecer antes que nada su disposición, misma que tomaremos en cuenta y valoraremos.
Mucho me gustaría tener la oportunidad de que en su próxima visita a la Ciudad de México pueda saludarle personalmente a fin de poder conocer más sobre su experiencia durante su estancia, además de poder brindarle una tarjeta (sin Costo) de la que podrá obtener varios beneficios durante su estancia en nuestro hotel.
Nuestra intensión sólo es de agradecer tan amable gesto y de alguna forma hacerlo parte de nuestros clientes consentidos, por su interés en vernos mejorar....Sin más, le envía saludos Iván García Gerente de Ventas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is great... close to the center of the city, subway station no hand, bus station in front... and can get a cab in seconds...
My wife and I went to Mexico City for our honeymoon and stayed there for 6 days... the first impression was okay, great and humble service, the only thing we didn't like was the breakfast in the first day... afterwards we made a suggestion and the next day it was better... they do listen and make the effort to please your stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ironjose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RECEPCIONFM, Gerente at Hotel Fontan Reforma, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014
Google Translation

Muchas Gracias por tomarse un tiempo para escribirnos, quiero agradecer antes que nada su disposición, misma que tomaremos en cuenta y valoraremos.
Mucho me gustaría tener la oportunidad de que en su próxima visita a la Ciudad de México pueda saludarle personalmente a fin de poder conocer más sobre su experiencia durante su estancia, además de poder brindarle una tarjeta (sin Costo) de la que podrá obtener varios beneficios durante su estancia en nuestro hotel.
Nuestra intensión sólo es de agradecer tan amable gesto y de alguna forma hacerlo parte de nuestros clientes consentidos, por su interés en vernos mejorar....Sin más, le envía saludos Iván García Gerente de Ventas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This place is great and I have been there a bunch of times. We love the free breakfast on the 10th floor. The service is excellent considering it is meant to be buffet. Compared to many hotels, by the time you throw in a couple of breakfasts that amount to breakfast and lunch (especially if you are a slow starter as the restaurant doesn't close till 11am) then you are getting the room for free. The only thing about this hotel is despite what it says, the internet is lousy. It is kind of ok/erratic in the restaurant on the 10th floor, the looby is poor, the wireless in the rooms is non-existent and the wired internet in the rooms does not work at all ("Very sorry Mister"). I don't know why they can't get the internet working. It is a few feet from Hidalgo Metro, a 10 minute walt to Bellas Artes along the side of a park with great fountains, 5 mins on the Metro to Zocolo for the Cathedral. You can get to the airport terminal 1 by changing Metro at La Raza (long but interesting tunnel connection) for only 3 Pesos. In the rush hour this is the only way to get to and from the airport to be honest. The red #4 airport bus also goes to the airport. But in traffic and at 30 Pesos plus 10 Pesos for the card why take a luxury bus is my thinking. No traffic noise from Reforma even on the 3rd floor. Green busses at 6 Pesos (KM13 or Auditorio) go every few minutes down Reforma to the Museum of Modern Art & Archaeological Museum. Return bus shows La Villa. Download area map from google on your phone and leave your GPS on and you will know where you are all the time. To go to the Pyramids at Teothihuacan take Metro - 3 Pesos - from Hidalgo, change change at La Raza, one stop to Northern Bus Terminal. This will take 15 mins. Then bus goes to "Piramides" every 30 mins. Around Gate #8 at far end. Cost is 40 Pesos each way. When you exit (different place from where you come in and down a long aisle with lots of shopping - don't shop as you enter) you will come out in the street. Opposite there are some great cheap restaurants. Buses go back to Mexico City every 15 minutes or less. Most go through the local town and are slower than coming out. Get off at 18 Marzo metro station to save the traffic back to the bus station. Also it saves changing at La Raza. And if you are adventurous you can save 30-45 mins by getting the bus at Potrero Metro station (east side). There are bus staff there and anyone will help you if you ask for "Piramidays". Again you won't have to change at La Raza. Don't believe anyone who says you need to spend $70 on a fancy tour. You can do it all in for $7 and go at your own pace for as long or as short as you want!

Room Tip: Might be noisy on Reforma side but we stayed on 3rd floor and it was very quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PeterPakChong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RECEPCIONFM, Gerente at Hotel Fontan Reforma, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014
Google Translation

Muchas Gracias por tomarse un tiempo para escribirnos, quiero agradecer antes que nada su disposición, misma que tomaremos en cuenta y valoraremos.
Mucho me gustaría tener la oportunidad de que en su próxima visita a la Ciudad de México pueda saludarle personalmente a fin de poder conocer más sobre su experiencia durante su estancia, además de poder brindarle una tarjeta (sin Costo) de la que podrá obtener varios beneficios durante su estancia en nuestro hotel.
Nuestra intensión sólo es de agradecer tan amable gesto y de alguna forma hacerlo parte de nuestros clientes consentidos, por su interés en vernos mejorar....Sin más, le envía saludos Iván García Gerente de Ventas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I went to Mexico city for a soccer game and I decided to get a room to rest after the game, I arrived at the Hotel early about 9-10AM to try check in and guess what?...... big surprise the hotel staff was not able to find my reservation on their system, it took the staff about 3 hours to finally confirm my reservation(systems issues was the only explanation by the staff). The rooms are decent for the price but I really didn't enjoy their customer service. I will try something different next time... Good Luck!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elrazo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RECEPCIONFM, Manager at Hotel Fontan Reforma, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013
Google Translation

Srita: Portillo

Gracias por su opinion, ya que es muy valiosa para nosotros, esperamos contar su presencia cuando usted decida y poder seguir atendiendola como solo usted se merece.

Quedo a sus ordenes

Lic. Jacqueline Roman
Gte. de Serv. al Huesped

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Alameda
Ibis Mexico Alameda
Ibis Mexico Alameda
#77 of 312 in Mexico City
402 reviews
Alameda
One Ciudad De Mexico Alameda
One Ciudad De Mexico Alameda
#33 of 312 in Mexico City
619 reviews
Hotel Plaza Revolucion
#37 of 312 in Mexico City
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel El Ejecutivo
#52 of 312 in Mexico City
1,433 reviews
Alameda
Hotel Marlowe
Hotel Marlowe
#75 of 312 in Mexico City
383 reviews
Ramada Reforma Mexico City
#126 of 312 in Mexico City
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fontan Reforma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fontan Reforma

Address: Paseo de la Reforma 24, Mexico City 06040, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Alameda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Price Range: $55 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fontan Reforma 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Fontan Reforma, ideal for travelers looking for new experiences, a hotel located in the heart of Mexico City, just a few steps from the Palacio de Bellas Artes, 800 mts from the Zocalo Capitalino and one block from the subway station Hidalgo. With its 240 Rooms this hotel is suitable for Tourists from all over the world as well as for Executives in search of rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Fontan Reforma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fontan Mexico City
Hotel Fontan Reforma Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing