We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For all its annoyances this place kind of grows on you....”
Review of Corinto Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Corinto Hotel
Ranked #262 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Reviewed July 3, 2012

If you are looking for luxury - don't come here! But if you are looking for value for money - do!!

Let's start with the annoying and work our way up:
We arrived late on a Saturday night - it was Gay Pride and being on the edges of Zona Rosa the hotel was popular and full. The room we had booked, we were informed was not available. Yes, they had our booking of a double room with two double beds, but they had let it to someone else. They were prepared to give us a room with one kingsize bed which cost more, for no extra cost, and would move us the next day, or if we wanted we could go and look for a room elsewhere. It was 11 pm and we were not impressed - we had no option but to accept.

The next day they told us we had to wait until people checked out to see what might be available to us; eventually we were given a room. We repacked, moved and unpacked. The key card did not work. After several attempts by the manager we were told we had to move again. Again we repacked, moved and unpacked, during which the lift doors closed on my forearms causing considerable bruising. Thankfully we did not have to move again.

Another downside was the fact that the toilets seem to leak, clean water not anything else, but it is still quite annoying and it appears to be all of them.

The positives are that for approximately £10 per person per night you can stay in a hotel, in a really good location (right next to Monument de la Revolution and 5 mins direct walk from the metro) that is safe and extremely clean and you can have a hot shower at any time of day or night. The towels (2 per person) and sheets are changed daily and they give you a bottle of mineral water every day per person. Also the beds are extremely comfortable.

It can be a little noisy sometimes and the food is pretty average, bordering on disappointing here, however, Artur who does the breakfast shift, is very attentive and very helpful - drawing directions for the metro etc so he compensates a little.

There is a very small plunge pool on the roof accompanied by 3 sunbeds, a welcome little oasis from the smoggy city, but I'm insure how it would cope with double figures of guests.

All in all, it is really a no frills, business hotel, basic and practical. That said: it is really clean and the only place I stayed all over Mexico that provided mineral water every day for each guest.

For all its annoyances, it still leaves you smiling. For that reason we returned at the end of our trip too, because at the end of the day, it is a jolly good, value for money all rounder.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the quieter the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Innspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 31 of 151 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2012

I've stayed there for 3 nights, it is centrally located just next to Revolucion (there is a metro station nearby). The room was OK, quite clean, hot water shower and the room was cleaned on daily basis.

The hotel is located in a quiet street, so it was not noisy. The swimming pool is quite small, it is located on the roof. The staff at the reception was speaking English.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neshto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

This hotel is located next to Revolución. Very safe and tranquil area! From metro, just 5mins walking.
Clean and hot water shower, but they just have soap in the restroom. No shampoo..
Price was just 395 for single and 475 for double included all taxes. No hidden fee.
I just spoke Spanish, so I'm not sure if they speak English or not..
Super cheap and safe.. Everything was fine. I'll stay again when I visit Mexico City!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joheejin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Nice hot shower, no frills, clean hotel. Friendly staff. Easy walk to metro and metro bus. Bring your earplugs. The hotel is only as quiet as its guests. We stayed 5 nights, for 2 nights we were happy to have earplugs. There is no road traffic noise, which is great.
Nice little pool.

Room Tip: Not next to the elevator, otherwise they are all pretty much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alwayslookingaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights. The location was good, near the Revolution Monument and walking distance to other sites of the city, plus shops, restaurants etc and not far at all from Chapultepec Park. However, it did get quite noisy at night. We saw on the hotel website that they have a connection with Six Flags to get discounted tickets. This wasn't the case. The man on reception sent us to one of their partner hotels and said they were waiting for us and could get us tickets, however when we arrived they didn't know what we were talking about, so was wasted money in a taxi.
Overall, I would say our stay was ok, but will probably try somewhere else if we return to Mexico City.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coconuts_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

I reserved through a website online and prices at the front desk were significantly lower. Taxes are not revealed on prices showed online. The street where this hotel is located is quite dark at night, avoid walking alone. The internet is extra, quite expensive and it does not work at all. The second night I had problems with my key and had to go three times to the front desk to get the problem solved. Their solution was that everytime I was to use the room I needed a bell boy to open with the master key. The price is good but so is the price of other hotels in the area with better services. The hotel is noisy at night as kids run in the corridors unattended.

Room Tip: Do not reserve online, prices at the hotel are significantly lower. Do not come to this hotel if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Northernette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

I booked this hotel on the phone the receptionist was very polite & helpful. The waiting staff were extremely patient and pleasant. The room was clean and comfortable. There was no cable but, some movies in english. The people in the next room smoked and the fumes crept into our room, they were a bit noisy as well! However that is not the fault of the Hotel or the hotel staff. We thought we got very good value for money and we got a good deal. Its not the Dorchester so don't expect 5 star service. However, it is economical, clean, comfortable, safe, the staff were helpful & friendly it is in a great location for walking around the City.

Room Tip: ask for no smoking area away from noisy neighbours
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanDimas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
0.3 mi away
New York Hotel
New York Hotel
#209 of 312 in Mexico City
84 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Premier
Hotel Premier
#242 of 312 in Mexico City
119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Astor
Hotel Astor
#82 of 312 in Mexico City
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Mallorca Hotel
Mallorca Hotel
#255 of 312 in Mexico City
99 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Reforma Mexico City
Ramada Reforma Mexico City
#139 of 312 in Mexico City
221 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stella Maris
Stella Maris
#115 of 312 in Mexico City
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinto Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinto Hotel

Address: Calle Ignacio Vallarta # 24 | Mexico D.F., Mexico City 06030, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #262 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Price Range: $32 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Corinto Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Corinto Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinto Hotel Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing