We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best deal in Mexico City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Fontan Reforma
Ranked #90 of 306 Hotels in Mexico City
Austin TX
Level Contributor
115 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Best deal in Mexico City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

This place is great and I have been there a bunch of times. We love the free breakfast on the 10th floor. The service is excellent considering it is meant to be buffet. Compared to many hotels, by the time you throw in a couple of breakfasts that amount to breakfast and lunch (especially if you are a slow starter as the restaurant doesn't close till 11am) then you are getting the room for free. The only thing about this hotel is despite what it says, the internet is lousy. It is kind of ok/erratic in the restaurant on the 10th floor, the looby is poor, the wireless in the rooms is non-existent and the wired internet in the rooms does not work at all ("Very sorry Mister"). I don't know why they can't get the internet working. It is a few feet from Hidalgo Metro, a 10 minute walt to Bellas Artes along the side of a park with great fountains, 5 mins on the Metro to Zocolo for the Cathedral. You can get to the airport terminal 1 by changing Metro at La Raza (long but interesting tunnel connection) for only 3 Pesos. In the rush hour this is the only way to get to and from the airport to be honest. The red #4 airport bus also goes to the airport. But in traffic and at 30 Pesos plus 10 Pesos for the card why take a luxury bus is my thinking. No traffic noise from Reforma even on the 3rd floor. Green busses at 6 Pesos (KM13 or Auditorio) go every few minutes down Reforma to the Museum of Modern Art & Archaeological Museum. Return bus shows La Villa. Download area map from google on your phone and leave your GPS on and you will know where you are all the time. To go to the Pyramids at Teothihuacan take Metro - 3 Pesos - from Hidalgo, change change at La Raza, one stop to Northern Bus Terminal. This will take 15 mins. Then bus goes to "Piramides" every 30 mins. Around Gate #8 at far end. Cost is 40 Pesos each way. When you exit (different place from where you come in and down a long aisle with lots of shopping - don't shop as you enter) you will come out in the street. Opposite there are some great cheap restaurants. Buses go back to Mexico City every 15 minutes or less. Most go through the local town and are slower than coming out. Get off at 18 Marzo metro station to save the traffic back to the bus station. Also it saves changing at La Raza. And if you are adventurous you can save 30-45 mins by getting the bus at Potrero Metro station (east side). There are bus staff there and anyone will help you if you ask for "Piramidays". Again you won't have to change at La Raza. Don't believe anyone who says you need to spend $70 on a fancy tour. You can do it all in for $7 and go at your own pace for as long or as short as you want!

Room Tip: Might be noisy on Reforma side but we stayed on 3rd floor and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PeterPakChong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RECEPCIONFM, Gerente at Hotel Fontan Reforma, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Google Translation
Muchas Gracias por tomarse un tiempo para escribirnos, quiero agradecer antes que nada su disposición, misma que tomaremos en cuenta y valoraremos.
Mucho me gustaría tener la oportunidad de que en su próxima visita a la Ciudad de México pueda saludarle personalmente a fin de poder conocer más sobre su experiencia durante su estancia, además de poder brindarle una tarjeta (sin Costo) de la que podrá obtener varios beneficios durante su estancia en nuestro hotel.
Nuestra intensión sólo es de agradecer tan amable gesto y de alguna forma hacerlo parte de nuestros clientes consentidos, por su interés en vernos mejorar....Sin más, le envía saludos Iván García Gerente de Ventas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    303
    191
    63
    82
See reviews for
182
183
91
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

I went to Mexico city for a soccer game and I decided to get a room to rest after the game, I arrived at the Hotel early about 9-10AM to try check in and guess what?...... big surprise the hotel staff was not able to find my reservation on their system, it took the staff about 3 hours to finally confirm my reservation(systems issues was the only explanation by the staff). The rooms are decent for the price but I really didn't enjoy their customer service. I will try something different next time... Good Luck!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elrazo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RECEPCIONFM, Manager at Hotel Fontan Reforma, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Google Translation
Srita: Portillo

Gracias por su opinion, ya que es muy valiosa para nosotros, esperamos contar su presencia cuando usted decida y poder seguir atendiendola como solo usted se merece.

Quedo a sus ordenes

Lic. Jacqueline Roman
Gte. de Serv. al Huesped
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mexico City hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We were four adults who went to Mexico City for a Fey Concert, we stayed on the 5´th floor of this very good and modestly priced hotel. We found the staff very accomodating, the breakfasts, which are included in the price of the room, were always excellent. One night we took advantage of the roof top bar, we each had a good drink and admired the view. Will definetly return to this moderately priced, but centrally located hotel.

Room Tip: Book in advance because this hotel is popular with tour groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank windsorcottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We were a family group that stayed from March 26th to March 31st and we were located on the 2nd floor, rooms 1216 to 1219 and the noise was really a problem in room 1219. The hotel should improve this with special windows or something else. The breakfast buffet was excellent and the staff was also very helpful. Mexico has excellent people everywhere. I was assigned room 1216 and the matresses were terrible, but I did not complain (my mistake) this is also something they need to improve. The TV sets in rooms are a joke but I don't care too much on this. The wi-fi should be in every floor but only works in the lobby and restaurant. The location of the hotel is very convenient to walk to Zocalo, Centro Historico and by bus, taxi or metro to Basilica de Guadalupe and practically everywhere. Transportation is also excellent from/to the hotel. Great stay

Room Tip: Choose high floors if you are sleep sensitive, too much noise from the street on lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catrachosps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
120 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

At the side of a subway station and bus lines. Walking distance to Zocalo. Good service and typical mexican breakfast. Hotel being remodeled. Close to restaurants at Juarez and Hidalgo Av. Staff very kind. Touristic taxis available with drivers that are also touristic guides. Group tours can also be purchased at the hotel.
;

Room Tip: Rooms with windows to the bottom have no wiew but are very quiet. Front rooms will have the noise of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AugustoScorza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyoto, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

I spent my vacation with my family,for 3 days, and the experiences was terrible, at first the room didnt have a one windows so in the night all the cold air enter even the bad smell from outside.
The bathroom didn't have a hot atter, and all the watter stock, so the bathroom became in a big pool. the toile didn't work.
My terrible sorprise was when I order the room service, a chicken soup for my baby, it was a cockroach in my soup. imagin that!!! so I talk to back my money and the didn't return my money.
the rooms are really dirty, i was worry because my baby was playing in a very dirty carpet.
the good think is the breakfast it was delicious and the waitres very kind

Room Tip: The breakfast is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gigichancat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RECEPCIONFM, Front Office Manager at Hotel Fontan Reforma, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Google Translation
Como empresa de servicios esta situacion es intolerable motivo por el cual el colaborador responsable así como jefes inmediatos fueron separados de su cargo, le comento esto ya que despues de 8 meses que se sucito el hecho, nuestra administracion en el restaurante es totalmente nueva, de antemano se que esta situacion provoca cierta desconfianza pero les aseguro que aprendemos de nuestros errores y siempre nuestra prioridad son nuestros Clientes.
Espero nos brinden una segunda oportunidad y sorprenderlos con nuestras mejoras, y sobretodo cambiar este mal sabor de boca que se llevaron.
Saludos cordiales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel is nothing special, it's a place to sleep. The advantage is a very central location which makes it a good choice if you are not looking for luxury but a place for exploring the central parts of Mexico City.
+ Clean. Pretty large rooms. Nice and helpful staff.
- Noisy from traffic, shops and bars in the area. Cold rooms (when cold outside).

Room Tip: If possible, select room on top floors which will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomas_in_Uppsala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RECEPCIONFM, Front Office Manager at Hotel Fontan Reforma, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Google Translation
Gracias por su estancia con nosotros, sin duda la ubicacion de nuestro hotel siempre es un plus para nuestros huespedes ya que estamos en una de las Avenidas mas grandes del Distrifo Federal, cerca de Museos, Teatros, y sobre todo del Centro Historico.
Somos un Hotel interesado en conocer los distintos puntos de vista de nuestros Clientes, por lo que nos agrada tener contacto a traves de esta pagina.
Sin duda ya estamos trabajando en mejorar, nuevamente gracias por tomarse el tiempo de comentar su experiencia en nuestro hotel.
Saludos Cordiales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Alameda
Ibis Mexico Alameda
Ibis Mexico Alameda
#78 of 306 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Alameda
One Ciudad De Mexico Alameda
One Ciudad De Mexico Alameda
#31 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Hotel Plaza Revolucion
#32 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alameda
Hotel Marlowe
Hotel Marlowe
#59 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Hotel El Ejecutivo
#42 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
Alameda
Fiesta Inn Centro Historico
Fiesta Inn Centro Historico
#24 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fontan Reforma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fontan Reforma

Property: Hotel Fontan Reforma
Address: Paseo de la Reforma 24, Mexico City 06040, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Alameda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 306 Hotels in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fontan Reforma 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Fontan Reforma, ideal for travelers looking for new experiences, a hotel located in the heart of Mexico City, just a few steps from the Palacio de Bellas Artes, 800 mts from the Zocalo Capitalino and one block from the subway station Hidalgo. With its 240 Rooms this hotel is suitable for Tourists from all over the world as well as for Executives in search of rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Fontan Reforma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fontan Mexico City
Hotel Fontan Reforma Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing